Name: Roze Wallin

Age: 20s

Where are you from: I’m a traveler, and from the moment I was born, have been moving around the USA. I don’t claim anywhere as home, and don’t consider myself to be “from” any one place specifically.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I just finished the second book in my Swirling Secrets trilogy last week, and am preping it to be published! I’m expecting it to be out June 2nd! =D


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing when I was two or three. I’ve been reading since age two, and started writing poems almost immediately after. Granted, they were very, very bad, but for a two year old, I thought they were amazing, and was quite proud of them. I’ve been writing poetry and novels seriously since elementary school, although I kept most everything local and low-key. Only in the past few years, have I gotten up the nerve to actually publish my writing in something other than competitions and for writing groups.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’ve considered myself a writer my whole life. I’ve always had stories in my head, and fingers itching to write them down, which is why I spent nap-time writing when I was two, determined to write a book for my friends to read. I first considered myself an author, though, when I published my first book.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The first novel I wrote and actually published, was started for NaNoWriMo in 2014. I started a week late, but about half way through, decided I was going to publish it, even if it was crap, simply to get over my own fear. The determination to actually publish it, pushed me to finish writing the story.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Each book ends up having it’s own style, as far as how I write it. They’re all different, and I don’t tend to have one broad-spectrum style.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The title for my first published book, Desi Pere, ended up fitting well from the story. It’s the name of the predominant group focused in that book, and seemed like an obvious title.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I suppose simply to not give up, even if you mess up. That mistakes are fixable, and if you learn to trust yourself, you will be capable of amazing things.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The situations and overall plot of the story is purely fictional (hopefully…). Some of the experiences were borrowed from real life though, and modified to fit the story.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Every book I read influences my life in some way, and it’s difficult to pinpoint any that have had a drastic influence. I’d say though, that one poem that’s always stuck with me, and impacts just about everything I do, is Robert Frost’s “The Road Not Taken.”

 

Similarly, I don’t have a specific mentor, although I am inspired by any writer or author who is passionate about writing, and does it simply because they love to.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Admittedly, and sadly, I have been out of the book-reading world for a while, and haven’t seen many of the new authors out there at the moment. I don’t have a favorite author, as that seems nearly impossible to decide.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

God definitely has supported me. Shoot, He put the passion of writing in me! Haha


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Writing is definitely a career, no doubt. I’m sure I’ll be writing til God takes me home, and hopefully, still publishing books til then.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Not at the moment. I think my answer will change in about a decade, but for the moment, I’m pleased with it.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I wanted to be able to entertain my friends with the stories in my head, and at the time (two) I couldn’t speak very well. So, I learned to write, so I could entertain that way. As I grew up, my speech improved, but my desire to write grew even stronger.

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Currently I am prepping book 2 in my Swirling Secrets series for publication in a few weeks, and starting work on book 3. Sospi Tare should be published June 2nd.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Writing without an outline is always difficult, and as most of my novels are written off-the-cuff, there are plenty of afternoons spent staring into space, trying to hammer out a path in my head for the characters to run.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not at the moment, no. Luckily. I don’t think I could fit in traveling quite yet! =)


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I design my own covers, with the help of my hubby.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Time. I have three different jobs, and finding time to write seems nearly impossible.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

A few things, yeah. That’s always a perk to writing – an excuse to learn about a ton of random stuff.

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

Ironically, I could probably cast anyone but the lead. Magnhild is so unique, and even in my head, she’s changing and growing so much, she’s fuzzy half the time. Until I have her figured out, I probably couldn’t cast her. No main-stream actress comes to mind either, so if I did have the opportunity to cast her, I am positive it would be someone unknown at the time.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Do what feels right to you, and don’t worry about other people. Write the story in your head, and ignore other people. Everyone’s a critic, but you’re the writer, so own it, and do what you know is right. Advice can be great, but at the end of the day, that book is a reflection of you, and no one else, so be true to you.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for reading! The world needs readers, and if you’ve decided to read mine, I am honored, humbled, and beyond glad. I hope you love it! =D

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am slowly getting through several books for review, when I have a spare minute. Kaitlin’s Tale by Christine Amsden and Song of the Sending by Corinne O’Flynn are the two I’m reading most often though, and both are really good so far!

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Yes – Harold and the Purple Crayon, by Crockett Johnson.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Just about everything makes me laugh – seriously, some days I laugh at the word pudding. O.O

 

Few things make me cry, but sometimes seeing true pain in someone’s eyes will cause me to tear up.

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Oh gosh, that’s a long list, which seems to be ever changing. At the moment, I would love to have met and experienced Mary Wollstonecraft, one of the most rebellious and brave women in history.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

“Still laughing!” comes to mind. I’m not sure what my headstone will say, but if I have to pick something, I’m sure it’ll be sassy, and make people smile.

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

If finding and having hobbies was a hobby, that would be in first place! I have tons of hobbies, and not nearly enough time to enjoy them all. I love to pain, make jewelry, exercise, explore and hike, play with my multitude of pets, read, learn, sing, dance, cook, act…anything creative and fun, basically.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

When I do watch television, I enjoy Gilmore Girls, Boy Meets World, Friends, MASH, The Dick Van Dyke Show, and I Love Lucy. New shows, in my opinion, generally suck. I’ll watch most family comedy films, but movies tend to be unnecessarily inappropriate and dull. Generally, I’d rather be reading, creating, exploring or cooking.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Favorite foods would have to be anything Italian, some oriental dishes, and cheeseburgers. Favorite color is impossible, and I love all music.

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

If I wasn’t a writer, I’d probably pursue some other form of artistic creation. I love entertaining people, and for most of my life, I pursued acting as a career. Marriage brought on new priorities though, and being a housewife and writer suits me just fine.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I have several! I can be found on Blogspot (rozewallin.blogspot.com) and WordPress (rozewallin.wordpress.com) as well as on my website, rozewallin.weebly.com. I’m also on Facebook, Twitter, and Amazon!

www.facebook.com/rozewallin

www.facebook.com/writingroze

www.twitter.com/writingroze

www.amazon.com/Roze-Wallin/e/B01BCPEKKC/

Buying link

http://www.amazon.com/Desi-Pere-Swirling-Secrets-1/dp/1523803703

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/29397265-desi-pere

 

