Name  Jackie Zack

Age  55

Where are you from Fort Wayne, Indiana

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

When I was in my twenties, I studied Commercial Art & Design and worked as a Graphic Designer for about ten years. I still enjoy painting and work in acrylics. I’ve always loved reading and wanted to become a writer. Writing fell into place after I became older. I have three adult children, two cats, and one doggie. 😀   

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

 I’m working on a Romantic Suspense: Way of the Raven. I also have a Romantic Comedy: X’ed on the backburner.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I enjoyed writing stories in high school but didn’t really think that being a writer was a possibility. Later, when I learned that I could write, I never wanted to stop.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

After I finished writing my first book, Rafe’s Café.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Rafe’s Café started out as a funny email to one of my friends. The email bounced back and forth with more added to it each time. Then I got an idea for the plot and I started writing two to ten pages each day, and each day handing it over to my friend. It was so much fun seeing her smile and laugh.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

 I write in 3rd person point of view, and there is always some sort of humor included through either the character or whatever situation they find themselves in.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title,

Rafe’s Café? Rafe is the main character’s name. His goal was to have his own restaurant, Rafe’s Café. Through a turning point in his life, he gave up his dream, but he still has the neon sign hanging in his kitchen. So in effect, Rafe’s Café is his essence.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes. 😀


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

 The whole story, characters, places and events are all made up. But I wrote the story as a type of band-aid for my own life, after coming out of a very difficult time.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

 C.S Lewis’s Narnia books made a huge impression on me. I bought my first one at a book mobile that came to my grade-school. His writing made my imagination soar. Most importantly, I could see and appreciate that he was a Christian writer. Then as I got older, I read his many other books.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Through the years, I’ve enjoyed Agatha Christie, Phyllis A. Whitney, Mary Stewart, Frank Peretti, Diane Mott Davidson, and Martha Grimes. What really strikes me about their work is that I can visualize each scene and just be completely lost in the stories. I can’t choose just one author. 😀


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

American Christian Fiction Writers helped me polish my writing and continues to help me improve.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

 Once a book is published, it is its own creature. I wouldn’t dream of changing it. Ha-ha!


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

When I was in grade school, I picked up one of my mom’s paperback mysteries and told her that when I grew up, I wanted to write books like that.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Way of the Raven is about a young woman in the Witness Protection Program. She meets an editor who quit his high profile job in NYC to fulfill his lifetime dream of writing a novel. He will eventually risk life and limb to protect her life.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Having time – and when I do have time, being able to actually write. (I have a full time job on the side.)


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I don’t travel, but I love looking up pictures in Pintrest, so I can get a real feel for the places.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

 I designed them.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

 Editing.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

 I learned that writing styles have changed over the years. I had to rewrite the book from omniscient point of view to 3rd person point of view which was no small undertaking.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

If An Irish Heart were made into a movie, I’d choose Colin O’Donoghue to be Aedan and Amy Adams to be Greta.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Repeat in a mumbling tone after me: “I’m a writer, I can change, if I have to, I guess.”


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I appreciate you and all of your kind words! Thank you!

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

 I’m juggling about three books right now. The Way of All Fish, by Martha Grimes. (Some of the characters have bad language – so I wouldn’t recommend it to most of my friends.) Till We Have Faces, by C.S. Lewis (Gut wrenching), Catering to Nobody by Diane Mott Davidson.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

 The Happy Hollisters

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

 Funny stories and funny pets make me laugh. An unloved child or unloved baby makes me cry.

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would like to meet and why?

Agatha Christie because I love her stories and admire her.

Fiona: What do you want written on your headstone and why?

 Check out my latest book. It’s to die for. (Why? Always the comedian – ha-ha!) (Of course, I’m not being serious here. I wouldn’t want anything unusual, or really even want a headstone. It’s irrelevant to me.)

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

 Reading, Painting, Decorating

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

 Science Fiction, Mystery, Action

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

 Italian / blue, purple, green / Enya, Contemporary Christian Music, my kids’ music 😀

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Be a famous artist and paint abstracts all day.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100008256105515

 

Twitter: Jackie Zack @jackiezack1

 

Email newsletter: jackiezack1@yahoo.com

 

An Irish Heart http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00V0WCOJ2

 

 

A Chance Mistake http://www.amazon.com/dp/B011F1NSL0

Rafe’s Café http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01CD46KNG

 

