Name  Jodee-Lee Davis

Age 35

 

Where are you from

Ipswich, Queensland, Australia

 

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I have a wonderful husband, three beautiful children. I am the second eldest of ten siblings and am fortunate to have both of my loving parents. I didn’t finish high school because I had my first chid as a teenager but I encourage my children to finish. My eldest has just started university, my middle child is in high school and my youngest is in primary school.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Hmm, my latest news? I am hoping to have another children’s book published soon, so I have another book out there while I write my next novel. My husband is a musician and his band (four kings) was recently in a competition which is landing them a lot of gigs lately!

 

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing as a child, after my step father died, I used poetry as a way to deal with my grief. That was when I realized how much I enjoyed writing and knew I wanted a career as an author.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Personally I find this question philosophical, and there was an author that came to my high school when I was fifteen that had a great answer. As soon as you start writing you are a writer or an author. If you get your writing published then that is just a bonus.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first book was Jo-Jo the Red Nosed Roo and I wrote it for my youngest who was in prep school at the time. She was my muse but the inspiration was to recreate a story that all young children love (Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer) to suit the southern hemisphere. Most of the best Christmas stories are aimed at the northern hemisphere and I wanted something that young children would recognize but make it more Australian.
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I really wish I did lol. My style of writing all depends on who my muse is at the time. Children’s books are more about entertainment while novels are more descriptive. Then there is poetry which is all together different. My first novel was written for my middle daughter so it’s not as prolonged as my next novel will be. I’ve had great reactions from adults and teenagers about my first novel but I want my next novel to be more descriptive, more conversational and pretty much longer lol.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The original title was ‘Life String’ but when I was finished it just didn’t feel right. I had started another story called Birthright (which ended up scrapped because it just wasn’t going anywhere) and my husband and I threw around a few title ideas and we both said ‘BIRTHRIGHT’ sounded perfect for the novel I had just finished.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I think there are several messages ranging from being kind, being humble and to not being cruel to others. It will depend on the reader to see which message they take from it.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

‘Birthright’ is a fantasy book and it has hardly any reality to it. I based the main character on my daughters looks and the loss of a parent is real (my step father) but otherwise it is all fiction.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I have more than one mentor and I like fantasy, horror, real life and paranormal books. My mentors for fantasy are David Eddings and Robert Jordon. Horror would be Stephen King, Real Life would be Pat ‘Tex’ Ritter, Paranormal would be Patricia Briggs, Kelley Armstrong and Jennifer Ashley.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I haven’t read anything from new authors in a while but out of all of the Author’s I listed above I would have to list two absolute favourites. Patricia Briggs and Kelley Armstrong. What really strikes me about their work is attention to detail and the fact I can find myself relating to two of their main characters (Elana from Kelley Armstrong and Anna and Mercy from Patricia Briggs).

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

When I hear the word entity I think of God’s, Goddesses, angels and guardian angels. I would have to say the Goddess I worship and my guardian angels supported me.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Definitely! You could probably tell by all my long answers lol.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

If I had to do ‘Birthright’ all over again I would probably add more detail and introduce more characters.

 

 

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

After my step father died. I was only twelve at the time and used poetry to deal with my grief and trying to understand death. A morbid start I know, but that was when I realized how much I loved to write and it helped me deal with life.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

My current book is unnamed and it will be a bit controversial. It’s about dealing with sexual abuse, rape and domestic violence. There are two main characters, the first character narrating in every first chapter, the second character narrating in every second chapter. I haven’t written much of it yet so I can’t really give any more information than that, sorry.

 

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Writer’s block! I’m on a lot of pain medication (for muscular dystrophy) so I get mind blanks frequently lol.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

With two children still at school and medical issues I haven’t traveled far. I keep it local but would love to travel to schools and other places to do readings and writing groups/classes.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Off the top of my head I can’t remember either designer. The illustrator of ‘Jo-Jo the Red Nosed Roo is on the cover and the cover designer of ‘Birthright’ is in the acknowledgement section in my book.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Editing, I absolutely despise editing lol.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned a lot of respect for other Authors, especially Authors who release more than one book a year. Readers finish reading and expect books to be realeased so quickly but a lot more work is involved than just coming up with a story and releasing it.

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

If ‘Birthright’ ever made it to film I would want Rachel Hurd-wood as an older version of Ozaria and as a child Ozaria I would want Francesca Capaldi.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Perseverance, if you love to write than don’t give up. If a story doesn’t seem to go anywhere than put it aside to finish at another time. Writing can be frustrating at times but it’s like giving birth, in the end the reward is spectacular.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you. Without you reading my books I would not have anyone to write for and it would be depressing to write for an empty audience – not that it would stop me writing!

 

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Domes Of Fire by David Eddings.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

When I was around eight or ten years old I used to read the series Girl Talk but I don’t remember which one I read first.

 

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My husband, children and family make me laugh. My husband and children are pretty good at coming up with impromptu impersonations and saying things that make me laugh when I am having a down day. My family make me laugh with just the usual family hype. I’m not usually one to cry but I will admit to a very few movies and TV shows that have made me shed some tears lol.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Any of the Authors listed in the question about favourite authors. I’ve met Pat ‘Tex” Ritter (he’s my Uncle and he always has great advice for me). Meeting any or all of them would be a dream come true.

 

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

I want to be cremated but would like plaque saying ‘Loving Mother, wife and daughter. Someone who never gave up reaching for her dreams.’

 

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I love to cook and sew. Being in a wheelchair makes it a bit difficult but my husband and children help with the thing I can’t do.

 

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I like action, horror, paranormal and super hero movies and I like crime, paranormal and action TV shows.

 

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

My favourite foods are deserts (what woman doesn’t like a range of deserts lol), roast lamb with mint jelly, steak and stuffed mushrooms. My favourite colours are purple and black. As for music I like everything from Mozart, 70’s rock to modern and alternative rock with everything in between except for techno and rap.

 

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

A caterer or party planner (weddings, birthday’s, baby showers etc).

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I have a website but the designer made a mistake with the name by leaving a letter out so I don’t like giving it out but I’ll make an exception. www.jodee-leeavisauthor.com plus I can be found on face book where I do most of my advertising for my writing. Just look for Jodee Davis or Jodee-Lee Davis. The picture is of me kissing my husband who is wearing a pumpkin head from a Halloween party 😀

 

I would like to thank Fiona for this interview it has been fun and interesting. I love reading the interviews from other Authors and she does an excellent job!!

 

