Name : Sophia Nelson-Doman

 

Age: 44

 

Where are you from:

I am from Jamaica, Canada and the UK. I lived in all three countries over the 44 years of my live. I am currently residing in Canada with my husband and daughter. Not sure if I will migrate to another country in the future. I obtained my post-secondary degree in Canada.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I currently have four books on Amazon and a few other sites. They are also available on my website. One of my children’s story books is in six different languages – English, Chinese, Indonesian, Korean, Spanish and Turkish. My books can be ordered in other languages upon request.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I created a Customer Service and Call Center training manual after I was training potential customer service representatives for one of the largest telecommunication companies in Canada. I have an extensive amount of knowledge  and experience in customer service, so I decided to put my knowledge on paper for others to learn from and enhance their skills.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I always narrate what Jesus would say to my daughter and husband. I would also narrate what all living things are saying. My husband would always say what kind of birds I have flying in my head.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Well my first Customer Service and Call Center book, my trainees would give an excellent review on my training and they always do extremely well when they actually begin working for the company. Other trainers always ask for my help and used some of my techniques for their classes. They would also ask me for my assistance in their classes. All the training were done online.

As for my children’s books, I also teach English as a Second Language to both adults and children, some of my students who are parents would ask me to suggest English story books for their children to read. One of the parents based on my teaching style suggested I should write a story book. During my classes, I realised some of the pronunciation problems my students have as a result, I developed my first kids’ book focusing on certain pronunciation.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I don’t particularly have a writing style. My main focus is to get children to read fun books instead of playing video games and watching television.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

It depends on what I am writing about and the purpose of the book, and then I decide on the topic.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

My last book, It’s Not So Bad to Have Two Dads, is for both children and parent who are from a broken home or broken family. It relates to real life situations although it is a children’s book. Children suffers a lot from divorces and broken families.

 

 


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

It’s Not So Bad to Have Two Dads is very much real. Divorce rate and separation are very high in our society recently and all parties involved are affected. Some may believe they are the only one going through this broken home or blended family. Some children end up in counselling because they are hurting.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most?

I love Ugly and Beyond Ugly written by Constance Briscoe.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

There is so many children’s author out there. I love their stories and the illustrations in the books, they are just fun to read and see.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My church and my church family are very supportive.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes I do see it as a career. Whether I sell one copy or millions, I will continue to write. The children are out future and they need to be encouraged to read. They need to stretch their imagination.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I don’t think so. The cover is a bit misleading but, you can’t judge a book by its cover.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I always say kids need to read more and play video games and watch television less. I want to help encourage children to read as much as they can.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I am currently working on two story books. One is about a butterfly kingdom and the other is the second series to It’s Not So Bad to Have Two Dads. The second series is going to be called – It’s Not So Bad to Have Two Moms.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I find the formatting can be challenging as I am a self-publisher and I am submitting it to different sites for sale.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, I don’t do any travelling, however, I am planning to visit a few book fairs in the future and hopefully go to some schools to promote my books.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The Customer Service and Call Center book, I designed it. The children’s books, I hired an illustrator and tell him what I want. So the covers are my idea.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

I did a bit of editing even though after writing them, I hired a professional editor. I found when I was editing it myself, I wasn’t catching the errors and I would rewrite a chunk of the stories.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I found out I love what I do and I am going to continue writing.

 

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

I think Tyler Perry for my latest book as it relates to real life. As for my other two, I would love if any company could create an animation with them. That is my future dream to turn them into an animation to show on kids TV channels or on a DVD.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Just keep writing. If anyone says you can’t believe in yourself. Do it for you and your audience.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Keep reading and enjoy what you read.

 

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am currently reading the Bible because one of the books I am writing for young readers, the story is created based on some of the bible stories.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I can remember one sentence from it but I cannot recollect the name.

 

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Laughter is good for the sole and so many things and people make me laugh. My family telling me some funny everyday life stories make me laugh. My birds make me laugh; the squirrels in my back garden doing strange things make me laugh. The current world situation will bring tears to my eyes. Not much love in the world now a day when you read the news.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Present, I would love to meet the current president of the USA.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

God Fearing Child. Because I fear God and I am a Christian who believe in the one true God.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love gardening, that is where I relieve my stress and get ideas for my books.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

The Big Bang Theory and Modern Family. I also love Sci-Fi movies.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I love sea food dishes. My favourite colours are Brown and Navy Blue. My favourite music is Reggae Gospel music and Motown

 

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would like to continue developing online courses as I am currently a teacher. I teach English as a Second Language.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Website: http://www.ndmeslviasocialmedia.org/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sophia.ndm.3

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/sophiandm

Twitter: https://twitter.com/NdmELS

Linkedin: https://ca.linkedin.com/in/sophia-doman-4bb71915

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/ndmvirtualteach/e-learning/

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCp9-hlYnUtDWtMT6D6YLuiA

Kakaotalk User ID: Ndmvtesol

 

Goodreads  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14624718.Sophia_Nelson_Doman

AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE   https://www.amazon.com/author/sophianelsondoman

 

Book links:

On sale on my website: http://www.ndmeslviasocialmedia.org/

 

Amazon and Kindle:

Customer Service and Call Centre 101 – http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00UARH1SM

It’s Not So Bad To Have Two Dads – http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01DES6J1S

Trish,Krish and Their Fish in a Dish – http://www.amazon.com/dp/B011AX57V2

Leroy the Lizard – http://www.amazon.com/dp/B014SY59GS

 

