Name: Ann Everett

Age: A woman who will tell her age…will tell anything!

Where are you from: Native Texan

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

Raised in a VERY small town. (population 400) Married my high school sweetheart. I live on a small pond in Texas where I write, bake, and fight my addiction to Diet Dr. Peppers.

 Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I am currently finishing my ninth book, which I hope to release this fall.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I wish I had one of those heartwarming, insightful stories of how I was born to write, or had stories in me just fighting to get out, or that I’ve been writing since I was old enough to hold a pencil…but I don’t. I started writing about ten to twelve years ago to exercise my brain.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When my first book was accepted by a small press publisher.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Someone I know had a terrible accident and ended up in a wheelchair. When that happened, the seeds for Tell Me a Secret were planted. It wasn’t the first book I published. It actually sat on a shelf for about 10 years and during that time, I re-wrote it three times. Finally, in 2014, I self-published the book and it has been my best seller!

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Most of my stories, no matter how serious, will have an element of humor. Some of the books have more than others, but I love writing humor, and Texans are some of the funniest people on earth. All I have to do is listen and I’ll get great material.

Example:

“I’m so tired, I feel like I’ve been ironing all day in high heels and no brassiere.”~~Laid Out and Candle Lit

 


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

First comes the story idea, then the title. I rarely start a story without a title. For my first published book, Laid Out and Candle Lit, it came from a visit to the cemetery. (The title is a southern take on “when hell freezes over”…like I’ll do that when I’m laid out and candle lit…dead.) Book two in the trilogy, You’re Busting My Nuptials, came from the fact I think the word nuptials is funny and the story is about being left at the altar. Tied With a Bow and No Place to Go, book three, came from a contest I had to name the book. It originally was titled Buzzard Bait, but I didn’t like that title. I got some great suggestions.

My companion romance books…Tell Me a Secret comes from the two characters sharing secrets about their pasts as they fall in love.

Two Wrongs Make a Right, from two bad decisions. Say You’ll Never Love Me, from main character Raynebeaux Starr not believing in happily-ever-after.

My current work-in-progress is titled Chirp. I won’t say how I came up with the name because it is important to the story and I’m not done with it yet.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

My goal with every story is to make my reader laugh, cry, and want to throw things. If they do that, then I’ve done my job. I also like for my romance stories to be more than just two people trying to get into each other’s pants for 200 pages.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Every character I write is based on someone or a combination of people I know or have known. Some events are based on actual events from my past, especially in my trilogy because it’s set in the small town of Brownsboro, Texas, where I grew up.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

This is going to sound crazy…but none. My favorite authors change from month to month. Some are best-selling and some are unpublished. I’ve been compared to Charlaine Harris, but I’ve never read any of her work. My trilogy has been compared to Janet Evanovich which I have read some of her books, but I don’t see any similarity.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I belong to an online writing website where I read and critique A LOT of unpublished books. For enjoyment, I read (in no order of preference) Jennifer Cruise, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Jane Graves, Rachel Gibson, Lani Diane Rich, just to name a few. They all have an element of humor in their stories and since I read so much on the writing site, I don’t want to try and figure out some deep dark mystery or try to pronounce weird names. I just want a well written…good story that entertains me…and those authors do.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My local critique partners…Ron, Caryl, Emily, Noelle, and Andy. They rock!!


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Since I actually started making money from it…you bet it’s my career.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

That is the beauty of self-publishing. You can change anything in your book/books at any time. I recently re-edited all of my books and changed quite a bit. In one book, I even added an additional character!!


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I do a lot of public speaking and over the years, more than one person suggested I write a book, so I decided to give it a try.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

My WIP is almost finished, so I’ll share a one sentence description.

Welcome to Bluebird, Texas, where a socially awkward girl meets an ex-con.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Every aspect is a challenge for me. That’s what I like about it. Developing my characters, working in humor, writing sex scenes, and don’t get me started on the technical stuff. As you can tell from my answers here, I can’t place a comma to save my life!


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Luckily, I don’t, and that’s a good thing because I hate traveling. My most favorite place to be in the whole world… is home.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I’ve used several. The trilogy was done by Octagon Lab. My last book, Say You’ll Never Love Me, by Pink Ink Designs. My Cookbook, by Art and Designs Studios. My non-fiction books by…me, myself, and I, with the help of Fiverr.com. Haven’t decided who I’ll use for my current WIP. I’m thinking I’ll try someone new.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Time. I never have enough. If I just didn’t have to eat, sleep, or go to the bathroom, I could get a lot more done!!


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Most of my books have at least one character with an odd vocation. Two examples are….in my trilogy, Synola Harper writes hangtags for Luscious Legs Jeans. In Say You’ll Never Love Me, Raynebeaux Starr reads Tarot cards. Since I do neither of those things, I have to research in order to write about them. In my WIP, I’ve just finished researching ponies…what size and age would be best for a six-year-old. SO, I learn lots of things with every book. Maybe someday I’ll be on Jeopardy and all the random information will pay off!

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

I cast every book I write and choose music for certain scenes. I have to visualize the players as I write them…and since I take them to bed with me every night, I need to know who they are! I have Pinterest boards with my fantasy casts for each book.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Read, read, read. Not just instruction/writing books, but also other authors. Especially those who write in your genre. By doing so, you’ll be learning even if you don’t know it. You’ll learn how they put sentences together. How they vary their sentence starts. How they use description. So many things.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for your support. I never dreamed my books would be as well received as they have been. It truly means the world to me.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

InkHeart by Cornelia Funke. I know…it’s a children’s book, but I find her writing interesting.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Had to be Nancy Drew.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Laugh? Sarcasm, crude humor, kid’s humor. Lots of stuff. Cry? When people win on the Price is Right. That should tell you what a soft touch I am. And yes…I cry every single time I read a sad scene I’ve written! How crazy is that?

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Hmmm. I’ll have to think about this one. Probably one of my great-great grandmothers or the baby I lost due to miscarriage.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Someone once told me…I’m a better me when I’m around you. Holy cow. That made me cry my eyes out. Don’t know how that could be worded to go on my headstone, but the sentiment is sure nice.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Baking and some DIY.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Favorite films: Jerry Maguire, Last of the Mohicans, Dave.

TV shows: Grimm, Hell on Wheels, Game of Thrones…and a ton more. I love watching TV. I have four recordings going most nights. Then it takes me forever to find the time to watch them all. They come in handy once all the shows end and re-runs start.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Food: I’m a Texan…so steak…and grilled corn-on-the-cob, (preferably from the my husband’s garden) Colors: Green is probably my fave, but I like most colors. Music: Here are a few of what’s on my Ipod…Beer Run by Todd Snider. That’s Damn Rock and Roll by Eric Church. Say Something by A Great Big World, Just Give Me a Reason by Pink, Ooh La La by Grace Potter, Unlove You by Jennifer Nettles, and I’ll mention two new artists I love…Anderson East and Drake White.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

That’s a hard one. I’ve owned a toy store, antique/gift store, lawn and landscape business, cleaning business, travelled Texas, Arkansas, Louisiana doing craft shows, been a bank teller, dental assistant, school secretary…just to name a few. Gee, maybe a stripper…only with a different approach. Come out naked and the audience pays me to put my clothes back on…and believe me, they would!!

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://www.anneverett.com

 

 Facebook     https://www.facebook.com/LOACL/?ref=h

Twitter     http://www.twitter.com/TalkinTwang

Pinterest   http://www.pinterest.com/loacl/  

Amazon author page   http://www.amazon.com/author/ann.everett

Goodreads profile   https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5195211.Ann_Everett

