Name:  Anne D. Salyer

Age: 48

Where are you from

I was born in Oklahoma. Lived there until I graduated high school then moved to Kansas to attend Washburn University.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

You want to interview me.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

4 years ago on my back porch. I was encouraged to write by someone who does not exist.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I didn’t lose my interest in it. My passions come and go but I still enjoy poetry.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I had been writing for three years when I entered a contest for a free book publishing. I was one of the winners.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Not really I tend to fluctuate a lot. Depends on my mood and how long since I have written anything. If I need to get back into the swing of things I work with rhythm and rhyme.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

“A Treasure of Seashells” is actually the title of one of the poems in the book. It is in reference to when I was a child I collected small treasures, including seashells. I kept the box of my treasures under the bed.

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

There is no one message that runs through my poems. Each one might hold a meaning but that is for the reader to establish.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Some of my work is about my husband, my brother or myself. Some of them are just stories I made up. Often a phrase will pop into my head and I have to write about it. It can come from nowhere.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Most of my influences are from music. My book is dedicated to my hero- Doug Pinnick, the lead singer and bass player for Kings X. His lyrics are what my words aspire to be.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I have many poet friends on Facebook, all great writers. My favorite poet is Poe. His work has always moved me. One of my favorite authors is Sherman Alexie. His storytelling is phenomenal .


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Loki, the God of Chaos and Mischief.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

No. I have a day job that pays the bills.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I wish I could add more to it. I have written some better works since it has been published.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I was encouraged to write by someone who does not exist.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Tempted

I will not be tempted

By the color of your eyes.

I have seen a brighter blue.

I will not be tempted

By the light of your smile.

I have been blinded by better.

But your eloquent voice

Draws me to the edge of madness.

By sound and laughter-

I am doomed!


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Time to do it and money to publish it.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Only in my mind.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Everything was done through Creative Talent Unleashed


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Promoting it.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that I am my major critic to my work.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

I would love to have Tom Hiddleston recite some of my poetry. I think he would make it sound awesome.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Get a day job.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Not really. I am not sure who reads my work. It does speak for itself.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Nothing right now. I have been too busy working.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

It had to be a Golden Book when I was child. Had lots of them.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Laugh- my husband. Cry- the thought of losing him.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

My father. I never knew him.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Hopefully I’ll be cremated but if I did have a headstone it would be:

Upon My Gravestone

The days will come and go

And my heart will beat in time.

No matter the pain it has known

I believe that love’s divine.

Above all else- I have loved.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Gardening, my cats, spending time with loved ones, Kings X.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Action, comedy, Sci Fi

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Food: Chinese

Color: gray or purple

Music: Kings X, Heavy Young Heathens, Soundgarden

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would love to have been a vigilante superhero.

 Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

https://www.facebook.com/Writing-the-World-316805245173664/?ref=aymt_homepage_panel

 

Buying link http://www.amazon.com/Treasure-Seashells-Anne-D-Salyer/dp/0996147632/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1463261618&sr=1-1&keywords=Anne+D.+Salyer

 

