Name  Neal Samuel Davies

Age 62

Where are you from I was born in a small town in New South Wales Australia but my parents moved to Melbourne when I was 4. Due to circumstances at home I left school at 14 and worked with my brother and father at a brick yard. At 40 I went back to school and became a counsellor and wrote my first book at 50 which was about communicating with teenagers.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I have just released the second in a series of murder mysteries which features a noted Psychologist turned super sleuth Sebastian Cork

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I had written small a lot of short stories when I was a very young boy and enjoyed writing poetry as well

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I wrote and self-published my first book The Galaxy Guide To Adolescents And The Alien within. It was picked up and utilized by a noted Psychologist and lecturer Michael Hawton.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

When I became a counselor it changed my life in many ways and I realized that I had not communicated or dealt with issues regarding my own teenage children as well as I could have, so I felt this was a book I needed to write to help other parents break down the barriers that I had encountered

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I believe I have created my own style with descriptive- simplicity, allowing my readers to engage without being overwhelmed.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The titles I come up with will be connected to the content of the books I write

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Most definitely, I would like them to see there is always a story within a story. My new murder mysteries aren’t just about murder and mayhem, they are also about personalities and issues that arise within relationships. The characters I write about need to be believable and capable of connecting with the reader.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

That’s an interesting question, many aspects of my books are based on a mixture of people and personalities I have encountered throughout my life, and I guess you can throw a piece of me in there as well. I guess you can compare it to a cryptic jigsaw puzzle

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle was a huge influence on my life as a young boy and definitely my reason for writing murder mysteries now

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

There is a couple of new authors that I have enjoyed recently; Sandip Roy and Kent Russell and of course my favorite all time author is Arthur Conan Doyle. Whether it is fiction, non-fiction, comical or dramatic, it’s the X-factor that leaves me wanting for more, where you feel you step out of one world and into another that is so believable it pushes your emotions to the surface

 

 

 

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I couldn’t if I tried, I have wonderful friends both on and off social media who have supported my journey from the beginning and I am grateful to each and every one of them

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, if someone should point out a constructive criticism about my book then I have learnt something I didn’t know and my next book will be better for it but every author puts their heart and soul into what they right and to deny the child you have created is to deny yourself

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

By reading adventure novels as a child and my mother would read to me as a small boy. The more I read, whether it is books magazines or even comics, the more I wanted to become a writer

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

The second in the Sebastian Cork series is Cut Down To Size. Sebastian who is now hired as a consultant to the police is called out to a murder scene where a legless body sits at the base of a tree. The chief of police is under pressure to get this murder solved quickly as it seems the killer has struck before. Sebastian not only has to try to find a serial killer in minimal time but deal with other issues that keep arising throughout the investigation.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I think like most writers I have to make a decision about when enough is enough and believe that when the manuscript is complete its time to let go.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No but I do love to travel and meet new characters that often end up in my books

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My wife and I normally come up with an idea and then we leave it to the computer people to work their magic

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Time and on the one I am working on at the moment I lost ten thousand words thanks to a computer glitch and had to start again

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

With each book I write I learn something new, so it varies from book to book

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

I have thought about this and came up with a few but lately I feel Kelsey Grammer would probably be my first selection. Although he is not seen so much in this type of role, many of his characteristics in the TV series Frasier have similarities to Sebastian Cork’s

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Keep going, listen to critics but don’t take it to heart and get the opinions of three readers who vary in their reading genres to read your manuscript before you do your final draft

 

 


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Yes thank you and please leave ratings and comments on Amazon. Our success depends on our readers and they should realize how important they are in the scheme of things

 

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Farewell to Father by Tim Elliot who is an award winning journalist.He writes about his father who suffered from mental illness

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Yes but the most influential was a copy of Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

A good book, a sad story, fact or fiction. I tend to be a mildly emotional person

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Definitely Arthur Conan Doyle his books were such a big influence on my life

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

I really don’t want a headstone. I would sooner have my ashes scattered

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Yes I paint from time to time and dabble in antiques

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Sherlock Holmes of course. Love The Blacklist and documentaries

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Seafood, Chinese, barbecues/ Blues and Ochre’s

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I have lived my dreams and I am grateful for what I have done

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

No just and authors page Neal Davies Authur at

https://www.facebook.com/Neal-Davies-Author-894311657349586/?pnref=lhc

https://www.amazon.com/Sebastian-Cork-Forget-Me-Not/dp/0980874858/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1466518557&sr=1-1&keywords=Neal+Davies

https://www.amazon.com/Cut-Down-Size-Sebastian-Novel-ebook/dp/B01FH1HWWA/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1466518557&sr=1-2&keywords=Neal+Davies

 

