Name : Renea Porter

Age: 38

Where are you from: born in Va, raised in OH and live in PA

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  :

Im married (celebrating my 15th wedding anniversary and we still act like newlyweds. I have a step son who I’m super close too that I refer to as the computer wizard.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Im releasing a book on May 13th. It’s the one book that is the most personal to me. Titled: The Year I met August

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Ive been creating stories in my head for years. Only started putting pen to paper in 2014

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I released my first book

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The characters were in my head for a solid TWO years and finally I had to tell their story. They wouldn’t leave me be. 😀

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I don’t follow the popular trends. I write what I want to read. REAL love stories. And I try to stay realistic as possible as well.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

My titles are pertain to the storyline. For instance Coming Back to You was about a war vet coming home from the war, and making amends with the girl her left behind.

 

 


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

The Year I Met August, my message was to never settle just because you love someone, it doesn’t mean love is enough. But, what if love was enough?

 

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Oh gosh, we are getting personal here. So as I mentioned The Year I Met August is based on REAL events, however, it is fiction to tailor to the characters. But it is my most personal book. I’d like to believe we’ve all been Murphy (female MC) at one point in time.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Melissa Stephens is the first person who I consider a mentor. She helped me immensely with my first book.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I’m a BIG fan of Tarryn Fisher, because her stories are the least expected.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Fellow authors and the book community

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Maybe one day

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. They show how I’ve grown as a writer.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Because I love book so much, and there were some themes I didn’t see much of and wanted to read.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Not yet. Im still deciding what to put out next (between two books).

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Researching your information (for instance PTSD for Coming Back to You. Because you want to make sure to that your characters portray their characteristics correctly.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I have a few designers I go to. I don’t stick with one person.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Keeping the momentum.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

From my latest one was that sometimes love is enough.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead.

Coming Back to You, Katie Cassidy for Maura, and Taylor Kinney for Pierson.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Always dream big. Never stop doing what you believe in. Be ORIGINAL. I cannot stress that last one enough. Don’t follow the themes that are popular just because you think that’s what will get you to the top.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

That they are AWESOME!!

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Cross Check by Colleen Masters

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Old Yeller

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Sad stories, character deaths and lovey dovey stuff.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Elvis Presley. Who wouldn’t want to me the king? He broke all kinds of molds in music and society.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Loving Wife, Stepmom and lover of books.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Reading and reviewing books. I particularly love romance books.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Hope Floats (movie), Vampire Diaries, Nashville, The Originals, The Girlfriend Experience, The Affair etc. Im a TVaholic

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Foods: Spaghetti, Meatloaf, and cake! Colors: Purple, Pink and Red. Music: Pop and rap

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Read, that was my first hobby/love. I already work a full time job outside the home.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? https://www.facebook.com/AuthorReneaPorter

Amazon Authors page http://www.amazon.com/Renea-Porter/e/B00IIYZ3PC/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_book_1

 

