Name Aimée Marie Bejarano

Age 37

Where are you from- I’m originally from California but for almost 23 years I’m a proud Texan.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Hmmm, the latest news, besides being interviewed for ya lol, I have a new novel releasing August 19th. The conclusion of a paranormal thriller.

 


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing when I was about 16.

 


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I didn’t consider myself a writer until about 2010 when I really devoted myself to the craft.

 


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The Lord really inspired me. He gave me this idea one day and it took quite a while to finish it. The novel is all about Him so I would say He is my inspiration.

 


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I’m not sure what sort of writing style I have lol. I do write in the first person. It’s just the way I’ve always written.

 


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Again, it was a God inspired idea. The more I devoted time and prayer into it, the more it all came together.

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? 

Absolutely. I want readers to see that Jesus is the only way. He loves the world and gave His own life so that we might live. It’s meant to inspire the reader and fill that God-shaped hole which we all have inside of our hearts.

 

 


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Considering it does follow the life of Jesus closely, it is based on His true story, but I did add some elements of myself in the story. Such as, the main character Angelica never marries. Neither have I. Like her, I’ve devoted my life to serve the Lord. For me, it’s very near and dear to my heart and life.

 

 


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I never did have a mentor. But, the one book that influenced my life the most would have to be the word of God, the Bible. Especially for this specific novel. If I were to choose an actual novel, it would have to be “The Holy War” by John Bunyan.

 

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I can name one specific author which I love his work. I began a sci-fi book of his and loved it. I immediately bought the second installment. He is a fellow indie author named Jonathan Meyer. He’s a favorite. Along with another writer, another indie author named CG Blade. His work is also sci-fi. Loved it so much I also immediately bought his second novel.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. 

No one really supported me outside of my family. It’s difficult at times to let others in to what you are called to do. You have to be cautious that they aren’t ‘vision snatchers’ and discourage you or put you down to what you really want to do.

 

 


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely. You don’t have to be a Stephen King, making a massive living off of your books, to consider writing as a career. I think the moment you release your first novel, congratulations, you are now in the career of writing!

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? 

Probably not. I’ve learned a lot during the publication process from my first and second releases.  I’m thrilled that now, by the 3rd novel, I know more or less what to do and expect.

 

 


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I was a homeschooled child. When I was 16, my work for English that day was to write one page of creative writing. I began writing about a supernatural battle between angels and demons. Afterwards, I gave it to my mom and she flipped the page over searching for the rest. When I told her it was only supposed to be one page, she was disappointed. She said in that one page, she was hooked. Then she handed the paper to my big sister, while I was biting my lip, and she said the same. They absolutely loved it. It was then I was encouraged to finish the story. I started writing.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

‘Aiden Jenson Presents, The Gateway’ the conclusion “Missing Parts of the Case.” It’s the dramatic ending to the first paranormal novel. A journalist, Aiden Jenson, discovers more to the case of the gateway which he had written about the year prior. During his investigations, a murder leads to a cult which reveals more to the story. He must go undercover. I don’t want to post any spoilers lol.

 

 


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I think the challenge in my writing is probably the editing process. It’s long and tedious but well worth the grind.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, not at all.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

A wonderful illustrator Daniela Frongia has done all three of my covers thus far. I look forward to working with her again.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book? 

The most difficult thing, for me, has been writing my novels while in chronic pain. It’s a challenge to write and then have to rest your body. Especially when you’re on a roll lol.

 

 

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Patience. It is the number one thing. If you rush, you miss the very best of YOU coming out in your work.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

For my first novel, I really have no idea who would have a terrific Angelica. Especially since there’s new actors coming in all the time.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Probably to make time to read. We get so busy with our own novels that we sometimes place reading on the shelf. Keep reading. Make time daily to do it. It really helps our own craft.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I’m so thrilled that you’ve read my books. You are a blessing and an answer to countless hours of prayer.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Currently reading, “Crimson” by CG Blade,  “The Bad Place” by Dean Koontz,  “Hangman” by Faye Kellerman, and a few others lol. I usually choose what I read depending on the mood I’m in lol.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read? 

I believe it was “Pilgrims Progress.”

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry? 

I laugh a lot. I’m home a lot alone so the thing that makes me laugh a lot is my animals lol. I laugh at jokes, especially my own lol. I cry if something moves me in my heart. I also cry when I’m finishing the end of my books. I don’t know why, but I always have.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would like to meet and why?

Hmm, perhaps someone from the Bible lol but I’m not sure who.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

“I have run the race.” Because that is what the Apostle Paul says. I want others to know when it’s my exit, that God knows my time and that would mean I’ve finished all I’m supposed to do. I’ve run my race. I’m done.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Of course!  Reading, gardening, walking and I love watching thunderstorms. I also enjoy movie nights munching on junk food and watching scary movies.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching? 

Scary movies, on television I enjoy mostly the murder shows, Dateline, Snapped, 48 Hours etc.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music?

My favorite color is black. Favorite food is enchiladas and fried chicken. I love Christian rock or metal.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Probably pursued music since I’m also a musician. I love playing.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Yes. https://aspiretobewhoyouweremeant.wordpress.com/

Follow me on my author page and see all of my current work. http://www.amazon.com/Aimee-Marie-Bejarano/e/B00SBRUFAE

Author and Friend Page- https://www.facebook.com/aimeemarie.bejarano

 Book Page-  https://www.facebook.com/Jesusoftheparanormal

Linkedin-   www.linkedin.com/in/paranormalpossessions/   

Google plus- http://goo.gl/5Zkrrb

Thanks so much for having me for the interview. I hope and pray all who read this is doing well and are blessed!

