Name Muffy Wilson

Age

Must I? I have blossomed to the ripe old age of 66 so far! But, I don’t feel old. I find that I act more and more like my mother every day!

Where are you from

I was born in Texas, to traditional parents. With two older brothers, the youngest and the only girl, I was the family “princess,” indulged and pampered. I was raised as a “Army Brat”. My father was a career US Air Force colonel and pilot whose career took them around the world. My father’s career advanced, requiring extensive travel. My family lived in most points between Alaska and France. Officers and pilots from around the world were welcomed in our home, at any time day or night, with a hot meal, cold libations and lively conversation. My parents loved to socialize and make new friends. That was good thing, too, because it seemed like we moved every two or three years.

I spent my difficult teens, my formative years, in Europe. I came of age in France quite comfortably around mostly military men, “Jet Jockeys” from around the world who came and visited my mom and dad regularly. They were young, flirtatious, solicitous and encouraging of me from a young age. Is it any wonder that I developed with a strong sense of self and an intense appreciation for charming men?

Returning from France with my family when I was sixteen, I finished high school in Northern California and attended the University of California on the Davis campus. I went on to have a really great business career in the developing field of integrated telecommunications and data with IBM as a Regional Director of the Midwest Real Estate and Construction Division. My husband and I retired to own a historic bar, restaurant and motel on Washington Island in Wisconsin where we made lasting connections with remarkable people. I now live and thrive with my husband of thirty-two years on the beautiful coastal shores of SW Florida. My private passions include writing, real estate, and fishing. That said, I never know what I may be up to next . . . or with whom.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I just released a new short story series titled Memories of Us. It is a three book series about reunited love in middle age. It is a love story for old lovers. I am also participating in a wonderful anthology of novellas compiled by Gina Kincade of Naughty Nights Press and 20 other fabulously talented NYT, USA Today and Award Winning International Authors releasing September 19. It is a medical themed collection titles Coming in Hot: Paranormal & Contemporary Medical Romance Boxed Set: Paramedical meets paranormal: Shifters, Werewolves, Vampires, and More! It is incredible and the stories are unbelievably well written. I hope our fans and readers love it as much as we do!

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I have actually written all my life. I started with poetry in my freshman year of college but tempered that when all my time was spent writing pro-formas, marketing proposals, training programs and sales presentations. My literary career returned to me in 2010 when an old friend inspired and encouraged me to share the stories in my heart and head. That’s when I began baring my soul to the world.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I am not sure that I do, actually. I write but I am not an author yet. I think of authors as people like Virginia Wolfe, Pat Conroy, C.S. Lewis, James Patterson, Nora Ephron, Hemingway. Now those are authors!

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

An old boyfriend from high school, actually. I joined a few writing groups on Facebook and started doing flash fiction. Some of it was pretty good, so I was told and I foolishly believed, so I wrote my first story, The Storm. I was published right away in Oysters & Chocolate. After that, I was hooked.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I don’t know, exactly. I write pretty formally, with flourish and drama. Makes my editor crazy cutting all the fluff. In reviews, I have been compared to one of the Bronte sisters or Anne Rice. That is pretty awesome company and I am flattered some people consider me that talented.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

My first real book, The Para-Portage of Emily, took me four years to write. What I lacked in writing self-confidence, I made up in abundance of determination. It is a paranormal love story that spans a century of longing. The protagonist is Emily McQue who resembles a mansion’s first and only female resident, Amalya, the young wife of a seafaring Great Lakes captain who dies in childbirth. Emily is taken back in love, hence the title.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

In Emily, I want people to know that love is eternal. I think most of my penned work revolves around love being eternal, worth the wait and the reward. It may be because I was almost thirty-six when I married my husband. And he was worth the wait.


Fiona: How much of your work is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I write what I know so most of my stories have some element of me threaded through them. Some experiences are based upon my life, some on my imagination and some on temptation. They are all based on someone and some events in my life—real or imagined!

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Every book I have ever read has influenced me in some way, some more than others. From the Bible to Patricia Cornwell, I have lived it all somehow. When I was thirteen and in France, we didn’t have a television. It was all in French anyway, which I learned pretty quickly, but I read voraciously. My first “What do I wanna be when I grow up was” a forensic pathologist due to Erle Stanley Gardner. Of course, when I read Charlotte’s Web, I wanted to be a farmer. So, I am pretty malleable.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

 

Oh, my gosh, there are so many and what never fails me is their wellspring of imagination. Where does it all come from? It is limitless and boundless. Imagine! People have been writing for tens of centuries and not a single work has been duplicated. Like music. I am awestruck at the inexhaustible and immeasurably unlimited wordsmithery.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

 

Well, it really wouldn’t be family members, that’s for sure. I love my family, but somehow they overlook my work, but that usually happens in most families I think. But, my coach was the first to show real interest in my work. It was because of her, Brooke Warner of She Writes, that I took my work seriously later and really devoted time and effort in developing my skill, persona and marketing platform.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

 

Not as a career so much as a calling. I would love to make it to the big leagues and earning a comfortable living at it, but let’s face it, I started pretty late in life. which only underscores that it is never too late!

