Name  Ariel Marie

Age 36

Where are you from: Cleveland, Ohio. USA

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc.  

My official education is in nursing. I am currently a registered nurse for one of the top hospitals in the United States and I take great pride in that. My official title is Transplant Coordinator and I specialize in kidney and pancreas transplant. I have been a nurse for about 11 years and I absolutely love it! Aside from nursing, I am a full time wife and mother to three children who keep me extremely busy! This summer, my husband and I will be celebrating our 10-year wedding anniversary.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

The latest news from me is that I am releasing TWO books in my Dark Shadows series on June 4, 2016!  Phaelyn (The Dark Shadows 2.5) is the official novella in the series and Teague (The Dark Shadows 3) is the next full-length addition to the series. Releasing two books on the same day has been exciting and I’m looking forward to reading the reviews from the readers.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

It’s funny that you should ask. I have always had an active imagination. I would have these ideas in my head of stories and characters that demanded to get their story told. Or, I would be listening to music and would be inspired by the song and would have an idea for a book. Two years ago, I finally decided to dabble in writing and see what I could produce. The first story that I wrote was Power of the Fae, the first book in the Mirrored Prophecy series.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I think it actually hit home, when I received my first proof of my book, Power of the Fae in my hands. It seemed unreal that I could have produced something so beautiful.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I was leaving work one night and saw a quote. To summarize it, the quote said something along the lines of “Write the book, you would want to read.” That had me thinking. I was in a slump of finding books that would hold my interest. I had the idea of Power of the Fae in the back of my mind. At the time, I didn’t have a title but had an idea of a strong Fae woman who had to deal with a prophecy. I sat down and began writing the idea out and before I knew it, I had plotted out half of the book!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

To be honest, I feel that I’m still learning what my official style is! I know, I know! I’m about to publish my 7th and 8th books but I feel that writing is an ongoing learning experience.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Most times, I do not have a title while writing the book. I wait and see what comes of the story. For my Dark Shadows series, that was easy. I just named the books after the main characters of each book. With the Mirrored Prophecy series, I was about 2/3 of the way done with the first book before it literally hit me! Power of the Fae, Fight for the Fae and the last one I’m working on now will be Future of the Fae.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I am a paranormal romance writer so do I have a message? One may think that romance books may not have messages in them but mine does. The main message in my books is that true love does exist!

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Since my focus is paranormal romances, most of them are all fantasy and made up in my imagination. Occasionally, I may use something that someone around me has said and put it in the book.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I’ve read so many books that it is hard for me to pinpoint one book that has influenced me. I have truly been embraced by the indie author world and I have met so many people along my journey in self-publishing. I can honestly say that if I needed help or an opinion on something, there are a ton of people I could ask and they will make sure that they help me!

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I’m not sure if we have enough time for me to talk about all of the new authors that I have discovered. I can tell you from experience that the indie author world is overflowing with wonderful authors who don’t get as much exposure as the big name traditional published authors. Most of my new favorite authors are all indie published!

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

This hands down would be the indie publishing community!

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Writing as a career? I wish I could make it my full time job. For now, I consider it to be my second job and hope I can make it to where it would be considered a full time career. There are many late nights where I’m up, writing because I don’t have time to do it during the day. Don’t get me wrong, I love my current job as a nurse, but it would be nice to be able to write full time!

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

My last release was Summer’s Destiny, which was an erotic vampire novella. Would I change anything? I don’t think so. Reading the reviews for it, I guess I should have made it a full-length book because everyone loved Summer and Ryan’s story!

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I became curious when I started following an author online. It was the first time I had exposure to the indie author world. I didn’t even know there was such a thing. I thought everyone had to go through a traditional publisher to get their books published. Once I heard about the indie community, I really began to think that I could publish a book. So I started researching how to publish independently and a year and a half later, here I am! An indie author who is about to release her 8th book!

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I have a few projects that I am working on now. I am in the process of finishing Future of the Fae, which is the last book in my Mirrored Prophecy series. This book includes tons of paranormals! Fae, Witches, Shifters and Demons!! Book three, FOTF, will be epic! This series one would have to read in order.

