Name Neil Orr

Age 46

Where are you from

I’m originally from California, in the US, but I’m currently in Texas.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I have some college behind me, majoring in English Literature and minoring in Creative Writing. I joined the Navy right out of school and did a tour for my country. After that, I spent a few years finding myself, then I got into law enforcement. I spent close to 20 years serving my community, until I was diagnosed with Degenerative Disk Disease and had to medically retire. I have two wonderful children, a son 24 and a daughter 23.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

On June 29th of this year, my second grandchild came into this world. And recently, I have reconnected with my first love. Everything else is unimportant.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

My first short story won a school award when I was eight.

 

 


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I still question it…

 

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My mother was my inspiration. She passed in 2001 and I felt the need to finish the story I had started when she was alive. I miss her.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I write everything in first person. I know that many people don’t care for that, but it makes the story more personal, in my opinion.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I pulled tiles from a Scrabble bag and arranged them until I found something I liked for the home of the Elves. Then I decided to use that as the title, as well. The next book will be titled after the home of the Dwarves, Hatchburrow.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Don’t mess with the Elves, because Magic is real.

 

 


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Considering the book is based on a fantasy world that was created from my warped imagination, I’d say the only thing that’s realistic is the dialogue.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Pretty much everything written by Terry Brooks. As for a mentor, I can’t really say that I’ve ever had one.

 

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

There are so many new authors out there that I love. Patcrick O’Scheen and his Chronicles of Marithe series. Terry R. Hill, Sandra Shrewsbury, Noel Craske, just to name a few.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

The community of Independent Authors. You couldn’t ask for a more supportive group of people.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I would love for my writing to become my career. I just need to sell more books.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. Well…I would change one thing, but it’s not related to the writing, itself.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I just love to tell stories. Ask anyone that knows me, I’ve been doing it all my life.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

This is from Hatchburrow, Book 2 of The Kiyor’lin Series

“The old man has no business here, my lord.” Nymette paced around the chamber. “We can’t trust that relic. He’s one of them. He always has been.”

“You know nothing, witch.” Dy’kuin watched Nymette with amusement. “There are many pieces to a puzzle and you are but one. Do not forget who you fight for.”

He lumbered around the great hall. Nymette would be a small morsel for him. It would hardly be worth the time it would take to snatch her off the floor where she stood. He eyed the little witch with distrust. He needed her to break the barrier of realms. Until that happened, all he could was assault her mind.

“Master,” Nymette said, “we cannot rely on that fool to wipe his backside, let alone do what it takes to destroy his home.”

“What makes you question his loyalties, little one?” The dragon decided to humor her.

“He had his chances to stop the young druid.” The witch stated. “He blew it. He couldn’t bring himself to end the elf king’s life.”

“What makes you think I want Draganos dead?” Dy’kuin grinned at the witch, baring his sharp teeth. “You assume too much. Typical of humans.”

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I can never remember to make notes for the progression of the story, so I often have to go back and read different passages so I can make sure the continuity is there. Once, I had an entire chapter written and realized I had one of the main characters in two places at the same time. I had to go back and rewrite the entire chapter, removing him from the equation.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I wish. So far I haven’t been able to do any appearances.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Joel Ferris is my cover designer and insert artist. He also does my trailers and character renderings. We’re working on a Survival Guide, which will contain pictures and information on all the characters and creatures from The Kiyor’lin Series.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Staying motivated.

 

 


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Patience and perseverance. I had to learn not to rush my writing, but to keep on it.

 

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Chris Pine or Channing Tatum would be my first choices. They’re about the right age, height and build.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t write for the readers. Write because you have a story that has to be told. Write for yourself. If you don’t like what you’ve written, how can you expect the readers to like it.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I appreciate every one of you. Without you, my stories would just be words on a page. I love all the support and encouragement you’ve given me.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just finished a short story by Joe Martino, called The Way of The Gray. It was an amazing read.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The first book I read by myself was Green Eggs and Ham. The first novel I read was The Hardy Boys Mysteries Book 1

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I find humor in a lot of things, most of which are inappropriate or politically incorrect. As for what makes me cry…not much…however, the movie My Sister’s Keeper had me bawling like a little kid whose favorite toy got run over by dad’s car.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Terry Brooks. He’s my favorite author and the one who got me interested in Fantasy.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Here Lies Neil Orr

Loving Husband – Caring Father – Crazy Author

Even though I’m not currently married, I’m hoping she’ll say yes when I ask her. I love my kids. If you’ve read Shad’rah, you’ll know why the last part needs to be there, too.

 

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Gaming. I love World of Warcraft

 

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

NCIS / NCIS LA / Criminal Minds / Game of Thrones (I blame my girlfriend) / Anything Marvel

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Steak / Bacon / Burgers

Blue

80’s Hair Metal

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I’ve already done it. I served my country in the US Navy, I was a mechanic, and I spent a lot of years in Law Enforcement.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://neilorr.wix.com/author

http://www.facebook.com/kiyorlin

Book Link – https://www.amazon.com/Shadrah-Kiyorlin-Book-Neil-Orr-ebook/dp/B00GXU5FD8

 

Amazon Author Link – http://www.amazon.com/Neil-Orr/e/B00H1OJVX0/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

 