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, not my latest work. I would change a few things in my earlier work, for sure, but most of that is really on the technical side.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I was born loving books and writing, I think.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

How kind of you to ask, of course. Here is a short excerpt from Healing Hearts, my novella featured in Coming in Hot, currently available on pre-order and releasing September 19. Amazon Buy Link: http://hyperurl.co/CIHPNR

Healing Hearts by Muffy Wilson

Everyone gets what they deserve. Everybody knows that.

Hell, it didn’t matter anyway.

It was the wee hours of the morning and Brianna was all alone on the barren, black, wet streets. Curiously, she was unafraid to walk the night with the underbelly of society that lives in the darkness.

It was probably just like the night her sister was murdered. She was probably troubled by the same things—haunted by the depths of her own depravity. The clack-clack-clack of her heels on the sidewalk announced her approach as she headed…where? Home? That was a laugh. It made her think of the first time—her first time, maybe her sister’s first time—on the streets and in the black flesh pits of San Francisco that served up watered down whiskey, easy women and the finest drug connections money could buy, steal or cheat. Shrouded in the black lies hidden by the night, she did whatever she wanted, whenever she wanted and with whomever she wanted. The rain always had that effect, kept the good ones home while the creeps washed out of every skank black hole.

It was like that her first night…and he was a creep. But she did him anyway, holding her breath as he huffed, thrust, and panted into her young pink mouth. She thought of her kid sister. Was he the one?

The police didn’t know and had no more leads. What was she to do? She had to find out; she had to help. At least, she had to try.

But, she got swept away in the trying.

If she had any doubt about what she had become, it vanished with that blow-job stuffed into her sweet Mona Lisa smile. Every night since, her skirts got shorter and the nights longer and the creeps, well, the creeps were all still creeps.

It was getting harder to remember what her kid sister looked like and why she was here. It was getting harder and harder…and easier, too. There were nights she didn’t care who killed her sister and there were nights she could think of little else.

The line between purpose and obsession became obscure.

She could question how she wound up on the streets, but she already knew. It was a matter of choice—her choice—and the men, the trail of men in her life, were a matter of choice too—her choice and hers alone. She picked them; they didn’t pick her. Still…It was just a matter of time before she would call one of those black rat holes home to curl up with the viper that lived within.

There was a wild thought afloat that nothing positive ever happens until you hit the very bottom of the abyss. Nothing positive had even begun to happen in her life. Guess she had further to fall, since she clearly had not hit rock bottom. Could be. Until then, she entertained herself with the fine parade of men. The steady stream of eager lovers had only one thing wrong—there was no love involved. No names, no “what do you do for a living”, no talk about wives, lovers, divorces or kids. Those were her rules and if you wanted to fuck her, you did it on her terms. Clear, simple; no muss no fuss…and no kissing. She didn’t want to kiss the underbelly of society. They were all scumbags and she liked it that way—on the edge, the tight, unforgiving edge.

Pre-order for a short time at only 99c and  21 amazing novellas will be yours on Sept 19: Amazon Buy Link: http://hyperurl.co/CIHPNR

While you are at it, please enter the Giveaway! Good Luck: https://goo.gl/MmxaY2

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Two things are a challenge for me: self-discipline and cutting the fluff.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not physically, anymore. Most of my life was spent travelling, making new friends, learning to adjust. I travel in every book I read now and appreciate the convenience.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Most of my covers are designed by Kellie Dennis at Book Covers by Design. http://www.bookcoverbydesign.com.uk

The cover for Coming in Hot was designed by Rebekah R. Ganiere

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

I don’t know about other writers, but for me, most of the time, I do not know how the book is going to end. It comes as a surprise to me as the story unfolds and the characters take me into their lives. Crazy, huh?

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learn something every time I write a book whether it is just by me or a collaboration. And it is always different. It is always something about me and about love.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

In The Para-Portage of Emily, I would cast Bradley Cooper as Captain Colin Jorgenson and Emma Stone because of her talent and timeless beauty as Emily/Amalya. I think the ever hunk Tatum Channing would make a fine Cooper.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Top Ten Writing Tips ~ Muffy Wilson

 

Never start with a prologue or the weather, but start.

Don’t worry if your first draft is any good; it won’t be. just start.

