Name Jamie White

Age 39

Where are you from Florida

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I’m an author, blogger, and editor that moonlights as a pet servant. I’m also a music geek and love all things paranormal/metaphysical. 😀

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’m releasing a new book (Rebuilding Me) in August. It’s the third book in my latest series about a Lightworker.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing in high school when I signed up for a Journalism class. I spent years writing blogs, articles, etc. but started writing fiction in 2010. My husband (CP Bialois) was already writing stories at the time, and he wanted to go to a writing group. I decided to join in and had a lot of fun writing my first story for it, so I kept going.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I first picked up the pen (or, more accurately, sat in front of the keyboard.)

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first book, The Life and Times of No One in Particular, was inspired by a Buffy RPG I was in years ago. A bunch of us were having trouble coming up with stories, so we started joking around about our evil muses. I then created an evil muse character that caused some trouble in there for a while. J When I sat down to write the first book, I thought about that character and how she came about. It made me wonder what a real muse would think of all the trash talk we did, and the story flowed from there.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I definitely have themes that show up in most of my stories.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I got the title for the first in my new series (Learning Me) from the National Novel Writing Month “Adopt a Title” topic in their forums. The rest of the titles are variations of that.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I don’t really try to get across any specific messages in my books, really. I do share a little bit about things I like through them (meditation, reincarnation, etc), but I think it’s more fun just to let a story flow and let a reader get what they will out of it.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

This book, thankfully, is not very realistic. I do work in things I like, though, and I’ve been known to include different phrases I’ve heard people say into them. Actually, my husband has been demanding royalties ever since reading the first book in this new series. LOL

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I think my biggest influence has been Christopher Pike. I’ve always loved the way he weaves mythology, history, religion, and metaphysical ideas into his work.

 

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I really like several people’s work. Marni Mann is great, because she’s always putting some crazy twist into her work, and it’s so emotional. I like Dawn Sullivan’s work because her characters are so much fun.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My friend, Michelle Cornwell-Jordan has been a huge help in getting the word out about my work and keeping me going (even when she wants to yell at me for what I end up putting her favorite characters through. LOL). I’ve got some great readers I met through Vicki Rose’s Platinum Book Reviews events, as well.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Definitely.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I can’t think of anything I would change in it. Actually, that question is really funny because the ending of the previous book was totally different before I revised it, and that would have completely changed this book, so I’m glad it ended up the way it did.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

With that Journalism class I mentioned, as well as that RPG and writing group. They all had a part in my becoming a fiction writer.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Sure 😀 Here is a little piece of the latest book I’ve released, Exploring Me:

Deciding she’d make the most of her free time, Courtney took a seat near the stage and retrieved her theatre book from her bag. If she was right, she’d have enough time to finish a good chunk of the assigned reading before anyone got there.

She leaned back in the seat. Delighting in the soft material that lined the seats, Courtney flipped open the book and started reading while keeping her attention partially on her surroundings. She wasn’t going to have anyone sneaking up and startling her again—especially when she was on such a big campus with tons of strange people. People whose history she knew nothing about. People who could be….

Stop it!

Forcing the thoughts from her mind, Courtney turned her attention back to the reading. She was halfway through the chapter when she heard the door open. Courtney turned around to see a strange guy walking down the aisle.

“Hi,” he said as he approached her seat. “Are we the only ones here, still?”

“Yeah,” Courtney answered. “Um… you are?”

“Steven,” he replied. “Didn’t I see you at the orientation a few months ago?”

“Maybe.” Discomfort built in her stomach. This was probably the longest conversation she’d had with someone not her roommate or Sam since she arrived. “I mean, there were so many people, I couldn’t keep all the faces straight.”

“No worries,” he said with a shrug. He took a seat next to her. “So, I hear you’re pretty good.”

“I’m sorry?”

“You know, as an actress? There’s been a little talk about you in the drama department.”

“Are you serious?” The idea was enough to make her head spin. How could she already have such a reputation without having even performed in front on anyone there yet? Most of their classes had so far consisted of a lot of history and theory.

“Yeah, they’re saying you’ll probably be one of the first freshmen to get a big role this year.”

Courtney’s eyes widened. “Wow. I didn’t know anyone really knew me at all. I—”

“Keep to yourself?” he interrupted.

“Well, there’s that.” Courtney hadn’t realized how much of a reputation she’d already built up. Of course, depending on one’s perspective, some of the talk about her didn’t exactly sound flattering. She couldn’t help it, though. Part of her wondered if she should go see the school therapist, but the idea almost made her burst out laughing.

What am I going to tell them? I’m a head case ‘cause I had to kill my evil cousin, who claimed she killed my parents because they had paranormal powers?

That would go over well, she was sure. If they didn’t decide to dope her up and put her in a hospital somewhere. No, she was just going to have to figure out how to deal with the situation on her own. Maybe this would be a good start. She was certainly having an easier time talking to this guy than she’d had talking to anyone else, that was for sure.

“So, how much of a head case does everyone think I am?”

“No one. It’s been decided you’re either a massive diva, or you are the shyest actress ever born.”

Courtney blinked. “Oh.”

He laughed. “Sorry, I guess I should have been a little more… tactful. Seriously, though, it’s called the ‘drama’ department for a reason. People love gossiping and usually make up all kinds of crazy shit. They’ll stop once you relax a little…. Or get over your ego. Whatever the case is.”

“I’m not a diva,” she defended herself. “I’m just, you know, going through an adjustment period.”

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Sometimes, it’s just getting the chance to sit down and get something on the page.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, but hopefully that will happen one day. 😀

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The current covers were made by an awesome fellow author, Cheyanne Young. Now that it is a series instead of a trilogy, I am working on re-doing the whole thing. I also have covers by Angie Mroczka and RJ Keith.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

I think the hardest part of the upcoming one was that it was so emotional. I ended up putting the main character through some really traumatic stuff that brought some of my own stuff to the surface.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Every book has taught me something. Each one is a goal reached, and obstacles I had to overcome to finish.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

I’ve never really thought about that.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write what you love, not what you think will sell. Also, it’s easy to get overloaded on all the advice out there about writing, so just trust yourself and disregard the advice that doesn’t feel right.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I’d have to say thanks for choosing to read my work. 😀 It means a lot to know that people are actually reading the stories, and enjoying them.

 

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Right now, I just started my first Stephen King book, Finders Keepers. Well, technically it’s my second book (On Writing is awesome), but it’s my first of his fiction.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Oh, wow. I’m thinking it was probably one of those fairytale books. But the first series I remember reading was The Babysitters Club.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Too many to mention. LOL

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Hmm. I’ve always thought it would be interesting to chat with Sylvia Browne. Present? I would love to meet Christopher Pike in person.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Never even thought about it. The whole subject creeps me out too much.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love meditating, practicing Reiki, chanting, listening to music, reading, and binging on Telenovelas. 😀

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I’m not a huge movie person, but I love Doctor Who, Salem, and The Americans. I’m currently binging on a novella called Sin Senos No Hay Paraiso.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Foods: Anything organic, although I really love veggies. Color: Purple Music: Anything and everything. 😀

 

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Singing. Definitely.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Yep! It’s http://www.JamieLWhite.com

Amazon page: www.amazon.com/Jamie-White/e/B00850MY88/.

