Name: Eeva Lancaster

Age: Secret

Where are you from? Manila, Philippines

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I’m a happily married woman living in the Philippines with the love of my life. I’m the eldest of 4 siblings. I never thought I’d be in this business. Prior to venturing into freelancing and self- publishing, I was an Executive Assistant to CEOs. From suit to pajamas. Not a bad shift. But, maybe this is where I was really destined to be. Even as a child, I was already addicted to books. Nancy Drew got me started. I’m more comfortable with English than my native tongue. I think and swear in English. Thanks to my mom who didn’t allow me to read Filipino comic books, although I snuck in a favorite local horror comic book from time to time.

I’m an AB English graduate, and a Computer Programmer (Don’t ask what program. It’s obsolete now.) I’m a geek, technically. Love to read, play video games like Starcraft, Warcraft, PlayStation games. I love Trivia, and movies. A knowledge junkie.

But what I love the most is the ocean, aside from my husband. There’s nothing more calming for me than being under the sea with the fish. I could’ve been a mermaid in another life.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’m trying to finish my latest book, Love has a Reason. I want to launch it by August or September.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started out as a freelance writer. After ghostwriting several non-fiction books, and after going through a rough time when my mom died, I decided that I’d write about my experiences. I love How-To books. I’m a natural mentor, and enjoy sharing what I’ve learned.

 

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

The moment I received my first $1 for an article. THAT made me a professional writer. Someone was paying me to write. Awesome. Never mind that it was only for $1. My rate has gone UP since then.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Technically, my first book is You’re Getting Married Soon… Now What? My first release, In Loving You, is a collection of poems I wrote more than 20 years ago, so… it doesn’t count. YGMS was born when I finally had MY happy ever after. I made so many relationship mistakes before I settled down and got married.

I wanted to write about different life issues, and the NOW WHAT? Series was suggested by my husband. It’s like a FOR DUMMIES kind of book, except that it will deal with Life.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I like to talk to my readers. There’s no other way to discuss life except one on one.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Well… when we have a dilemma, the next question we ask ourselves is, now what? The series title will allow me to write about any topic, answering that question.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

If my books help just one person deal with their own problems, I’d be happy with that. I write non-fiction, on different topics. I guess my message to readers is… Read about how other people dealt with the issue you’re going through. Maybe it will shine a light, give you hope, show you a path, or just assure you that you’re not alone.

 

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

All my books are and will be based on my own experiences and observation. That is, until I write my first Fiction.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand has significantly influenced the way I think. I’ve never had a mentor. I made mistakes and learned things on my own. I’m a seeker of knowledge. Books are the only mentors I need. 🙂

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Among Indies, my favorites are Fionna Guillaume and Pandora Spocks. Some people are just born to write and entertain. They write Smart Erotica, meaning it’s not smut. All of their books have given me hours of pleasure, without the editor in me waking up. That’s rare when I’m reading Indie books.

I read anything good except for war books. Those I prefer to watch. Anne Rice, Stephen King, Jeffrey Archer, Dean Koontz, Steele, Collins, Ayn Rand — As long as a writer can take me into another world for a few hours, I’m happy.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Only the freelancing kind. Well, that’s because my writing is just something I do when I get a break from my projects. I’m The Book Khaleesi first before I’m Eeva, the writer. Maybe in the future, I can devote more time to writing and publish more books.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I’ve always loved the written word.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Love has a Reason is about breaking the myth of Unconditional Love in Relationships. A lot of people talk about how love should be unconditional and I’ve always felt strongly about that. Whoever started that idea is the cause of many failed relationships. I predict that I will get negative comments from many groups. But, who cares? Unconditional Love, there’s no such thing. Unless you can feel emotions without a reason – in which case, a psychiatrist is needed.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I do everything for my books. It’s what I do for a living.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Reliving the experience.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

If you’re going to venture into self-publishing, the first thing you have to accept, without a doubt – is that it’s a business. Where your books are your products. The End is only The Beginning of the many things you have to do to get your work noticed.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I have several books in my TBR since I’m judging in the 2016 Rone Awards. I also have The Menangle Virus by G.S. Bailey. And Editing/Reading SUICIDE SEEDS by Ken Fry, and Bliss by R.E.S Tidmore.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

It might have been a children’s book. I have a picture of me reading a book in the crib!

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

“Death is a cheater. There’s no other way Life could have brought this woman down.”

Or maybe just… Now What? Hahahaha!

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Snorkeling, Reading, Watching Movies, Road Trips, Designing Book Covers

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Supernatural, Game of Thrones, Modern Family, Grey’s Anatomy

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Food – I love Pizza and pastries.

Color – Black and Hot Pink.

Music – Enya, Smooth Jazz, Classical, R&B — anything except RAP

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I have a website that talk about Self-Publishing, Eeva Lancaster’s Desk

 

 

www.eevalancaster.com

And an Author Services Website, The Book Khaleesi

www.thebookkhaleesi.com

 

Link for YGMS – http://www.eevalancaster.com/p/youre-getting-married-soon-now-what.html

For Online Freelancer – http://www.eevalancaster.com/p/you-want-to-be-online-freelancer-now.html

In Loving You – http://www.eevalancaster.com/p/in-loving-you-52-poems-and-ballads.html

http://www.amazon.com/Eeva-Lancaster/e/B00OQM4WJS/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

 

