Name Matt Honorato

Age 23

Where are you from

I was born and raised in Ribeirao Preto, a rather large city in the Southeast of Brazil until I turned nine and my father’s work transferred him to the nation’s capital, Brasilia, and the rest of us went along for the ride.

In early 2007 I went abroad for the first time and had a taste of living in England. For two months I studied English in a small town near Cambridge called Saffron Walden.

Two years later I took the SAT and accepted a scholarship offer to go to college in New York. I graduated in Journalism and Political Science and worked as a newspaper reporter for a few years before returning to Brazil and starting my career as an author.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’m currently working on two books. The fifth book in my series The Somber Wolves Saga and a new project that has been taking shape in my head for quite some time. This new project will also be a part of The Somber Wolves Saga, but will tell the story of some of the characters before they became who they are in the original series.

The first volume of this complementary series already has a title, The Pact of the Raven, and will be released wide until the end of May.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

That’s a tough question for me. I have been writing stories since I have been able to write. The catch is that I had never finished anything that wasn’t meant for a class. That is, until The Lone Ranger. The first book of The Somber Wolves Saga is also the first book I ever finished.

A fun fact about me and writing is that I’m hopeless writing in my mother tongue, Portuguese. One of the biggest shocks in my mother’s life happened when I told her I was taking on journalism as a major in college. I can’t blame her, though. She had to attend more parent-teacher meetings with my Portuguese teachers than I can remember.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Working as a newspaper reporter, I already considered myself as a writer. However, it wasn’t until I received the first review of The Lone Ranger that I felt comfortable considering myself a creative writer.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

This will sound cheesy, but what can I do? It was a dream. I’m one of those people who can dream even if they are taking a nap. One day I woke up and decided to jot down whatever I remembered from my last dream, and that was the little spark from which I created the outline for The Lone Ranger.

Sure the actual book and the outline turned out to be extremely different, but that dream was where it all started.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

My years studying journalism and working as a reporter sure had their influence on my writing. Although I do enjoy the beautifully written descriptions of literary novels, I love action-filled stories that keep my eyes glued to the page (or screen), and that is what I intend to do with my writing.

Sure I plan on writing a literary tome someday, but for now, I’m looking to have fun entertaining myself and my readers.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Stories aren’t about things or places. They are about people. That’s why the title of my first book is based on the main character and what he represents.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

“There can be no good without sacrifice.”


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Luckily I haven’t had any experiences in my life that even resemble the experiences my characters go through. My reader can vouch that while there is a bright side to my books, there also is a dark and twisted side to them.

The closest link that you will find between my books and reality other than the laws of physics are people’s personalities. While there are extremely righteous people and sick people inside those pages, you will also meet regular folks, who, like in the real world, are just trying to live a normal life.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Like many fantasy authors, I was influenced by books and movies like The Lord of the Rings, The Hobbit, The Sword of Truth and others. But the book that captivated and inspired me the most has to be The Name of The Wind by Patrick Rothfuss.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Cliché as it may be saying this, Stephen King is my favorite author. That guy just brings something out in the readers. Recently I started reading Sean Platt and David W. Wright’s Yesterday is Gone, which is an amazing series for those who love zombies and horror.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

The indie community of authors is a great blessing and asset for all aspiring authors. Some of the people in the community go above and beyond to mentor new authors and help us grow and develop our craft.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I do, but only for those willing to sit down and do the hard work.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I think it’s still a little early to tell, but I’d say the biggest thing would be to start marketing sooner.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I don’t remember how old I was, but I remember reading my first Stephen King novel and thinking: “Hey, I can write something like this.” Kids…

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I’m on the brink of finishing the first draft of The Pact of The Raven. Once I have some editing done, I’ll post a sample chapter on my blog. Stay tuned.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

The most challenging part of the job is sitting down to write. Not writer’s block, not marketing, not the bad reviews or annoying people.

I know several other authors have the same issue. We love writing, and once these fingers hit the keyboard there in no stopping. But sometimes everything around you seems so much more interesting than the blank Scrivener file in front of you.

I live in an apartment building in Brasilia, and there was a day where I stared out of a window for almost 30 minutes before I even realized I was procrastinating.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned a lot about my characters, the world I created. Sometimes it seems like I didn’t even do any of it. The story was already there, and all I did was type the words.

If one day I decide to release the outline I wrote for The Lone Ranger some people won’t even believe that the book came out of that outline. The story, the people in the story and their fates changed so much it amazes me.

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Ed Skrein. The way he played Dario Naharis in Game of Thrones made me think he’d be perfect to play the lead role in The Lone Ranger.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write about what you like, because if you try writing something you don’t enjoy reading your readers certainly won’t enjoy it either.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Let me know who you are and what you love. There is nothing I would love more than building this new world together with my readers.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Yesterday is Gone Season Two.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. I remember borrowing it from my cousin after going to her house, but I have no idea how old I was. Fun fact: to this day I still haven’t read Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

The one thing I found out to make certain that I’ll cry are movies where dogs die. Those are just the worst. As for laughing, I do that at pretty much anything, but lately, Andy Samberg playing Detective Jake Peralta in Brooklyn Nine-Nine has me laughing the most often.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

John Rackham A.K.A. Calico Jack. I’m fascinated by pirates and the world they lived in. It wasn’t pretty, and it wasn’t safe, but it sure had to be exciting. I’d like to talk to Jack about his life and tell him how much of modern culture he shaped because of his design of the Jolly Roger flag.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

“Loving father and devoted husband.” Because why should we aspire to be successful if not to share with people who are important to us?

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love sports. I played basketball all of my life, played in a few high-school national championships here in Brazil and was selected to an all-state team my freshman year. Other than sports I enjoy gaming, movies, TV shows, and obviously books.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I don’t discriminate when it comes to TV shows. I will watch the happiest comedy and the goriest horror back to back.

Right now I’m suffering from withdrawal as I wait for Sunday’s episode of Game of Thrones. I can’t wait for the new seasons of The Walking Dead, Suits, and Brooklyn Nine-Nine.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Anything Italian or anything made by my grandma. White and Gold. I don’t really have a musical preference. I enjoy listening to soundtracks while I’m writing, but I’ve been through several hip-hop, techno, and even an odd classical music listening phases.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I’m still studying for the LSAT, so I can go back to the US and become a lawyer. My dream was to become a basketball player, but a knee injury and studying made sure I had to give that up. 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

My blog is matthonoratofiction.wordpress.com. There you will find links to all of my published books as well as a new project I’m starting on the blog.

As I have always been fascinated by mythology and ancient creatures, I began my own bestiary, where my readers will be able to learn more about the legends and creatures they run into as they read fantasy.

 

My Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Matt-Honorato/e/B01BWO2S3Y/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

