Name: Savannah Hill

Age: 30

Where are you from: Monroe, WA

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc :

I just bought a house with my man in a small town in Washington. We moved from Seattle, so the country life here in Monroe is a refreshing change.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’m almost finished with Seducing the Devil, it’s the sequel to my first release, Paramour for the Devil. It’s been a really wild ride writing this one.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing little romance stories in grade school. It’s just always been my passion.

 

 


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I suppose when I started writing my first novel a couple years ago. I set a serious goal of actually completing a novel. And I did it!

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The morning after the 4th of July in 2014, I drove home a little hungover and the first chapter of Paramour for the Devil played itself out in my tired brain. I wrote it later that day.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I like to write out a detailed outline and plot the whole story before I get going on a novel. The storyline usually changes as I go, but it’s hard for me to just start writing without a clear scene in mind.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I try to portray the book’s premise in the title. It’s actually really hard for me to come up with book titles. The contracts for the 3rd and 4th books in this series just say “Book Three” and “Book Four” for the titles. I have no idea what they’ll be called yet.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

In all my stories, the message is usually that love conquers all. I always aim for entertainment, but the heart of the story is emotional love that had to overcome huge obstacles, forbidden love, etc…

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

It’s a paranormal series, but the characters are extremely real to me, so I try not to make the story too out of this world, even though I use fictional creatures. The emotion definitely stems from my own experiences with heartbreak, suffering extreme loss, and also deep true love.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I really enjoyed the Twilight series. I read those books in my mid-twenties and they inspired me to buckle down and actually write my own stories.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I love JR Ward, her females are mature and logical. Also, her stories are super sexy. I like River Savage as well. I always choose erotic authors.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Actually, I don’t usually talk to my family and friends about my writing. Most of them aren’t avid romance readers, so I think it’s pretty boring to them. Facebook has helped me connect with all kinds of authors and readers, it’s incredible.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, I take my writing goals very seriously.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

That’s actually what I’m working on now. I’ve completed Seducing the Devil, but it’s in a pretty intense editing process. I need the story to flow well, and there are a lot of twists and turns.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I started reading little Disney books when I was three years old. The written word has always fascinated me, I think I was destined to be a writer.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Sure, here’s a little excerpt from Paramour for the Devil:

She’s Adam and Stephen’s little sister, that’s gotta be some kind of guy code violation.

Walking into an empty bathroom, Damian undressed to take a shower and found his cock standing firmly at attention. He rolled his eyes. Even if you did want her, I’m sure she fucking hates you.

He scrubbed himself hard in the shower, trying to rid his mind of her, but he was still achingly swollen between his legs.

 

 


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

It’s tough when you get the time to write and then nothing comes out, you just can’t seem to type anything. Then there are times when the scenes are just flowing, but your brain gives out because it’s four in the morning and you’re forced to sleep. It’s always hard to capture the same inspiration the next day.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I have plans to do a few book signings next year, so I’ll be traveling for those.

 

 


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My publisher did the cover for Paramour for the Devil, they’ll be doing the covers for the whole series. I designed the cover for my novella, Unchained Love, that I self-published. I also created the next two covers for that series, so I’ll be writing and releasing those soon.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Actually, the whole process is incredible. It is just so much fun for me. It’s difficult to keep at it sometimes, but in my heart I know it’s what I’m supposed to be doing.

 

 


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I’m slowly learning more about the craft and what works for my stories and what doesn’t. I think I’m leaning away from paranormal and toward contemporary romance.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

For Haley and Damian in Paramour for the Devil, I would choose Danneel Ackles to play her, and I’ve never pinpointed a male actor for Damian. Fun fact though, Danneel is married to Jensen Ackles from Supernatural. He’s a cutie too.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

It’s a journey, and your writing improves the more you focus on it.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for reading!

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m actually reading a new Anne Rice book from her erotic sleeping beauty series. It is very sexy and rich storytelling.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I used to read the Mandy series from Lois Gladys Leppard and also Frank Peretti’s youth series. I vividly remember those stories.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I like silly humor like Workaholics and some shows on Adult Swim. I cried at the end of the latest season finale of Orange is the New Black.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

I really love Tina Turner. I think her story is so empowering and I love that movie, What’s Love Got to Do With It.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Oh my gosh, that is quite a question. I suppose just love, love, and more love. Love makes the world go round. 😀

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Since we bought this new house in December, we’ve been overhauling the place. The greenery is overtaking this property, so I’ve been a little gardening queen. It’s hard work, but extremely rewarding. I love getting my hands in the dirt and watching my flowers grow.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I like intense movies and shows, so I binge-watched Bates Motel recently, and I went to see the new Conjuring movie (that nun was super scary!). I also really enjoyed this movie called Hardcore Henry. It’s filmed in first person, so you feel like you’re Henry. Our local movie theater has something called “D-box” seats. Basically, it’s like a theme-park ride, your seat vibrates and moves with the movie. It jolts you with every explosion, etc… that was the perfect way to experience Hardcore Henry.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I love BBQ food and fruit salads in the summertime. In winter, I’m all about pasta at Red Lobster or holiday desserts. I like bright colors positioned against neutrals, like teal or lavender on cream. It’s a bit of a surprise to most people, but I secretly enjoy metal music with heavy drums and fast guitars. I can get really into the new popular music, too. I like that song “Don’t Let Me Down” by the Chainsmokers.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I considered getting into interior design. I think that was just creativity trying to work its way to the surface. I don’t really have any desire to design someone else’s house.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Yes, I do, my website is www.savannahhillromance.com.

http://amzn.to/1NhtyEd

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/10817647.Savannah_Hill

www.Facebook.com/savannah.hill.author

www.Twitter.com/savannahhill1

www.Pinterest.com/savannahhil0248

Thank you for interviewing me, Fiona. These questions were great!

 

