Name Aria Peyton

Age 21 again!

Where are you from Originally from Adelaide, but lived in Victoria most of my life. Oh, country? AUSTRALIA!!!

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

Mum to 3 girls, I live in country Victoria. I have a Diploma in Prof. Writing and Editing which helps both facets of what I do most of. I’m a taxi for my kids, and I love helping out at their school in class 2 days a week.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Currently attempting to write 2 books and writing plots for them plus the other things that spring up in my head. Have some other news that I can’t reveal yet.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I can’t remember exactly when I started, but consciously started about 16 years ago I guess. I enjoy it! I wrote articles for newsletters, created stage plays, and video scripts for Work for the Dole projects (back when they were pretty good) and went back to school and then went from there.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I was about halfway through Entrusted, I reckon.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first published book I’ll go on here (the first story I wrote was looooooong ago) 2am has funny muses and I wrote 2 pages of really smutty stuff. Sent it to a friend and she wanted more. It wasn’t actually for another 6 months I think that anything else actually came to me for that story. I have a stack in the files though inspired by anything from dreams and wishes, to dust bunnies under the bed.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

My own?! I just write what comes naturally.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Fluke mostly for Entrusted. I’d gone through about 5 working titles before I came up with the series title, then groaned because it was meant to be a standalone, and once I realized some characters my kids had helped me with would do for the rest of the books and the titles came at me like a freight train.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I didn’t write it with a message in mind, but given it has rape and subsequent recovery in it, I’d say that any message would be for any survivors (not victims) to seek help and don’t let any professional bully you. Vanessa struggles with finding someone who will listen to what troubles her, but each shrink keeps trying to talk about her parents’ death. That’s not what she needs to talk about. Finally, she finds one who actually listens and finds an alternative therapy to get her through it. My BFF was a model for this, as all of her therapists wanted to talk about her adoption, rather than allowing her to purge what she went through being gang raped.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Portions! The rest is imagination. The setting is real, Frankston is on the Mornington Peninsula in Victoria. The legends of panthers down through Gippsland are real (and I’ve seen one too, so the legends are true!).

 

 


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I drew on the experiences of others. Off the top of my head, there are three friends whose life/job/experiences I drew from. The therapist is based on a friend, the artwork in the waiting room belongs to another friend, as before, my BFF provided a background for Vanessa.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? A mentor?

Not so much book influence that I can think of.
As far as mentors go, RE Butler was instrumental in kicking my butt to keep writing the things I started and to have faith in myself. She told me to just write and to finish what I wrote. Evie Harper has been a great friend to me as well. Both RE and Evie’s prodding and encouragement helped me immensely. I’m now paying that forward by helping out an emerging author who just submitted her first manuscript to a publisher!

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Just finished Chloe’s Double Draw by Fiona Archer (finally got to read it!)

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

To be honest, I sometimes can’t tell who’s new and who’s not!  I’m helping my friend/emerging author to finish her multitude of started stories though! Becca L’Amour will be one to watch for.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

Currently working on Encumbered, which is book two of the Coal Creek Shifters series, and Enslaved, which is the Christmas special of the same series. I’ve made notes for about 4 other books to write recently, as well as attempting to plan collaborations with 2 other author friends in separate ventures.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My friends have been my only supporters. One good friend turned into a beta then critique partner—she’s great at telling me when things don’t work and hounds me to write more! I have a couple of author friends too who have been amazing with their support.

Most of my family don’t know what I do. But my mum and cousin say “I have potential”. Fingers crossed!

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

It’s a passion that could turn into a career if I’m fortunate. It would be nice, but I’ll never be mainstream in content, so that’s probably a pipe dream. Plus, I don’t seem to have a marketing bone in my body!

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Probably! I wouldn’t skip detail to save word count. Some people add filler to make it longer, I think I skipped things to keep it shorter (and it’s still 98K!)

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Nope. I’ve been writing stories since I was able to form words on paper.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Erm… Here’s the prologue I shared to my newsletter list. It’s just over 500 words long so I’m not sure if that’s too long for you. It’s the start of Encumbered, book 2 in the Coal Creek shifters series.

Prologue

He bunched a fistful of hair in his grip and held her firm.

“That’s it, bitch. Choke on it. You deserve it for what you did to my brother.” The woman with long, black hair before him looked at him through tear-filled eyes, begging without words to be set free.

But he’d never let her go. After all, he’d never let any of them go.

He grabbed her face with both hands, fingers holding cheeks and ears, his thumbs coming together to compress each nostril. Her eyes flared wide with panic as he shoved his cock deeper into her throat, cutting off all air supply.

