Name: Rex Grainger

Where are you from?

I’m  43. I’m from London, and I work in a library. That always gets the “I bet you just sit down and read books all day” comments, which is a polite way of them saying that I’m lucky to have a cushy job. But working in a library is far from cushy, but as I’m not a librarian, my job isn’t as stressful. I work close to my home, so that’s the bonus. What is also great is the first book I borrowed from that particularly library, when I was eleven, had inspired me to read more. It was a western by J.T Edson, and I went on to read Louis L’amour, and Agatha Christie.

Tell us your latest News?

I’ve released Ritual Temple on amazon a few months ago. Like my first book, Elixir Stone, released in January, is an action-adventure novel, and is about a hunt for a river of gold in the Peruvian jungle. It’s a standalone book. The whole purpose was to write the ultimate hunt adventure book packed with light humour, action, and I feel I’ve achieved it. There are elements of Simon Templar, 1960’s TV classic, The Avengers ( due to the quirky villains and the buzz saws, a heat seeking arrow, and mechanical knights!) and Indiana Jones. Basically, it’s meant to be a fun read, a contrast from a lot of doom and gloom that is prevalent in a lot of thrillers.

When and why did you begin writing?

Basically, I was a child with a big imagination. I remember after watching films, mainly of the 1950’s and 60’s, I would re-enact them in my mind, and even come up with my own stories. I wanted to be an actor, but when I started to read, I naturally wrote stories ( none of them were good, but you’ve to start somewhere), and I continued this in my late teens onwards. I’d decided in my late teens that writing what I wanted to do.

How did you come up with a title?

Ritual Temple was originally titled Ritual of Death, which was the name of a racing car thriller I had written in my late teens. But I’d decided halfway through my edits to change the title to Ritual Temple, mainly because it sounded more like an adventure novel. Ritual of Death sounded like a crime thriller. I thought it would be better marketing to add the “temple” after the” ritual”. As for Elixir Stone, it was called Vengeance, then Elixir, but as they were couple of published books with that name, I added the stone.

What books have most influenced your life most? Mentor?

Books like the Satan Bug by Alistair Maclean, Big Gun by JT Edson Callaghan by Louis L’amour,  most Agatha Christie, and recently The Cult of Osirus and Tombs of Hercules by Andy McDermott, Sahara, Cyclops, Treasure, Dragon Inca gold by Clive Cussler, Area 51 by Matthew Reilly, and Wyatt’s Hurricane by Desmond Bagley. No mentor, I’m afraid.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favourite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

New authors like Rob Jones, J.T Brannan, Christian Dane, Tom Wood (though he isn’t totally new), and Simon Kernick. I recently read these authors’ books. My favourite author is Alistair Maclean, mainly because his books are suspenseful, fun, humorous, and live up to the name page turner. From recent years, it’s Andy McDermott.

Is there anything  you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Coming up with an idea and turning it into a book is challenging enough, but I would say from chapter one and a few chapters after that can be quite a challenge. Getting into my protagonists’ mind and  into the whole rhythm of the book can take some time to kickstart. Matter of fact, I had five extra chapters tacked to Elixir Stone in the first draft, but I had to cut them off because it was too long winding. The same with Ritual Temple, the first chapter was 26 pages, and long winding. When I was reading Cussler books, I noticed how instantaneous he is, and doesn’t waste time to rev up the engine. Fortunately, with the current book I’m now writing, I’m getting the writing rhythm from the chap one, but it still can be a struggle.

If any of your books were made into a film who would like to play the lead?

For Ritual Temple, I think a Tom Selleck or James Garner-type, someone with that same easy going and classy style. As Elixir Stone, I thought Hugh Jackman would be a good Simon Harte, but I have changed my mind due to a reader’s suggestion. Gerald Butler would be a great Simon Harte. Nina Dobrev as Ella, and either Benedict Cumberhatch or Tim Hiddleston for Jonathan Kendrick.  But it wouldn’t happen, but one can dream.

Do you have any advice for writers?

In order to improve as a writer, you need to start writing, and persevere. Writing is like a muscle, the more you work it, the more stronger it becomes. I’ve realised this over the years. Also read a lot, especially in your chosen genre. And study the openings of a book, and the way the author maintains the suspense, and keeps the pages turning. Questioning what  you like or dislike about a book makes you more aware when you write your own book.

Do you have any specifics you want to say to your readers?

I hope you enjoy my books, and hopefully they’ll give you a chance to escape from the humdrum of life.

What are you reading now?

The Covenant of Genesis by Andy McDermott.

Is there one person pass or present you would like to meet and why?

Alistair Maclean – he was a genius.

Do you have a blog/website? If so, what is it?

www.rexgraingerauthor.blogspot.com

. Also I’m on twitter @authorgrainger

 

Amazon authors page UK http://www.amazon.co.uk/Rex-Grainger/e/B01B63EGLS/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

Amazon authors page USA http://www.amazon.com/Rex-Grainger/e/B01B63EGLS/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

 

 

