Name: Hannah R. More

Age: 56

Where are you from?

Me: I was born in St. Louis, MO; but moved to Santa Fe, NM when I was 13.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc.

Me:  I am currently single, been divorced for over 12 years. I have three grown children. Two boys and one girl. My girl is currently in a PhD program in Genetics in Chicago and will soon be traveling to Jordan for a weeks vacation with friends. My sons are multi-faceted guys who can build or fix anything! Houses, cars, electronics, you name it, they can do it.

I however, have a black thumb and can’t grow a thing to save my life. And I would rather do my taxes than exercise. I love God and am a very religious person. But I make a point of trying not to judge others and keep an open mind when it comes to inter-religious cooperation and peace activities. When I am not writing I read, watch movies and care for my elderly mom.

For over twenty years, when I was married, I lived ‘off the grid’ in a house we built with our own hands. We had solar power and had to haul water from 5 miles away for ten years before we could drill a well. And my first child was a home birth with a midwife.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Me: I am currently writing the sequel to Day’s Son. This continues the story of my heroines best friend, Dr. Megin Ramirez, and the other two hybrid vampires we met in the first book. Day’s Son focused on the Vampire King who became a hybrid through illegal experimentation against his will and the human detective Emily Connelly who joins with him to solve his mystery.

There will only be the one sequel, Day’s Daughters. Then I will continue writing on a few other very different stories: a contemporary romance, a contemporary Elf fantasy and a Dragon epic.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Me: I always wrote, but having kids and a family took all my creative energy. It wasn’t until I had a dream one morning after recovering from a month of homelessness that I started writing down what became Day’s Son. Over the course of another month I wrote by hand in those composition notebooks about two thirds of the story. I wrote ten hours a day, at least, sometimes non-stop. It was a time where I felt almost possessed by the story and just couldn’t stop.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Me: When I was 8 years old I found a poem written by Hannah More and thought it was a sign! She was a religious author in the 1700’s or 1800’s. Anyway, I was fascinated and have always kept stories going in my head. Now I have the time and freedom to put them to paper.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Me: I don’t know! I know I am getting some criticism from a few friends to change my writing style in a few places. I think they don’t like where I write the way people speak, instead of sticking to proper spellings and grammar. I dropped out of school after 8th grade and later got my GED. However I did go to St. John’s College in Santa Fe, a classical Liberal arts college where I learned ancient Greek and had to translate to English! I got very good grades and none of my professors complained of my writing style. There you would write a paper in a math class!

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Me: I wanted the title to have something to do with the fact that a vampire could now be alive and see the day again. At first I considered Daybirth, but changed it to Day’s Son. Part of my thinking is that the Vampire King believes vampires were created by God for a purpose and are ‘children’ of God, therefore he is a ‘son’.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Me: I try to write about love and marriage centered on God. That sexual love is beautiful and created by God for a couple to enjoy without shame or judgement, but that that kind of true love can only come within a committed eternal relationship. Hence, the only sex I write is between married couples. I also want to show a natural organic relationship between people and the internal mind where they meet God.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Me: Well the sex descriptions are based on my own experiences! But all the characters are a little bit of me. The names are from people I knew in my life, my best friends from my childhood, Emily and David.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Me: The first has to be The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings. It was the first time I read something that was so magical! I was transformed into another world and discovered I could escape the miserable reality of my life at the time, at least for a while. Then my studies of different religions and their writings. I was raised atheist and was fascinated by the different teachings and religious beliefs of others. I absolutely love C.S. Lewis, the man, and was greatly influenced by The Great Divorce. My writing is very different, of course. I don’t really have a mentor.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Me: There are so many! I have to say Patricia McKillip, Patricia Briggs, Rob Thurman and Ilona Andrews are my CURRENT favorites. I love the honest expression of dark emotions and strength, especially for kick-ass women! Women can have dark emotions and desires that are honest and powerful without being bad or wrong. These authors portray that side of human nature without making it synonymous with evil.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Me: The only one who has never let me down is God. I don’t want to get into details, but I have been betrayed, neglected, abused and thrown away by most of the people in my life, those who should have been there for me and weren’t. You could say I know have trust issues. I don’t get close to people easily. So I have gone it alone.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Me: I see writing as my happiness, my freedom, my sanity. If it makes money, then yay! I would like it to be a career, but I write because it makes me happy. It is the only thing that does and that doesn’t depend on another person.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Me: I just finished another re-edit to fix a few awkward sentences and some inconsistencies. I will be uploading it to my publisher as soon as I can fix some technical problems. One of the fixes was the whole left/right thing. I am left handed so think of left as dominant. But this culture uses right as dominant, so when I hear O’s see ‘right’ I am thinking ‘left’ because that is my dominant side. So I had both left and right written down when referring to Emily left hand. I missed it and had to fix it in several places. I know you think I’m crazy now!

