Name:    R. A. Monday

Age:  R. A. : 58

Where are you from:

R.A. : I was born in Mexico, raised in Anthony, NM and grew up in El Paso, TX.

A little about yourself `ie your education Family life et

R.A. : I have pasted the following from my website: Daughter of The Desert Sun.

  Raised in the arid desert southwest region of the United States, Raquel Monday  has been described as “Being the Southwest,” by a Los Angeles Documentary Film Maker, where she held her book signing of her book titled, Sandstorms & Sunsets and referred to as ” One Who Carries the Word Portrait Inside” by her Tribal Chairman for her writing abilities.

Raquel Monday is an inductee of Cambridge Who’s Who Hall of Fame, recipient of Professional of The Year in Arts, Media and Entertainment by Cambridge’s Who’s Who.  and has been voted one of Top Ten Authors on Facebook for three consecutive years by UP Authors. Raquel is a  published, multi-genre Author, Magazine Writer, Native American Art Designer, and an active Tribal Member and English/Spanish Translator for The Lipan Apache Tribe of Texas’ website: www.lipanapache.org . She was recently appointed Tribal Council Advisor and Bilingual Communications Liaison by her tribe, the Lipan Apache Tribe of Texas.

 

Raquel’s poetry is known in both the United States and in the U.K. where she was published by Noble House Publishers in 2003 and registered with the National Library of Congress in Washington D.C. Her books are now offered worldwide through Amazon.com. Raquel’s writing contributions, found in Native Hoop Magazine, and books are also located on display at the Heard Museum in Phoenix, AZ.

 

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

R.A. : My latest and one of my proudest achievements was collaborating with India’s Poet Prodigy, Abhishek Rath, on his recently published poetry book, Immortal Ink Bleed. I was asked to write the Introduction and Book Review (featured on the back cover). It was an honor and a pleasure collaborating with such a young and gifted Poet.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

R.A. : I began writing poetry at a very young age. Poetry intrigued me and it was romanticized back then, so I thought I would give it a try. I was around 12 when I wrote my first poem. I kept a journal where I would often write poetry entries and when I got to high school I took journalism and was on the school’s newspaper.  I was asked by the publisher and editor of the school’s yearbook to write three poems that would go with three photos they wanted to publish in the yearbook. That was the first time any of my work was published. Years later I entered poetry contests just to see if I could actually be published elsewhere. Several anthologies and awards later, I was encouraged to write a book. My first book was Faceless People; my second was The Singing Princess, both written under the pseudonym of Grace Avalon. My third book is Sandstorms and Sunsets. It depicts life events written in poetry form in both English and Spanish. It is written under R.A. Monday.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

R.A. : It wasn’t until the acknowledgement of my second book, The Singing Princess. Most recently it became a part of the Heard Museum in Phoenix, AZ. and listed in one of Amazon.com’s venues as a “collectible.”

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

R.A. : I was going through a difficult patch in my life and I was encouraged to write a book as a means of self-release. It is said that once you place things down on paper they are no longer a part of you. They no longer own you or control you. So I ventured to write my first book titled, Faceless People. I wrote it under the pseudonym of Grace Avalon to protect the innocent as well as the guilty at that time. This was the advice of a copyright lawyer.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

R.A. : No, I enjoy all kinds of genres and challenging myself.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

R.A. : Growing up I found that not everyone is who they seem to be on the outside, thus when faced with certain truths they change their faces to suit their purpose. They do not have one true face, thus making them “faceless”.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

R.A. : Yes, that no matter what life handles us, there are those who understand and will listen. Main thing is to hold on tight to God and never give up on life or love. Do not be afraid to speak up. Speaking up will take the power away from those that seek to hurt you. Step into the Light. You have a right to be heard. Pursue your passion. All you need is already inside of you.

 

 

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

R.A. : This book, Faceless People, is based on events in my own life. It will be going out of print soon, however, amazon.com still has a few copies left. I will be incorporating this book throughout my own Autobiography titled: Even the Rocks Have Stories, publishing date to be announced.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

R.A. : Books: The Little Lost Angel (as a child) and  Little Women. There are many that I consider mentors  because I enjoy reading all types of genres.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

R.A. : New Authors… I would have to say, Sebastian Cork, Troy Lambert, Beverly Cialone,  Gary Goldstein…the list is many. I love their passion, their honesty, their diverse writing styles.

