Name   Sarah King

Age  35

Where are you from?  I live in Annapolis, MD with my husband of nearly 12 years and 2 adorable kids. I’m a romance author with TouchPoint Press Romance and have 3 books currently available.  I also have a music obsession—my collection is always expanding & my taste is eclectic.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Waking Up in Vegas is my latest “baby” to be released into the world & the response has been fantastic!

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing? 

I began writing when I was around 8 years old.  I was painfully shy as a child and would rather be by myself.  My grandmother used to watch my sister & I growing up and one day I got a stuffed parrot (yes, really).  It inspired me to write my first story about (what else) a parrot detective.

 

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Right after that first parrot story.  My grandma encouraged me to keep writing and I did.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book? 

Literally, a dream.  My first book, Blue Twilight, started with a dream that woke me up in the middle of the night and when I remembered some of it, I started writing it down.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? 

I think some would say I do.  People who have read all 3 of my books can see a certain pattern, I guess.  Witty dialogue, but in the end, likeable characters that you can relate with.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

For Blue Twilight, that came from the song within the story, Meant To Be Mine did not get its title until AFTER I’d finished writing the book, and Waking Up in Vegas came after I decided on the setting for that book.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? 

Just that sometimes happily ever after takes work.  You can’t go into a relationship expecting everything, but giving nothing back.  It takes teamwork and compromise.

 

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

LOL I get asked this a lot.  I’d say 80% is fictional, but I have been known to write some dialogue that has been said by me or to me.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor? 

Nora Roberts was my biggest influence in deciding to write in the romance genre.  She just has such a way with making her readers connect with her stories.

 

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

The best part about living in this day and age is that Social Media has made it possible to connect with authors in ways that were never available before.  So, I’ve gotten to connect with some incredible people.  JA Huss, HP Mallory, RL Mathewson, and Ella Fox are just a few that pop to mind.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. 

He may not count because one may view him as family, but hands down, my husband.  We’ve known each other since we were 15 and he has always supported me in this dream.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I do.  Even if it’s only part-time, it takes a LOT of work to write.  You have to dedicate time to it every day.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? 

In my latest book, Waking Up in Vegas, I’m pretty happy with that one, so I wouldn’t change anything.  But I would make some changes to the first 2 books I wrote.  Only because I learn a little something more with each book I write thanks to the fantastic publishing team I work with and from reviews I receive.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? 

Well, I already told you about the parrot LOL.  But, really, I read so much growing up and that’s what fueled my passion.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

What’s up next for me is very exciting.  It is going to be a 3-part New Adult series that focuses on an issue that is near and dear to my heart.  I can’t give too much away just yet, but look for more information coming very soon.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? 

Sex scenes LOL  I’m sorry, but there are only so many ways to write similar things!  But so far, my readers haven’t complained, so I guess I’m doing an okay job.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, sadly I don’t get to do much travelling.  But if I am basing a book somewhere I haven’t been (such as Las Vegas), I research like a mad woman.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers? 

For Blue Twilight and Meant To Be Mine, I had Colbie Myles from TouchPoint design the covers for me.  Waking Up in Vegas and my new series coming up, my fantastic publisher, Opal Campbell actually designed and made them.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book? 

The hardest part is always just making it seem believable.  You want your readers to get “lost” in the story, but at the same time, you don’t want them snorting and going, “like that would ever happen”.  It’s a balancing act for sure.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it? 

Yes!  I learn something new with every book I write—mainly thanks to my editor, Amanda.  She and everyone at TouchPoint has helped me so much and now I carry that knowledge into my new books and with each one, I get a little better.

 

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead? 

Ooooh, good question.  Well, I do have muses for all the characters in my books (I have Pinterest boards for each book).  For my latest, Waking Up in Vegas, I always pictured Andrew as Gabriel Macht.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers? 

Don’t do it to become a millionaire—chances are, that’s not going to happen.  Write because you love to.  Write because you have to.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Just thank you.  Thank you for taking a chance on me and thank you for loving my characters as much as I loved writing about them.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’ve seriously been so busy with my latest project, I have not had time to read L  But I’ve got a to-be-read list a mile long.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read? 

I’m sure it was something Sweet Valley High related.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My kids—every day.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

I’d love to meet JK Rowling.  She just seems like such a genuinely nice person and she introduced a whole new generation to reading which I admire.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

I lived.  I just want to know that I accomplished what I set out to do despite obstacles or hardships.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ? 

I do some knitting

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Supernatural is my all-time favorite show.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music:

Love Mexican food, the color pink (yep, I’m that girly), and music…all of it.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done? 

I don’t know, this is just always what I wanted to do.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.facebook.com/authorsarahking

http://kingandqueen1021.wix.com/mysite

www.pinterest.com/bvkajk1021

https://twitter.com/SAking1021

https://www.instagram.com/kingandqueen1021

https://www.amazon.com/Waking-Up-Vegas-Sarah-King-ebook/dp/B01FPV22CM

https://www.amazon.com/Meant-Be-Mine-Sarah-King-ebook/dp/B0195K8AFW

https://www.amazon.com/Blue-Twilight-Sarah-King-ebook/dp/B00ZG8BYF6

 

