Name Jaymin Eve

Age 31

Where are you from

Australia! The land down under, baby! I have two beautiful little girls, aged 4 and 2, they keep me on my toes every day. I love travelling. The beach. Reading. I read a lot, and always have. I studied Forensic Science in college, before leaving to have my oldest daughter. When she was born I decided to publish my book I had been working on. The rest is history.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Working on Broken Compass, which is a spinoff novel in the Supernatural Prison World. This is Maximus and Mischa’s story, and I am loving it. A lot of sweet moments and a ton of action in this one.

Also working on Annihilate with Leia Stone. This is the final in the Hive trilogy. We are pretty close to being finished and can’t wait to get this one out.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I was never a writer. I was a reader. I loved escaping into book worlds, and probably would have struggled a lot more growing up if I didn’t have books. When I was 21 I had this idea, and it wouldn’t leave me alone, so I started jotting down notes and then before I knew it I wrote a book. A bad book. Like really bad. But it was a great learning experience and it set off the chain of events which led me to becoming an author. I wrote on and off for about 6 years before publishing for the first time.

 

 


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I think after I published my first book, and had number 2 almost done. When I realized that it was something I wanted to do full time. Something I had to do every day.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

An idea that wouldn’t leave me alone. A need to build a fantasy world. To create something which might help others escape. The same way I did growing up.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I’m a pantser. I also write from start to finish, no deviation, and often no going back to edit or anything. Which definitely leads to some hardcore editing the first time around.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Generally as I write, something in the story gives me a title.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I like to write about strong characters, lots of girl-power and friendship bonds, and trust and loyalty.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I guess inevitably all authors incorporate some of their own life, values and upbringing into books, but for the most part, the characters are themselves, and they tell the story. Even when I wanted them to be something else. I have never intentionally based anything in my books on real life.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

So many, but one of the greatest is Enid Blyton. Growing up I devoured her books. The Magic Faraway tree was something I read and reread over and over. It ignited my first love of fantasy.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I have a lot of authors I love, and especially indie ones now. Some of the best books I’ve read in the last few years have been independently published. Some of my favourites are Leia Stone, S.t Bende, Karen Lynch, Donna Augustine, Jennifer L Armentrout and the list goes on and on.

I love the fast-paced, high action, true-love story style books. There is always adventure, character growth, and lots of true love. I do prefer to read YA and NA, those sort of coming-of-age stories are my favourite. There’s no other time in our lives where we have such strong emotions and discoveries.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

The indie community. There are so many groups which support and nurture new authors. Also my editors and beta readers. I learned so much from them and their feedback.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, it is a full-time career. And a lifestyle. I could never stop.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I try not to look back, moving forward is my focus. You could always find something to hate or change in previous books, it’s the nature of writing and of getting better at your craft. My aim is always to make my current book the best one I can, and then move on to the next project.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

With reading. The power to create worlds is quite amazing. I wanted the power.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Broken Compass focuses on Max Compass, who is a vampire and Mischa Lebron, who is a wolf shifter. In their world different races cannot be true mates, and yet it seems as if there is a mate bond between them. This is the story of their love. And a sorcerer who wants to tear it all apart. Not to mention some annoying bear shifters.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Balancing it with family life. My family comes first, but writing is also important. Can be a delicate line to walk.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not generally.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I have a private graphic designer who does most of my covers for me.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

It’s all hard. And amazing and wonderful. But it’s definitely hard work.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

That I am an awful procrastinator at times.

 

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Wouldn’t that be the ultimate dream. The Hemsworth boys would be pretty great. Jensen Ackles. Jason Momoa. For the ladies, I love Mila Kunis. Margot Robbie.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Just write. It’s the best thing you can do. And read. You cannot be writing or reading enough for this career. Keep working at it every day and eventually you’ll have a product you’re happy to release into the world.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I love you all! Hard. I couldn’t do this without amazing readers, and I cherish each and every one of you. I’ll always do my very best to give you epic reads in every single story.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Gilt Series by Geneva Lee

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Probably something by Dr. Seuss.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I love snarky, smartass humour. And generally anything with children makes me cry.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

All the great minds throughout history. I want to learn directly from them.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Jaymin Eve. Finally getting that sleep she’s been talking about for the last 10 years.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love singing. Cooking. Travelling. Swimming. Anything with my girls. They are perfection.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Arrow and Supernatural are my favourites. I also enjoy light comedies like the Big Bang Theory.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Love chocolate and anything with a creamy sauce. Green and purple. Top 40, rnb, and dance music.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Probably something in the science fields.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.jaymineve.com
Amazon page: http://www.amazon.com/Jaymin-Eve/e/B00E1URI2I/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

Broken Compass . It’s due for release on 17th September.

Amazon US: https://amzn.com/B01H9N2BAC

 