I am currently finishing the Dark Shadows series. This series is based on a vampire royal family who are in the midst of a war with their mortal enemies, the necromancers. Each installment follows either a family member or a member of the Dark Shadows, vampire warriors charged with the responsibility of protecting the vampire nation! This series consist of 6 standalone books.

One other book that I am just starting will be the first of a three book series. I haven’t really released any details of this series yet, but I’m anticipating the first one to release sometime early 2017! More information to come soon!

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

One thing that I find challenging is keeping my books fresh. I don’t want someone to read my books and be bored with them. Yes they are paranormal romance books, but mine will pack a punch with action too!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I will be doing a couple of book signings this fall. Next year, I am lining up some as well. Hopefully, I can get out there to mingle with my readers. I am looking forward to not only meeting my current readers but new ones to come!

 

 


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I have used a few people to design my covers. The first book in the Dark Shadows series, Princess, was done by The Cover Collection. The rest of the Dark Shadows series and the Mirrored Prophecy was done by Natasha Snow of Natasha Snow Designs. Summer’s Destiny was actually done by me! I took a leap and decided to try my hand at designing a cover. It is hard work to do covers and I have much respect to cover designers!

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Honestly, the hardest part of writing my book was knowing when to end them. I have so many ideas with my books but I know that they have to end somewhere!

 

 


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that my imagination is wilder than I thought. That’s one thing I enjoy about the paranormal world. I can make stuff up and no one can tell me that I’m wrong.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

I’m a big fan of Kate Beckinsale! I would love her to play any of my characters from my books!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Have fun with writing. No one can tell you how to write your story. Just write from your heart and the story will flow!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

First I have to say that my readers rock! Keep your kindles charged!! There will be plenty more from Ariel Marie!

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m currently in between books right now. I just finished reading the Ridin’ Dirty: An Outlaw Author Anthology. All of the proceeds for this anthology is being donated to Project Semicolon!

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I can remember way back when I was five years old and I read a book called Mickey Meets the Giant! LOL! This was one of my favorite books as a child. I actually purchased it when I began having children so that they can enjoy the same books I did as a child!

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would have to say that I would love to meet President Obama. Not only will he go down in history as a President of the United States but he will always be known as the first BLACK President of the United States. That’s big! To be the first person to break that color barrier in the land of the free, is really amazing and I would love to be able to meet him.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

For my headstone– She followed her dreams. Whenever it is my time to go, I want people to know that I had dreams in life and I didn’t hold back from trying them. I don’t want to regret not trying to do what I dreamt of doing. I dreamt of being a nurse and I accomplished that. I dreamt of getting married and having a family. I accomplished that. Publishing a book- I did that. I think that this is important. I want my kids to know that if there is anything in life that they want to do, they should do it!

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I love going on road trips. My family and I try to go on one a year. If I could travel a few times out the year, I would be in heaven. Our goal is to make it to every state in the USA! Hopefully soon I can start international traveling! That is my goal!

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

For movies, I love anything action packed! Throw some paranormal in there and I’m sucked in!! For television shows, I love comedies. My favorites right now is the show Blackish, The Big Bang Theory, Modern Family and Family Guy!

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music?  

My list of favorite foods is anything sinfully bad for you! I love to cook and I’m always trying new recipes I find on Pinterest! Favorite color is hot pink! As for music, I’m big on R & B, but love other genres too!

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

That’s a hard one. I have a lot of things I am interested in. So besides being a nurse, wife and mother, I think I would try to do something with photography. I love grabbing my camera and taking pictures of nature. Something about capturing nature’s beauty calls to me.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I do have a website. Readers can find me at www.thearielmarie.com! I am also on social media on FB at www.facebook.com/authorarielmarie    I’m on other social media sites but those are the two that I use the most!

Twitter: https://twitter.com/the_ArielMarie

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/arielmarie_author

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/the_arielmarie

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/authorarielmarie

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/+ArielMarieauthor

 

My website is www.thearielmarie.com

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00WB1SBFC

Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/ariel-marie

