Name Janet Lane Walters

 

Age 80 years

 

Where are you from Right now from a Hudson River village about 30 miles from NY City. Born in Pittsburgh, Pa.

 

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

Where to begin. I’ve been married for fifty nine years. There are four children, two boys and two girls. The youngest of my children is a biracial adopted daughter. I have seven grandchildren, four biracial and three Chinese. As to education I have two degrees, a BA in English and a BS in Nursing. I’ve been writing since the dark ages – make that typewriters and carbon paper. My family moved from Butler, Pa to South Nyack NY and have enjoyed living near the Hudson River and the eclectic nature of the village.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Janet: My most recent release is Seducing the Baker the final book in the At First Sight series.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Janet: Not sure when I began writing but it was some time during my teens when I started putting the stories I’d told myself as I was falling to sleep on paper. Have no idea what happened to those scribblings though. They were what today would be considered a kind of fan fiction but more trying to imitate the writers I really admired rather than taking their stories or characters.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Janet: I think the first time I realized my dream of being a writer came when I sold my first short story in 1968. What an emotional ride. Being paid for something I wrote. The reaction here was interesting. My doctor husband was on his residence. I called and told the secretary “Tell him I sold my first child.” Somehow she garbled the message and he called wondering what our oldest son had done. We laughed about that for weeks.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Janet: What inspired me for the first book was pneumonia. My sister-in-law sent me a bag of nurse romances to help me spend my time not being able to return to work as a nurse until pneumonia gone. After the third book I wanted to scream. The writers had little knowledge about nurses, doctors and hospitals. I was sure I could do better. Took me a few years but I finished my first book with much help from the editors i submitted the book for publication. Those were the days when editors wrote back pages of hints to make the book a better one along with their rejections.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Janet: I’m not exactly sure what this question means. Since I write in a number of genres and sub-genres, I just write.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Janet: Not sure which title you mean. There are a lot of them out there. I’m a strange one since until I have a title I can’t begin to write the book. If you mean Seducing the Baker, all of the stories in this series are titled Sedcing the … and the heroine of this one owns a bakery for cupcakes.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Janet: I mostly write what is known as escape fiction. If there’s any message it’s generally about love and life.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Janet: Realistic, probably not. Based on someone you know, seldom. Based on events in my own life, doubtful. The emotions come from events where I faced various emotions but they’re apart from reality.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Janet: I’ve held a library card since I was three and have been reading everything I could find since them. Probably every writer I’ve read has some influence but they’re so jumbled I’m not sure where the influence lies. I will say I was influenced by Anna Karenina, a book I read when I was in third grade and wrote a book report that said in part. “She was dumb. There were other things she could have done instead of throwing herself in front of a train.” Maybe I’m looking at other ways for romances to end other than tragedy.

 

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Janet: New authors catching my interest. Many of my co-authors at Books We Love have captured my interest and some of them I’ve read every book they write. Kat Attalla, Juliet Waldron, Joan Hall Hovey are a few of them. I don’t have a favorite author and picking one is hard. Right now I’m re-reading Andre Norton’s Witch World series. Her use of imagination and ability to say a lot in a few words always holds my attention.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Janet: I belong to the Hudson Valley Chapter of RWA and the women here are always supportive. Also the Tuesday Night Critique Group that has been in existence since 1993 though the members have changed is always willing to help me make my stories better.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Janet: Writing is my career at this time in my life.

 

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Janet: No changes. When a book is finished I’m on to a new book.

 

 

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Janet: Not sure there was ever a time that I recall. Sort was in the back of my mind.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Janet: I am currently working on a very rough draft of a new story so any part of it is subject to change. However I will give you what’s the opening paragraph at the moment. Book will be titled the Cancer Capricorn Connection.

Cait Rollins opened another box. The sound of children’s laughter flowed through the open windows of her new home. As she placed dishes on the shelves, she prayed the return to Eastlake where she’d earned her BS in Nursing had been the right move. The past year had been one of searching for a place. Her mother’s death had left Cait alone and she’d believed being with friends would help her and her young daughter.

“Where do you want this?” Laurel held a wok blackened by use,

“On this hook,” Cait said. :We enjoy the stir fry you taught us. I’m so glad you let me rent your house until I have a chance to find another place.”

Laurel laughed. “I’ts been a restng place for me and liz.” She winked. “Maybe this house will bring you your happy ever after, too.”

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Janet: The one thing that always presents a problem is getting the setting into the story without having those huge blocks of boring dats.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Janet: Many of my books take place in my imagination since they are fantasies. Lately I’ve set many in the place where I now live. Little need for travel.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Janet: Many of my covers were designed by Michelle Lee. Others by Jasmin Attalla. There are a few my son-in-law designed.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Janet: The hardest part is after the rough draft is done starting the re-writes and filling all the plot holes I’ve left behind.

 

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Janet: I’m not sure I ever learn any lessons from writing a book other than to try to make each one as good or better than the last one.

 

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Janet: Not being a movie person, I seldom think any would be made into a movie. I don’t know many of the current Hollywood stars so I’m rather at a loss here. Since there is a lot of internal dialogue, turning any of my books into a movie would be difficult.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Janet: Advice to other writers, just persist and write the best book you can. Having a time each day to devote to writing is important. Also setting goals for the amount of words you write each day. I’m one of these people who does drafts and my way might not work for others but there are no changes made until I finish the Rough Draft.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Janet: I only hope when you read any of my books that you enjoy and if you have doing a review would be wonderful. Even if you had problems with the story feedback from readers always helps a writer.

 

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Janet: At present I’m reading the second book of Andre Norton’s Witch World Series.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Janet: Not really. I do remember my grandfather reading me John Donne’s poetry. Goe and catch a falling star. Those words are always with me.

 

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Janet: Happy endings make me cry. Humor where that is slyly done makes me laugh.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Janet: Tolstoy might be interesting to meet.

 

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Janet: Mother, wife, author. Because that’s what I am.

 

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Janet: Reading is one. Used to have others but as one ages hobbies become less important.

 

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Janet: Not much of a movie buff. I love the three NCIS shows and most crime shows.

 

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Janet: Favorite foods – Key lime pie, Fajitas, Cheese. Favorite color is Green. Music I’m a classical buff and like just about anything there. 1812 Overture is my overall favorite.

 

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Janet: Landed on the moon. Seen the pyramids. I’ve had a full life for the most part.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Janet:  These are my places.

 

https://twitter.com/JanetL717

 

http://janetlanewalters.com/home

 

https://www.facebook.com/janet.l.walters.3?v=wall&story_fbid=113639528680724

 

http://bookswelove.net/

 

All of my books can be found here.   https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?rh=n%3A133140011%2Ck%3Ajanet+lane+walters&keywords=janet+lane+walters&ie=UTF8