Write every day, at the same time for the same length of time. Self-disciple is only a routine. But you…gotta start…..So start.

Write what you would like to read, from your heart. And start.

Allow yourself to change your mind. Change is a reflection of inspiration. A new perspective. But start.

Name your work immediately and give it life, honor, position, credibility, purpose—you’ve started!

Keep notes of anything favorite or interesting: names, titles, phrases, descriptions, music.

Each new voice requires a new paragraph. If you must, only use “said”. Anything else wastes ink…pretentiously. Get started!

Be kind to yourself. Your work may not be great or Nobel material, but it is yours. Accept that your voice…will change and evolve, but it is still yours.

There is no secret to writing. But there is an enemy—procrastination. Just start…..

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Most readers believe, and often writers feel, that writing is a solitary activity. In one dimension, that is true; however, I have characters, places and situations that are clamoring to splash all over my pages. I make their voice a reality, their locale a reality and their situation identifiable and passionate. Sometimes the work comes easily and flows quickly with joy and excitement. More often it is a difficult process of drawing my heroine or hero out, articulating understandable and credible personalities, relating their crisis or challenges and artfully describing their journey. Breathing life into a character with whom readers empathize and want to follow is a joy. My imagination is full of characters, both good and bad. It is my personal joy to share my imaginary friends my readers.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Shadow Born by Rebecca Hamilton and Jack’s Magical Beanstalk & The Jeweled Grotto by Pablo Michaels

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Yes, it was Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White and illustrated by Garth Williams. I didn’t know it at the time, of course, but I later discovered that I was amazed that words could bring life to farm animals. I marveled at the impact of words that they not only injected life but instilled personalities, character, good and evil, laughter, challenge, success, sadness and loss, and most importantly ~ happiness. I still have my original copy. I laughed, cried, clasp my hands, squealed with joy and empathized with every page. That little book taught me that words were moving, impressive ~ powerful.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Anything and everything. But I am most moved by unexpected and generous acts of kindness and unselfishness.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

God. I would like to ask him a few questions. I hope he has the answers.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

An I ma

My family is Irish and it is on our family crest. No doubt there are others that feel it fits them too but it fits me precisely.

The rest of our family motto goes like this:

And I may, if I like.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Little else. My husband and I used to do a lot of fishing. I really enjoy that, reading and cooking. Athletics? No, not so much and nothing more than walking!!

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I like documentaries, wild life, movies, PBs musical shows, crime shows like Investigation Discovery ID, and the news. I’m a news whore!

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Food:

Mexican food, Chinese AYCE Buffets, and Bacon Cheeseburgers. I’m a sucker for Hooter’s  hamburgers! But, I don’t pass on a lot of food—meaning there isn’t much I won’t eat!

Color:

Red is my favorite color and all the primary colors after that. I like bold, expressive colors that scream passion.

And music?

I love everything from Adele to Edith Piaf, Benny Goodman to the Beatles, Madam Butterfly to Andrea Bocelli. I have eclectic tastes in music but I detest Rap. Love the beats, hate the message. And Bruno Mars—man, I love that kid. And Pitbull. Oh, and any Country.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

A Torch Singer at a Piano Bar. My Aunt was one and I imagined her in smoke filled supper clubs and lounges singing soulful love songs surrounded by lonely people looking to meet someone to change their lives. She played piano and sang. I wanted to be a torch singer since I was thirteen years old. It’s so raw, edgy and sexy. I used to frequent them in my heyday and sing. My mother first heard me sing, really sing, in a place in Oakland, CA. I sang My Funny Valentine and I think her jaw dropped ten times that night. I am a huge Barbra Streisand fan.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Sure! Thank you for asking. I feature a lot of author’s works and books on my blog: http://muffywilson.blogspot.com

My website: www.MuffyWilson.com

Email me at: Muffy@MuffyWilson.com

Here are the rest of my social links:

Website | Blog | Amazon Author Page | Readers’ Favorite ReviewsBookBub Author PageTwitter | Email | Facebook | FB Fan PageYouTube Trailers | Mailing List Sign-Up | Google+ | LinkedIn | Tumblr | Pinterest | TriberrTSU | WordPressGanxy | XinXii | Kobo Books | iTunes Books | Barnes and Noble | All Romance eBooks | Smashwords  | Goodreads | Yellow Silk Dreams Publishing | The Romance Review | Authorgraph | AuthorsInfo | Manic Readers | The Muffy Wilson Daily | Muffy Wilson Literotica | Cheerleaders in Heat News

 

Please let me say thank you, Fiona, for the wonderful time I had with you on your blog today. It was so kind of you to invite me so I could share a little of myself and my guilty pleasures with you and your readers.

 