 

 

 

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

R.A. : I am blessed to have more than one entity. For starters I would have to give credit to a very dear and supportive friend,  Rebecca Salcido-Orndorff, who has been there to help dispel the dark clouds that roll my way from time to time. However, there are many others  (and I hope they know who they are), without whom I could not have continued to write if it weren’t for their unwavering, unconditional, outpouring of love, friendship, support and belief in me, in who I am and in what I love to do.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

R.A. : I’m doing what I love and that’s writing, so hopefully it will lead to a long and fruitful career and if it doesn’t , no harm, no foul. I will continue from shear enjoyment of the craft, lol.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

R.A. : I would add more to my latest book, Sandstorms & Sunsets.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

R.A. : Writing is something that is either in you or not. I don’t remember any one specific moment. I have always had an interest in writing.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

R.A. : I am currently working on a paranormal/fiction thriller. It’s a bit out of my comfort zone but I like the challenge. I hope to make it into a Series of Four Books, main title being ,The Fourteenth Floor. It’s also based on some events in my own life, the unexplained. These events take place in a High-Rise Apartment in Virginia with ties to the Salem Witch Hunts and the First Americans.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

R.A. : When you attempt a different genre you try as much as possible to be believable in your work.

 

 

 


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

R.A. : No, these days you find much of the answers or answers to your research online. My travel is limited due to vision problems.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

R.A. : I did.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

R.A. : Tying the time sequences so it is easy to follow from time frame to time frame.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

R.A. : I learned that I can really get into the characters, Lol.

 

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

R.A. : Salma Hayek. I identify with her a lot in the movie “Fools Rush In” (one of my favorite). I see much of myself in that movie.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

R.A. : Don’t Ever Give Up! … “A Professional is an Amateur that didn’t give up.”

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

R.A. : Just a deep heartfelt thank you for being such great readers and fans. I couldn’t do what I do without any of you. You lift me up and give my spirit wings.

 

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

R.A. : I am actually in the middle of two, A Good Woman and Dancing With The Devil. I don’t get to read as often as I would like to though.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

R.A. : Yes, when I was a child books were a luxury and one Christmas a kind older lady gifted me with two. My first book was the Big Golden Books, The Kitten Twins. My second one was also a Big Golden Book, which I still own. It’s titled, Little Lost Angel (my favorite book).

 

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

R.A. : A good sense of humor will always make me laugh and Hallmark Movies are good at making me cry.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

R.A. : Past, my maternal grandfather. I didn’t get to meet him but I sure would have loved to listen to his stories. He was a Native American. I’m Lipan Apache and Hispanic.

 

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

R.A. : “She was everybody’s friend”….I have friends of all ages, ranging from 16 to 90. They are all precious to me.

 

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

R.A. : Yes, I enjoy photography, crocheting, cooking, crafting, and spending time with my family.

 

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

R.A. : This day and age I enjoy the 30-minute sitcoms, HallMark Channel Movies, some SyFy, Action, CSI Shows. My favorite movies are, Overboard!, Fools Rush In, Mamma Mia, etc.

 

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

R.A. : My favorite food is Mexican/ Color is Red/ and Music, Country, Soft Rock, the Oldies like Journey, Chicago, Reo Speedwagon, The Eagles etc.

 

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

R.A. : Before I became a Writer I worked in Law Enforcement and Medical.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

R.A. : My website is http://daughterofthedesertsun.shutterfly.com

 

Link to Faceless People book:

https://www.amazon.com/Faceless-People-Grace-Avalon/dp/1410794229/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1466273977&sr=1-2&keywords=Faceless+People

 

Link to The Singing Princess:

https://www.amazon.com/Singing-Princess-Grace-Avalon-ebook/dp/B005CDA1GI/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1466274063&sr=1-1&keywords=The+Singing+Princess+by+Grace+Avalon

Link to Sandstorms and Sunsets:

https://www.amazon.com/SANDSTORMS-SUNSETS-Multilingual-published-Paperback/dp/B009OBS6B6/ref=sr_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1466274104&sr=1-3&keywords=Sandstorms+and+sunsets

 

