Name: Jöel J. Gerber

Age: 36

Where are you from

I am from Hurricane, WV. Now residing in Charleston, WV.  Growing up Hurricane is where that took place. I began writing when I was five years old and I started writing poetry. Through the years I continued writing poetry up until three years ago, when I published my very first poetry book which was a dedication to the memory of my father. Since then, I have tried my hand at philosophy and novels. My books thus far, are, Poetry from The Beat of a Heart: In Words Combined To Make “The Art”, Dangerous Curves which is a mystery romance novel and the first in a series which will be followed by the prequel which is On My Way To You and then the sequel The Road You Leave Behind. My other books are The Poetic Side of Me and The Journey into A Poet’s Muse.

 

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I have just released this week The Poetic Side of Me Volume One and The Journey into a Poet’s Muse which is half philosophy and half poetry.

 

 


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing at the age of five. I am not entirely sure why I started writing I just know one day out of the blue it just happened and I’ve done so ever since.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I first considered myself a write the moment I started writing philosophy and then my novel. I used to think that I was merely just a poet but that is not the case anymore.

 

 

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first book came to me when I was half asleep and I just started typing and then I saved what I typed and when I woke up in the morning I realized that I had written my first chapter in what would be Dangerous Curves.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Not really. I write in the way that many can relate and that is the best way I know how to explain.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

It just came to me. I would like to think that God inspires me to do the things I very much enjoy.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes, there is. Even the things that people may think are impossible may actually be possible as long as you do your best with who you are and what you have.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

90%. Jayse would be like myself and Camille is very close in comparison with my fiancée in real life.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

When I was in Middle School my theater teacher Mrs. McCracken influenced me a lot as well as my other teachers and my family and friends.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Yes there is two. Casey L. Bond and Rachel Brownell. Casey and I went to school together and she has some wonderful books. Such as Devil Creek and Shady Bay.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Allison Stephenson, she is my fiancée and she believes in me and I love that.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, I do.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No I would not. It does exactly what I wanted it to do and I am proud of it.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

It originated at five when I started writing poetry.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Yes, I can. In Dangerous Curves, it is basically the reconnection of two people who do not realize they were once connected due to circumstances that made them forget the part of their lives when they were teenagers and young adults.

 

 


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Sometimes staying concentrated doesn’t come easy.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No I do not but maybe in the future I will.

 

 


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Most of the covers I have done myself.

 

 


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Trying to get it to come together was getting my book to come together.

 

 


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that I was no longer a poet…I was a writer.

 

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Benjamin Walker as Jayse Dillon and Kirsten Dunst or Sarah Michelle Gellar as Camille Henderson.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

The best advice I can give is to not ever give up. Always do your best with what you have and who you are.

 

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I was reading The Choice

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The first book I read was a Goosebumps book. As a kid, I was a big fan of R.L. Stine.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

The same as what makes most laugh/cry

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Nicholas Sparks so we can discuss his books together. He is a very talented author and I enjoy his books and movies so much.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ? 

Here lies a man who’s done the best he could with who he was and what he’s had.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Rock Collecting and Stamp Collecting

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I enjoy watching Nicholas Sparks movies and NCIS, Psych, Murder She Wrote

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

My favorite foods would have to be green beans, mashed potatoes, grilled chicken, meat loaf and pizza. My favorite color is green and I like most genres of music but country is my favorite.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would have liked to be a singer.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Yes, I do have a blog and my blog is located here. https://authorjoeljgerber.wordpress.com/

http://www.amazon.com/Poetic-Side-Me-1/dp/1533293236/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1463634075&sr=1-1

 

http://www.amazon.com/Poetry-Beat-Heart-Words-Combined/dp/1499339216/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1463634075&sr=1-2

 

 