His grin was evil as he held her struggling form in his grasp, thrusting into her mouth as hard as he could. The sensation of her gag reflex kicking in stimulated the head of his cock along with his driving rhythm, until he came down her convulsing throat. As his seed left his body and the struggling waned, he mused that the challenge wasn’t what it used to be now that he tied their hands behind their backs.

Something about them trying to scratch and claw their way free turned him on. Perhaps he’d allow the next one to use her hands on him.

The thrashing subsided and he looked down to watch the life drain from her eyes, blood vessels bursting as she haemorrhaged. He kept looking into the woman’s dead eyes as he slid his cock from her slack mouth, moving his hands so he could hold her up by her hair. He yanked her panties from his pocket and stuffed them in her mouth, shoving them in as far as they would go.

The woman’s body dropped to the packed earth when he let her go, freeing his hands to tuck his flaccid cock back in his jeans and zip them up, sliding the button home. She lay staring at him with lifeless orbs as he took the steps to reach the back of his ute. The foldable shovel in there was the perfect tool—usually packed away with camping gear and other such benign objects.

He scouted the area for his previous markers and found a place he hadn’t used yet. He sank the head of the shovel into the softer earth here and dug until the stars had moved considerably in the sky.

When it was deep enough, he dragged the woman by her hair over to the hole and dumped her in it. He hummed quietly to himself as he filled in the hole then swung the shovel to and fro as he wandered to a nearby creek. He washed his hands and the shovel, then stuck it in the bank of the creek, coating it in mud. Bending down, he carefully selected a rock from the creek bed, returning to the ute as he tossed the rock over and over in his hand.

He placed the rock on the freshly dug earth and smiled to himself before dusting off his clothes and climbing into his ute to drive off.

In the rear-view mirror, the moonbeams caught on fifteen creek rocks, the latest one shining the brightest.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Researching the situations I’ve mapped out for characters. I’ll probably end up on a government watch list for book 3 in the series. Giving myself a facepalm for thinking up plots that will take epic amounts of research to write! Latest one…plane crash. Yay me.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I don’t one favourite anymore, but if I really had to choose, I can’t go past Eve Langlais. I can always guarantee a laugh reading her work and a HEA. Happily go back to her books.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Signings are always soooo far away, but so much fun and worth every kilometre!

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I did! All my covers, promos, teasers, banners. All mine.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Other than finding the time? It took 18 months from start to publish. The breaks in between being able to sit and write and then finding major continuity flaws (which I fixed!). The downtime screws with the flow and voice I think.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Don’t try and rush!  I set myself a deadline to make sure I followed through and I got so busy with other things I had to rush parts of the process to get it published. Read it until you’re sick of it. Fix anything that needs it. Don’t publish until you’re happy with it.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Just do it! And ask other authors lots of questions. Most of them are more than happy to answer what you’re asking. Ask for feedback, ask for information, ask, ask, ask!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Enjoy the crazy stuff that springs from my brain!

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Memory doesn’t stretch back that far for a tangible memory, but I’ve been told I used to read The Spooky Old Tree to my dad when I was about 2 or 3. Winnie the Pooh would be one I remember reading myself, and the stories published by Serendipity Press.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My kids make me do both.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

Mental blank on this! There are probably a heap, and whittling it down to one may take a while

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

LOL! I’ve never thought about it! I know what song I want at my funeral, but I’d never considered a headstone. You’ve given me something to think about.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

It used to be scrapbooking, but I have so little time and space, it fell by the wayside. I really would love to do that again as it’s my favourite way to organize photos of my kids. Listening to music is essential and I miss having my stereo cranked high.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I don’t get to watch much TV. Haven’t sat down and watched anything significant in the last few years. I’ll get to see a movie occasionally, or sit with NetFlix on while sewing things for swag. I love the Fast and Furious movies and recently got to see the 7th.  I am a big fan of Labyrinth, The Princess Bride and The Goonies. But really, my list of things to watch is as varied as the music I like!

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Cheesecake—passionfruit flavor.

Purple, Silver, and rainbows!

I love a wide range of music ranging through the last 5 decades. I have parents who were deeply into music and exposed me to a huge range of music from their generation, as well as discovering more on the radio once I discovered what the FM dial was!

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I tried my hand at radio—did 5 years on community radio. I’ve always been a bit up in the air about what I want to do, but if it involves music and words, I’m happy.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.ariapeytonauthor.weebly.com There’s a blog section too 😀

 

www.amazon.com/author/ariapeyton

https://plus.google.com/+AriaPeyton

www.facebook.com/ariapeyton

www.facebook.com/authorariapeyton

www.twitter.com/ariapeyton

www.instagram.com/authorariapeyton

