Name: Mark Deloy

Age: 43

Where are you from: Connecticut, although I don’t claim my yankee roots.  I live in Tennessee.  I went to college in San Diego.  I’m married with 2 girls, Molly -12 and Hailey – 8.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I actually have two pieces of latest News.  One is I have an novel which I just finished final edits on last night called The Southern House coming out from Stitched Smile Publications very soon.  I also have a collection of short stories coming out from the same publisher called The Roaming Darkness.  I’m very excited about them both.

 

 


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing when I was 10 or 11.  I had recently graduated from comic books to crime fiction and was really interested on how characters developed and how to weave a plot.  I thought I’d give it a try and was instantly hooked.  Something about creating worlds of my own appealed to me.

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I think when I published my first short story was when I really knew I could be a writer and sell my work.

 

 


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book? 

My first novel, The Ghosts of Silence was inspired by a forward in Thomas Harris’s The Red Dragon.  HE is talking about going home to write the book.  He rented a small cabin at the edge of a large field.  At night he would listen to the wild dogs run.  I started thinking what else could happen in that cabin and that’s where it started.

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I do.  I consider my writing Southern Paranormal.  Most of my novels and short stories take place in the south and are very story driven.  I use the term paranormal to encompass anything out of the ordinary, not necessarily always ghosts.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I came up with the title The Southern House because the protagonist uses that term to name the house he inherited, but really the true southern house is another house hidden deep in the woods on his property.

 

 


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I would say if there is a message that comes out of The Southern House, it’s that we never really know what’s behind the veil of normalcy.  Just outside of our senses there’s another world.  Most people ignore the small glimpses we get every day, but some people get the full experience and are never the same.

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The book’s setting is on the farm where I deer hunt in the fall.  I’ve seen and heard some very strange things there.  Strange lights, odd animals, shadows.  One morning, very early, I heard gospel music.  There are no churches around there that meet on Saturday morning at 4:30 AM that I know of.  Others have heard the same thing on several occasions.  My wife’s father, who I hunt with saw a humanlike figure with wings following me into the woods one morning before it promptly disappeared.

 

 


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor? 

I would say the most influential books I’ve read are King’s Salem’s lot and Pet Sematary.  They really taught me how to create a town and characters that weave themselves around a story.  A short story that influenced me is The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman.  The ending is still the creepiest scene I can think of.

 

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?  

I’d have to say Paul Tremblay and Joe Hill are the new authors who are the next superstars of the Horror Genre.  My favorite author is Stephen King, with Gillian Flynn as a close second.

 

 


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Stitched Smile Publications is by far my biggest supporter.  From creating memes for books and short stories, to marketing help, to editing help, to personal and moral support.  I’ve had a few different publishers and I have to say Stitched Smile is beyond compare as far in how much they invest in their authors.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I do.  It’s something I really enjoy and I think it’s just going to take one big break to get everything moving.

 

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Nope, I think I have it exactly how I want it now.

 

 


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

From reading really great stories by other authors.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Sure.  There are some places that lie where the barrier between worlds is thin and growing thinner. These corridors are as old as the Earth itself, hidden in dark and forgotten places, waiting to be found. There is a being who stalks these places and travels between those worlds. He was given the name Mr. Shift by generations of children and madmen.

Just as Hickory Grimble hits rock bottom, he inherits his grandparents’ farm and believes his luck is changing. He soon finds he inherited more than money and land.

Haunted by his own inner demons, now he has new problems. He begins to see strange creatures on the dark, sprawling acreage, animals that have no business living in middle Tennessee. He also discovers a decrepit, abandoned house in the forest that never seems to be in the same place twice.

Balanced on a razor’s edge between, addiction and fate, Hick is now face to face with an ancient evil that has returned once more to claim more of the town’s children.

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Finding the time to write has been the biggest challenge.  The words com pretty easily when I can finally sit down and write them.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I’ve traveled a few places, but mostly my stories take place when I live or nearby.

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Lisa Vasquez of Stitched Smile will be designing the cover of the Southern House and it’s incredible.  I can’t wait for the rest of the world to see it.  My last novel, Life Suspended’s cover was designed by Dannielle Sierra.  Also an amazing work.

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book? 

Getting the reader to care enough about the characters and the story to suspend disbelief.  There are some pretty fantastical things that happen, so sometimes it’s difficult to write about them in a way that is realistic.

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it? 

Yes, I would say I learned to let your characters roam.  Let them do what they want and go where they want, even if it takes you away from your outline.  They always know what’s best.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead.

I kept picturing John Cusack as Hickory Grimble.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t stop, even when it’s hard.  Finish what you are working on.

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

If you like a good, fast paced story that will grab and hold your attention, pick up The Southern House when it comes out.  That’s what I was going for, an enjoyable page turner.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Head full of ghosts on Audiobook by Paul Tremblay.  Genius.  If you haven’t read it.  Go get it now.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Not really.  That was a very long time ago.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Laugh, physical humor.  Three stooges, Chris Farley Stuff.  As far as crying.  I cry more because of happiness, than sadness or anger.  Those Dog’s being rescued, or Soldiers coming home to their dog videos get me every time.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

JFK.  Because he had the potential to change the world and was cut down for it.  I believe everything in our present world hinged on that day in Dallas.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

That’s a tough one.  I’ve never really thought about it.  I hope that I was a good husband and father.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ? 

Sure, deer hunting, long range and pistol shooting.  I collect knives.  At present I have about 200.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

The walking Dead, of course.  Mr. Robot is awesome.  Alone, Dual Survival, Daredevil, Jessica Jones, House of Cards.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music. 

I love Sushi.  I can’t believe I went 43 years without trying it.  My wife made me try it and it is amazing, especially the fried sushi.  I like the colors blue and red.  Music:  All types from Old Country to Metal, to rap to some top 40.  My favorite is probably rock.  Guns and Roses, Metallica, ACDC, ect.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I also do IT work, but I think my calling would be the military.  A lot of people say I missed that calling and would make a good soldier.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? 

I do not, other than facebook.  I need to make a website.  It’s on my to-do list.

Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/MarkEDeloy/?fref=ts

Amazon page – http://www.amazon.com/Mark-E.-Deloy/e/B00J6H51Y8/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

