Name RT Graham

Age 58

Where are you from   

I grew up in a small town in the San Francisco Bay Area named Portola Valley, and now live in a tiny historical gold rush town in the Northern California Sierra foothills. That‛s probably why most of my books thus far take place in small towns. I‛m most comfortable there.

 

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I married my high school sweetheart almost 35 years ago, and we have one son who‛s close to receiving his Ph.D. I‛m also a mom to our toy poodle and two rescue cats. 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My fourth book, ESSEX VALLEY, is close to publication. I‛m both excited and nervous, as I‛ve been with all the others.

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?  

Being a shy person, I‛ve found it not only cathartic, but a more comfortable way to communicate some feelings and desires. My characters say or do for me what I sometimes find difficult.

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer? 

When I held my first book, MISSING ELIZABETH, in my hands.

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?  

Elizabeth literally lived in my head for more than a decade, screaming at me to tell her story. I know writer‛s jokingly claim they “hear voices”, but in my case, it‛s true.

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?  

I‛ve been told I write “like I talk”.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?  

“Missing Elizabeth”, “I miss you, Elizabeth,” etc., are lines used throughout the book. The title was obvious.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?  

That story is one of hope, courage and faith in oneself, during your darkest times. I believe the reader can easily grasp this.

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?  

No, it‛s a completely fictional story.

 

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?  

Reading multiple genres, that‛s impossible to answer. I will say, I can‛t remember the last book I didn‛t read cover-to-cover. In my opinion, a book doesn‛t need to be perfect; I just like to be entertained.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?  

I can‛t say I have a “favorite” author, but I enjoy Jon Krakauer very much. His writing style is an easy read and “Into Thin Air” was one of my favorites. I also enjoy Linda Castillo‛s “Kate Burkholder” mysteries, and the way she‛s incorporated the Amish community with today‛s modern world.

 

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.  

My small community! No matter where I go, someone will ask me about my current work-in-progress.

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?  

I sure hope to!

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?  

Being a perfectionist, that answer will probably always be “yes”. But again, I remind myself that books, like movies, are to entertain, and I always have to ask myself, have I accomplished that?

 

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?  

In high school, I was disappointed to have been placed in what was known as the “worst” Creative Writing class, with the “worst” teacher, but after two weeks, I realized how much I not only enjoyed the class, but the teacher was a great cheerleader, and taught me much that semester. I‛ve enjoyed writing ever since.

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?  

I‛m in the first “write-and-research” stage of my next work-in-progress, about two people who, after terrible heartbreaks, move to Alaska for lives of solitude, only to discover they‛re both fleeing the same fears. Together, they learn that, instead of hating and living lives of loneliness, perhaps they can help each other heal.

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?  

Being a perfectionist, I‛m never satisfied. I know of a writer that completes and publishes a book in one week! I‛m lucky to publish within one year. I‛d like to improve that… but I also believe it‛s the quality that counts, not the quantity.

 

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?  

No.

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?  

At this stage, my budget is small. My son helps me design them, after I‛ve chosen the artwork and the fonts I‛d like.

 

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?  

Editing. Somewhere I have to draw the line because again, being a perfectionist, it could go on forever.

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?  

Yes! First, follow your dreams, and second, that you‛ll never please everybody, no matter how hard you try, so don‛t lose sleep over it.

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead  

If they ever make my short story, Isle of OZ, into a movie, MAX MARTINI would be the perfect Zackariah Steele!!!

 

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?  

Write what‛s important to YOU, not what everyone else is writing, and don‛t worry about reviews.

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?   

First, I hope you enjoy my books! And second, exactly the opposite from the question above: Writers love reviews! If you enjoyed the story, we‛d sure like to hear about it!

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?  

PREDESTINED HEARTS, by Kelly Elliott

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?  

I sure do! Winnie the Pooh was the first that was ever read TO me, and The Kitten Who Barked, by Louis Untermeyer, was the first I ever read all by myself. I still have both! I‛ve saved them, to read to my own grandchildren someday.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?  

Being a true romantic, almost anything.

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?  

Katharine Hepburn. She was one tough cookie, back when Hollywood was a “man‛s world”, and I love how she never gave an inch, yet never lost her class or style. She‛s an inspiration to this day.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?  

“Her last priority was herself.” Self-explanatory.

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?  

I dabble in crafting, and I love to cook.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?  

My two favorite TV shows right now are Hawaii 5-0 and Blue Bloods, but I have an extensive collection of ‘60 – ‘90 TV series on DVD that I watch continuously. Also, Under The Tuscan Sun is a movie I‛ve watched probably 50 times, and I still cry during the last 15 minutes.

 

 Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music  

Loving to cook, I can‛t say I have a “favorite” food, although I make a killer baked macaroni and cheese! My two favorite colors are purple and royal blue, and while I have an eclectic taste is music, my two favorites are Bob Seger and the Eagles.

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?  

Forensic science is a fascinating field, and I possibly would‛ve been involved in that.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?  

My blog is new; I‛m still working on it but it can be found here: https://rtgrahamwriter.wordpress.com/

Amazon Authors page

USA http://www.amazon.com/R.T.-Graham/e/B00N4XZX20/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1464994828&sr=1-2-ent

UK http://www.amazon.co.uk/R.T.-Graham/e/B00N4XZX20/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1464994906&sr=1-2-ent

 

