Name: Vicki Batman

Age: let’s say last year I celebrated my last birthday ever. LOL

Where are you from: A grand state in the U.S.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc:

Using our hands was instilled in my sisters and me.  My mom and her three sisters gathered every Monday at my grandmother’s house where they sewed and crafted. I went to a large university where I studied Clothing and Textiles. Various jobs followed, but the best one ever came when I married Handsome and had two sons.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

On September 9, Michael Buble’s birthday, my newest romantic comedy mystery, Temporarily Insane releases.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began about twelve years ago upon being prompted by a friend. (BTW, she takes all the credit!) But I’d held a secret desire to write after devouring Dick Francis mysteries. It took me a long time before diving in.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I sold my first story.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I had to use the word “window” in the first page of a book and tell my friends. But I had nothing and I was embarrassed over the nothing. Two days later, I sat down and wrote eight chapters. I showed my friend and she passed it back, saying to keep going.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I write romantic comedy.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

My first book was Temporarily Employed. My heroine, Hattie Cooks, loses her job and has to take temp ones. Temporarily Insane continues her adventures.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

There’s a couple: Don’t live your life in fear. Sometimes, people aren’t what they seem. Persevere.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Although I didn’t experience working temp jobs, I have held various ones. And like Hattie, I worked in a buying office for a large department store chain. And Hattie carries handbags. I adore handbags. And drives a Jeep too.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

When I began and received a three chapter critique, a friend recommended “Write Tight.” There are several authors whose work I love: Dick Francis, Mary Stewart, Emilie Loring, Sue Grafton, Sophie Kinsella, Elizabeth George.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I’m always reading books of all kinds, but not usually sci-fi or paranormal. I admire authors who can write with humor like Sophie Kinsella and Marian Keyes.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

RWA and the chapters I belong to

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I work at it almost every day (life can sometimes interfere!). By sitting down at my desk and typing, that makes it a career.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I like the way it developed.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I wrote poetry beginning at age nine. And wrote pretty good essays and papers for school. But I’ve always been a huge book devourer. HUGE!

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Sure! How about this little teaser:

His legs were kinda knobby in knee socks. What could be underneath? He was sorta on the thin side. So maybe, they were skinny? However, if he wanted to meet girls, his geeky socks had to go. “Stuart, the look you’re sporting is from the fifties. I’m telling you girls don’t go for guys wearing socks with sandals.”

 

Stuart scratched the side of his nose while considering what I’d said. “Okay.” He sat on the threshold step and took off the sandals, then the socks.

 

I leaned over to watch. He was right—Stuart had ugly legs. Ugly. Scrawny. Very gorilla-hairy legs. Yet firm calves. I shuddered. If his legs were like this, what…

 

Don’t go there. Don’t go there.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Writing full-length books is challenging for me. I’ve written about 25 short stories. That seems easier.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not for the book, per se, but I do travel to cool places and some of them are in stories.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

For my Temporary series, the designer at The Wild Rose Press.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Writing a work that is 75,000 words. Short stories are so much easier for me.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

What shocked me the most was I did write a second book. I learned I can do it, just takes me a while.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead.

Honestly, I haven’t a clue.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write Tight. Work hard. Don’t let others define who you are.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I hope you can check out my work and would love to hear from you.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I have three going—one memoir based on a man from Alabama, a contemporary romance, and a historical romance by Loretta Chase.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

As a child, the friend next door lent me her Dr. Seuss books. About age fourteen, my mom had grown exasperated with me always wanting her to drive me to the library. She thrust Emilie Loring in my hands.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Right now, I love Tape Face Boy on America’s Got Talent!!! When Handsome and I are with our kids, we always have a good time. Recently, the shootings in Dallas upset me. The senselessness of it all.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

Maybe this is corny, but I loved being with my grandmother and would like to chat with her again.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

My sisters joke my epitaph would read “She was meant to have curly hair.” I like Handsome’s—“He was a good man.”

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I am a voracious reader and love to embroider and needlepoint.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love movies and tend not to watch blockbuster ones anymore and concentrate on indie films. I love Survivor, Naked and Afraid, Longmire, Wheeler Dealers (English car show), and home improvement shows on HGTV.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music:

Hamburgers are my favorite and every other month, I go with friends to try a new place. My favorite color is red. I listen to classical guitar music, but grew up with rock and roll oldies.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I probably would have opened my own store.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I do! Most often, I show off handbags—Handbags, Books…Whatever at: http://www.vickibatman.blogspot.com

Find Temporarily Employed at:

Amazon ebook:  http://www.amazon.com/Temporarily-Employed-Vicki-Batman-ebook/dp/B00N4J5FDQ/

Amazon paperback: http://www.amazon.com/Temporarily-Employed-Vicki-Batman/dp/1628304979/

The Wild Rose Press ebook: http://www.wildrosepublishing.com/maincatalog_v151/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=5829

The Wild Rose Press paperback: http://www.wildrosepublishing.com/maincatalog_v151/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=191&products_id=5896/

Temporarily Insane releases September 9.

Find Temporarily Insane at:

The Wild Rose Press ebook: http://catalog.thewildrosepress.com/search?controller=search&orderby=position&orderway=desc&search_query=temporarily&submit_search=/

 

