Name Kate Hill

Age 45

Where are you from New England.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I was born and raised in New England, specifically Massachusetts. I took some college courses, but had no interest in getting a degree. I think education is a wonderful thing, but I tend to prefer studying only subjects that interest me. I’m not married, but I’m close to my parents and have several pets.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Feasting With the Enemy, the last story in my Scarlet Nights series was recently released by Changeling Press. The series focuses on the romance between vampires Blair and May.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve been creating stories for as long as I can remember. I simply enjoy telling them. I can’t imagine not writing.

 

 


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Writing has always been a way of life for me, so even as a child I considered myself a writer.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Just the desire to tell one of the many stories in my head.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I like to think I have a very straightforward writing style, so that it’s easy for readers to get into the heads of my characters.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I wanted the title to keep to the theme of food and hunger that my vampires experience, not only for blood, but for life itself.

 

 


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I mostly want readers to enjoy my books and use them to escape reality, but if there is a message in Feasting With the Enemy, it’s know who your true friends are and be loyal to them.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

It’s about vampires who are tempted by a minion of the devil, so I’m glad to say it’s not based on my own life. LOL! I hope the emotions the characters feel for their friends and family as well as the guilt they experience over events in their lives are realistic, though. The characters are supernatural creatures, but part of them is still human and to me, that’s the most important part of the story.

 

 


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I’ve always admired the works of  Alexandre Dumas. He had a perfect blend of romance and adventure.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Again, it would be Alexandre Dumas. I also enjoy reading classic horror and of course, romance!

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I had a teacher in high school who encouraged me to pursue my writing.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

To me it’s both a career and a way of life. I can’t imagine not writing, but I also like that I’ve been able to sell my stories.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I feel lucky regarding Feasting With the Enemy because it’s the last book in a series and I’ve been able to explore the characters in two other stories. I’m basically happy with how Blair and May’s story concluded, although they might appear in future stories set in the same world.

 

 


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I’ve always loved books. As a kid I’d stay up late reading by flashlight. No form of entertainment ever made me feel quite as good as books and I wanted to write stories of my own that would hopefully entertain others.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I’d love to. Here’s a brief excerpt from Feasting With the Enemy.

“Seductress,” he said in a husky whisper while caressing her hair. “You always were irresistible, May.”

“I’m glad you still think so.”

He grasped her arms and tugged her on top of him. The sparse hairs on his hard chest teased her sensitive flesh. Their gazes locked and she lost herself in the depths of his eyes.

“Always,” he said and kissed her.

His firm lips were both gentle and possessive. May loved the way he tasted and felt. She adored his scent and the comfort of knowing he loved her as much as she loved him.

She trusted this man with her very soul. Countless times over the past century they had risked their lives for each other, depended on each other and fought back to back against enemies determined to destroy them.

She and Blair were soulmates, husband and wife, partners against evil.

Tonight they were lovers and May intended to enjoy every moment.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Depending on the story, everything can be challenging. Sometimes it’s how to start or sometimes it’s a plot point that doesn’t work out like I’d planned. Most of the time it’s the proof reading that’s most challenging. No matter how many times I read through a story, there’s always something to fix or change. That’s one of the reasons editors are priceless.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, I really don’t travel very much outside of New England. I’ve traveled in the past and that has influenced some of my stories. I read a lot for research and I also base a lot of my stories in my area.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My publisher has artists who provide the cover art.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

With Blair and May, the hardest part was that despite their love for each other, they don’t always see eye-to-eye. In this book, they’re being manipulated by an evil force who uses their often fiery relationship against them. As an author it’s my job to put them through the wringer, but it’s not always easy because I know they truly love each other.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that one of the characters who had previously in the series been simply annoying was actually more sinister than even I realized until this book.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

I’d probably like unknown actors to play the characters.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

I always say never give up, but if you want to write, you probably won’t be able to give up on it.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I would like to thank anyone who has read my books. I really appreciate your support.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

At the moment I’m reading Jungle Jim by P.J. Nevada.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I do remember. It was called Mack and Tab. I won’t ever forget it because at the time I couldn’t really see it due to undiagnosed vision problems, but instead I memorized it.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Watching my pets do funny, spontaneous things makes me laugh.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Probably Alexandre Dumas or Oscar Wilde.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

I wouldn’t want a headstone. Once I’m gone, I wouldn’t want a marker.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

To me, writing is a job, although one I love. My hobbies are working out, needlework, watching horror and action movies and working on my blogs.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I’m a huge fan of horror movies. I love vampire movies and gothic horror like Crimson Peak. Some of my favorite TV shows are Sherlock, The Walking Dead, Z Nation, and Penny Dreadful. My older favorites are Buffy, Xena, Charmed, Dark Shadows and Hemlock Grove.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

One of my favorite foods is peas, my favorite color is black and my favorite music depends on what fits the story I’m writing at the time.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I can’t imagine not writing, but if for some reason I couldn’t write as a creative outlet, I would spend more time on needlework and sewing.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website?

If so what is it? My website is http://www.kate-hill.com I also have two blogs. One is for romance at http://www.kate-hill.com/blog and the other, called the Compelling Beasts Blog, is dedicated to villains, antagonists, antiheroes and paranormal creatures. It is at http://www.kate-hill.com/compellingbeastsblog.

Buying Link  https://www.amazon.com/Feasting-Enemy-Scarlet-Nights-Book-ebook/dp/B01HFBT0CA/ref=sr_1_6?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1469831259&sr=1-6