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Me: Not really, it was always there.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Me: Day’s Daughters picks up where Day’s Son leaves off. Dr. Pierce, the vampire inventor of the V-virus vaccine and Synthetic  (artificial blood) that allowed the vampires to come out to the world and safeguard humans from being turned, is now a hybrid as well and is working with Emily best friend, the human doctor Megin Ramirez, to create a new vaccine to protect vulnerable humans from the magic that is now flooding the earth after the ‘Merging’ that took place at the end of Day’s Son. Megin herself is changing and inheriting a magical legacy she didn’t know she had. But her new magical abilities will allow her to safely be with hybrid vampire Steve Pierce. Steve has been desperately lonely searching for a life partner smart enough to match him in intellect and good enough to keep him in line. He has been bored to tears with the Vampire women not already mated and despaired of finding his match, until he created the hybridization process and changing himself before the events of the first book took place. Now he has the freedom to search amongst human women and he has found what he wants with Megin. She, however, has conditions.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Me: Impatience. I want to be able to write everything down as fast as I think it. Sometimes I trip over my own fingers. Then the editing, and re-editing, again and again and again. I am a perfectionist and am horrified I let some mistakes get by me in my first book. That said, I also struggle with finding just the right word. Sometimes I am just not satisfied with the available words to convey a certain meaning or feeling.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Me: I don’t travel at all. I am my mom’s full time caregiver and would need someone to cover for me with her. That can sometimes be arranged, but I am also currently poor!

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Me: T.E. Ridener at tanyawrites@hotmail.com.  She was really easy to work with and helped me find just the right images and colors. I will use her for Day’s Daughters as well.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Me: Believing it was any good. I mean I thought it was great but when someone reads it and says how amazing it is, all of a sudden I realized how much I didn’t believe in myself.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Me: I learned that self publishing is not as hard as I thought it would be. The process of telling a story helps you tell the next one better.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

Me: I have no clue. Just that if someone is of color that an actor of color plays that part. No white girl playing hispanic!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Me: Just write. Don’t give up. If you are frustrated, step away and do something else for awhile, then come back to it.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Me: I love you all! Be patient with me, I take my time writing to get things just right for. I do not churn out stories every couple months. I am not that kind of writer.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Me: Right now I am slogging through a book of a dozen stories by a dozen authors. Some are good but, unfortunately most are dreck. So I won’t name it! I just skip the really bad ones.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Me: It was actually one of those misogynistic detective stories by John D. MacDonald! I think I was nine or ten? The children’s book I most remember reading on my own was The Three Robbers. Just fantastic. I still have it.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Me: What makes me laugh? Silly things kids do. I like humor like the Princess Bride and Deadpool. I hate the kind of humor that is whiny or at the expense of others, like Funniest Home Videos, hate that. It is not funny to see a poor guy get hit in the balls!

What makes me cry? Children being hurt, in danger, or losing their mom. To this day I cannot watch Bambi.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

Me: I would love to meet C. S. Lewis, Isaac Asimov and my namesake Hannah More. I have already met Sun Myung Moon, before he died. That was pretty amazing.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Me: Loving and faithful daughter of God, sister, wife and mother. Because I hope that I will have been all those things by the time I die.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Me: Reading. I make leather and cord macrame necklets. I sketch in charcoal and I have this idea for pvc sculpture that I will get into when it gets warmer and I can afford the materials.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Me: I love Dr. Who, Sherlock, Person of Interest, Supernatural and Big Bang Theory. Any superhero movie or tv show. I loved Lois and Clark, Pushing Daisies and Dark Angel. My daughter and I really got into Monk.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music.

Me: Food, eggs benedict, homemade soup and homemade bread. Also chocolate.

Color: gray. Because clouds.

Music: classic and pop rock, and celtic. Love bagpipes!

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Me: Singer. I would like to have had voice training. I love to sing and have a good ear. But I am good at giving spiritual guidance and have done that to a limited degree. I think a career as a spiritual counselor would suit.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Me: I do not have a blog or website, just a facebook page. https://www.facebook.com/AuthorHannahRMore40/?fref=ts

Buying link

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/617994
https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/days-son/id1088421331?mt=11
https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/day-s-son
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/days-son-hannah…/1123478782…

