Name Jason Blayne

Age 32

Where are you from Lesage, WV

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’m currently rewriting a new version to my second book of the Shadow Wolves series. Shadow Wolves Tears of Blood along with putting down ideas to shift genre’s and write in bot YA/NA and Adult Erotica.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Well this one in a little long but I started writing back in 1998 with a class assignment from the novel The Giver to create our own ending for the story and alongside my cousin-in-law our teacher entered out work that was published in a magazine back then. I really didn’t write too much from then but in mid-2000 I started writing music (rock, hip-hop) but that ended a few years later. After sometime I was talking with some coworkers about things I experienced as a teenager and they fell in love with the stories and brought my first set of characters to life which happen to have been me and old friends. So after some tweaking and coming up with some crazy ideas and remembering some decisions I made when presented with going another way I took a chance and thought about what could have happened and mixed it together with some real life scenarios and create Shadow Wolves.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

The moment my secret got out about the first book and people around my hometown who knew me started watching my social media tracking m progress. The thrill was not only exciting but something new woke up within me that I can’t ignore now and now it’s growing beyond just the region into a national and international presence for my small hometown with every reader.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My crazy past with friends and the decisions we made or had a chance to make but walked away. Everyone always wonders “what if” so why not put it to paper and create scenarios to those events and draw in the audience who can relate to those crossroads.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I’ll be honest I don’t with every part of the series I want to keep it fresh and change it to help draw in more readers and not attract only a specific type. I want to move people and bring in something new to the next generation of readers and hopefully inspire some future authors. Also in Youthful Inexperience you see life through the eyes of teenagers so it’ll be chaotic and random at times, a new way to experience life through someone else’s eyes.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I did intend on another title for this series. Troublesome Trio with book one entitled Troublesome Trio: Trials and Tribulations but after looking at how it appeared on a title it felt a little too long and not as eye catching as Shadow Wolves.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Youthful Inexperience draws you in to learn about their younger days and how actions have consequences and no matter how dark life seems when you’re trying to figure out who you are in this life there is always a way to find the light. Tears of Blood just action pack adventure with some out of this world revelations you didn’t see coming. Hallowed Whispers will fill in questions from both books.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Wow I feel like I’m repeating myself a little bit now, but it’s mixed together with aspects of my own past in the first book and then shifts into a fantastic world or fiction beginning from small town USA to traveling the world.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Tom Clancy I love his books (Sum of all Fears is my absolute favorite), JK Rowling and the way she demands your attention from the get-go I would love to sit down with her any day and just pick her mind being one of the best YA/NA authors.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I have so many friends here on the indie scene that it’s difficult. Julie Bailes was there to help me figure out the structure to my work. NJ Salupo his insight and guidance have been a great help along with his PA Jess Haney being there to help get my work out there some as well. Hilary Storm and her bright mind in her genre, and one of my best advisors Christa Lynn just talking back and forth keeping each other motivated and shooting ideas have opened up ideas I couldn’t fathom especially after I switch genre’s.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My wife before we were married way back when we were in high school together seen the writing on the wall so to speak and could always bring my best work forward. Also another old personal friend Emma Ramsey-Wilt has been huge in protmoting my work and bragging about how much she can dive into my character’s world every time she picks up her book.

 

 


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Every writer dreams this will happen, and I would love to be able to make this a reality because I have made myself a promise. “If” I ever become a worldwide bestselling author I will begin my own businesses and help create better careers rather than just dead-end jobs for people. I’ve always done for others and I want to help create better lives for people.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I might add in a new more things from the original manuscript to throw a few more curveballs at my readers. Best parts of the book still in my opinion, all of chapter 18 and the end.

 

 

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

8th grade, 1998 writing my own version to the end of The Giver.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Shadow Wolves Tears of Blood picks up 16 years after the end of Youthful Inexperience. Life has changed a lot for the famed trio, so much so they barely talk but a growing threat brings them back together and after missing pieces of the past begin to come to the surface things change the entire family, but with change comes new characters, the next generation with a new name or two associated with these youngsters. The invisible threat gets a name after years of disappointments for Josh searching anyway possible into the shadows of this criminal by a way he wouldn’t have ever considered but as his team digs deeper into the creepy world the more it’ll cost those around them when their cover is blown with an ending you will strangle me over.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Oh wow the challenges, as every writer bring those traits you envision out from your mind and hoping your audience sees them the ways you intend.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

For now, I’m going with places I’m familiar with but yes I would love to travel and learn more about the world to incorporate it all into my work.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I have two out of the four Shadow Wolves series covers but I have a great designer. Carey Abbott.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Creating the timeline, how much do I put into each year, how often do I describe the school scenes, do I limit the weekend parties, how crazy deep do the boys get into the underworld of cars before it becomes too unreal…

 

 


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Yes, how difficult it is to balance life of family time, work, extra activities PLUS writing as well. So my respect to those who can write without many distractions.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Now this I have joked and discussed with my wife many, many times but for the young version of my three lead characters I would pick the kid Girl Meets World that plays Lucas Fryer for one lead. As for the other two I’m certain Disney has the people available just not sure who at the moment.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Best advice I can give is never give up, find a person who you can rely on and shoot ideas with them. Get the feedback along with writing down characters and storylines. Hardest thing to do is come up with an entire world to pull into your series.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Keep an open mind, expand your horizon through indie authors as well as the big names, leave reviews, be honest in your reviews, even if it is not your cup of tea still suggest it to someone who might.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Wish I had the time to read other books, rewriting is tough and add in my son’s sports, work, family time it gets rocky to add in anything extra.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle (class assignment)

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Soldiers coming home to their kids and loved ones. Personal subject for me.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Tom Clancy, JK Rowling, Ronald Regan, Winston Churchill, if it’s history you bet I would love to meet them.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Jason Blayne- Even in death his smart ass is still getting the world. Because my characters and my stories will stand the test of time.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Import Tuning and racing, football

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

The CW Network’s DC shows…Supergirl, The Flash, Arrow, Third Watch, Nashville, Top Gear (US version)

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Tacos, Pizza, Boneless Buffalo Wings, Fries, and Pasta…Orange and Blue, and rock or hip-hop

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Written music professionally

 

 

 Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

https://www.amazon.com/Shadow-Wolves-Youthful-Inexperience-ebook/dp/B015DC4VPE

http://www.amazon.com/Jason-S.-Blayne/e/B00LDQWGPW

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/shadow-wolves-jason-s-blayne/1119899178

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/453000

 

