Name Dovey Mayali Cralk

 

Age 30ish

 

Where are you from

Mostly Texas

 

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I’m a stay at home mom with some awesome kids and a great hubby.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’m working a few different things at once, including the soon-to-be-debuted novel under a separate pen name.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Early elementary school, during computer class.  Our teacher would assign us a subject to write poems or short little stories about to help us learn to use Word Perfect (showing my age!) and to get more aquainted with the keyboard.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

To be honest, I’ve never really thought about it!  I know I was super proud when one of my poems was selected for a publication in….oh, around 3rd grade or so.  But I don’t think there was every any certain point of, “BAM! I’m a writer!”.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first published book came about from persistent dreams of a girl and “brother”, and they wouldn’t leave me alone until I wrote the first book of their story, The Chronicles of Valen.  The first STORY I ever did was a Jr. High assignment.  I got carried away with my killer santa and his zombie snowmen and elves.  What was supposed to be a short story took on a life of its own haha.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

No, not really.  I just go with the flow of whatever feels right for the story.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title? 

The title for The Twisted Veil came about because, as the Twisted Sisters, we decided all of our anthologies should include the word “Twisted”.  The general genre for that is paranormal, and therefore being behind the “veil”.  So it just kind of fit!  As for my sepecific story in The Twisted Veil, An Almost Ghost Story….well, in this case, that would be telling!

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? 

Hm.  I guess it would be to look closer.  Not everything is as it appears.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Haha!  There is pretty much nothing in that one that is based on real life, it was all imagination.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

As for influence, The Ordianry Princess helped me immensly!  When I would hear everyone talking about how pretty the other girls were, how good they were at certain things, I would pull into myself because I wasn’t like that.  But that book showed me that the plain girls could go on to do great things, and it has always stuck with me.  Mentor!  CM Wright!  She convinced me to suck it up and hit publish for the first time!  And since then, she has given me advice and help any time I’ve asked or even hinted that I needed it.  She’s also a hell of a writer!

 

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

My favorite author, when forced to choose one, will always be Jane Austen.  But there are a LOT that I absolutely love!  I’ll narrow it down to 5, or else I’ll go on all day.  CM Wright, Bobby Adair, Nely Cab, Erin McFadden, and Meg Sparrow have all gained my undying fangirling ways!

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My very small, but very amazing circle of best friends.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, I do.  While not all can make a living from it (I certainly haven’t, I’m in the hole on this job hahaha), it’s still a skill set, it requires hard work, time, and effort, and it’s not just some hobby that any random person can pick up and do.  It takes a lot of dedication.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

My latest book….That would be Warlock’s Kiss, in Twisted Love.  Yeah, I wasn’t as pleased as I would have liked to have been with the ending.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Mrs. Stanaland’s writing assignments!  I learned how much I loved to create my own stories in those computer classes.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Ooooh.  Well, I’m re-editing The Chronicles of Valen before I finish the second book in that trilogy.  All I can really say about that one is to have tissues.  I sobbed for a month over a single scene!
I’m finishing out The Vixen Flower into a full legnth stand alone, and taking out the erotica.

Under a new pen name, I have a zombie story coming.  This pen name is going to be for ‘clean’ books.  Little to no sex, drug, and rock ‘n roll 😉

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I know this means more the actual writing, but to be honest, the hardest part is actually getting any time to write that I’m not falling asleep!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not right now.  I”m hoping to attend my first signing as an author next year in Houston.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

A photographer/model and I do all of the Twisted Sister covers, Double J Book Graphics is doing The Vixen Flower, and I haven’t decided on the new cover for The Chronicles of Valen.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Feeling like I’m not telling the characters stories to their fullest potential.  I always feel like I could be doing something better.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Ignore those insecurities!  Just push yourself through the doubts and nagging in your own head!

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Oooh.  Griffin from An Almost Ghost Stroy would HAVE to be Kris Holden Reid!!!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Same as what I said for what I learned.  DO NOT LISTEN TO YOUR SELF-DOUBTS!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Hi you beautiful Darlings!  I love you.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am reading Talent. by Erin McFadden, Paranoral Intrusion, by Caroline Mitchell, and Sins and Lovers by Michael I. Benjamin.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read? 

`I do not.  I know, that’s horrible!  The first book I REMEMBER was The Ordinary Princess.  The second was IT.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry? 

EVERYTHING.  I am super sensetive and empathetic.  I can cry because I SEE someone crying.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why? 

Jane Austen!  I wanna know who Mr. Darcy and Col. Brandon are based on!

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why

“She hid the jewels under the….”

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Reading, gardening, fishing, camping, and playing games with my kids.  Oh, who am I kidding.  NETFLIX!

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

SuperWhoLock, and pretty much anything geeky or creepy!

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I am very much a meat and potato gal, but I love chinese and italian, too!

PURPLE.  And Turquoise and orange.

Rock.  All the Rock!!

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I worked in a nursing home as a CNA, and I loved it.  I was hard work, and hard on the emotions when one of my friends would pass on, but I loved know that I was there for them, to help them live as fully as they could, and that I could bring a smile to their faces on days that they didn’t even want to get out of bed.  I seemed to have had a talent for ‘handling’ dementia patients, and could calm them most times.  I didn’t have any interest in the actual nursing side of things, I just love being the assistant and having the caretaker role.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Right now I only have Facebook.  I HAVE a Twitter, but I have an awful memory and can’t remember the password!

https://www.facebook.com/DoveyMayaliCralk

 

Twisted Love

Amazon: http://amzn.to/29H0n0U

Goodreads:  http://bit.ly/29G1Dja

Twisted Veil

Amazon:  http://amzn.to/29BMYoX

Goodreads:  http://bit.ly/29G1Dja

Amazon Author:
http://amzn.to/29yfzJY

Goodreads Author:
http://bit.ly/29rMr6z

 

