Name Rose Montague

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I was able to get my publishing rights back from my former publisher for my first two books, Jade & Jane. Re-Vamped versions just published this week which include new covers, new blurbs, chapter titles, and a new round of edits. I am pleased with the initial response and I hope readers will start this series. Here is a blog post I did on this.

http://fantasyfunreads.blogspot.com/2016/05/jade-jane-re-vamped.html

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing when I was a teenager and I even submitted a few short stories, none of which were accepted. Several decades later I decided to give it another try and wrote my first novel, Jade.  The idea of being a writer was something that stayed with me. I’m so happy I decided to sit down and write again.

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When those printed copies of my first book arrived and I held them in my hands. It’s so hard to describe that feeling.

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

My goal: To have fun writing fun books to read.

My writing style:  Not much pretty prose or flowery fluffiness. Pretty much non-stop action and fun.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Although my goal is to write fun books to read, it’s not all fun and games. There are several themes you will find in my books.  Friendship, diversity, and fighting injustice are some common ones you will see in all of my novels.

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

My newest book is Norma Jean’s School of Witchery, Book Two: Ghost School.  It is my best work yet and I would not change a thing. I am learning the art of writing and also learning how important it is to spend a lot of time on rewrites and edits. This book is not only the best story yet, it is as perfect as I can make it.

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I am currently working on Jill, Book Three in the Three J’amigos series, I hope to have that published by September this year. Next will be a new Jewel adventure called Fire On Ice and the third book in the Norma Jean’s School of Witchery series, Witch in a Wheelchair will follow that one. I wish I could publish all of them now but they have to be written first.

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My cover artist is Mirella Santana. She is amazing and has done the covers for both my Norma Jean’s School of Witchery series as well as the Three J’amigos. The value of a great cover is something I have learned since I began writing.

 

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

I would encourage all writers first starting out to build a base of friends and followers on social media before their book is published. Establish yourself and help other authors with promoting their books. They really have no idea (I know I didn’t) how hard it is to get people to buy an unknown author’s book. I started out with just a few hundred friends on facebook, no twitter account, no blog, no other social media at all.  It took a lot of time and effort to build up a base of followers on all social media platforms and to build up page views on my blog. I am now seeing some good results of my efforts after three years of networking, sharing, and promoting. If you do that before that first book is published, I have no doubt things will go a lot easier for you.

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I am an advocate for the falsely accused and wrongly convicted. It’s a great cause and our systems of justice are far from perfect. I don’t spend as much time on this as I used to but there are several cases I am still actively following.

………..

Buy links

Jade https://www.amazon.com/Jade-Three-Jamigos-Book-1-ebook/dp/B01FC8Q6CA

Jane https://www.amazon.com/Jane-Three-Jamigos-Book-2-ebook/dp/B01FCBU86C

Jewel http://www.amazon.com/Norma-Jeans-School-Witchery-Jewel-ebook/dp/B00UIANOPK

Ghost School http://www.amazon.com/Norma-Jeans-School-Witchery-Book-ebook/dp/B016SKWYMW

Other Links

Amazon Author Page http://www.amazon.com/Rose-Montague/e/B00GL9UPH2

Twitter https://twitter.com/RoseMontague

Website http://fantasyfunreads.blogspot.com/

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/people/Rose-Montague/100000712227923

Bio:

Rose has always been a big reader and her dream of becoming a published author became a reality when Jade was published in November, 2013. Book Two (Jane) was published February 2015 and the first book in a new Young Adult fantasy series (Norma Jean’s School of Witchery) was published March, 2015 followed by Book Two in that series, Ghost School which published October 2015.. Rose has worked both in a library as well as several bookstores. Rose lives in Elon, NC and is currently working on Book Three in the Three J’Amigos series which will be called Jill.

 

