Name N.A. Shoemaker

Age 26

Where are you from

Allentown, Pennsylvania

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I’m a horror fanatic; kid’s, teen’s, YA, adult…doesn’t matter, I love all genres of horror. I am 26 and still love reading Goosebumps, and the Fear Street books (currently reading one of the new Fear Street novels, Party Games.) I love art as well, in my spare time when I am not writing—or creating any of the elements for my books—I create spray paint art, during the warmer months.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Since March, 2016, I have released the first two books to my new YA horror series, Nightmares in the Dark. Book #1: Bears of Glass. Book #2: Let the Shadows Play. And, I just released in April, a children’s book: The Magic Gem. The children’s book, I originally wrote when I was is elementary school. Decided to edit for grammar, spelling, etc; re-design the cover, update the illustrations, and turn it into a neat little 42pg books for kids—originally written by a kid.

Also, I have two WIP’s going on at the moment. The first is a new children’s book (collection of children’s short stories.) The Many Adventures of Mason.

The second, is an adult horror book titled: The Yard.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I think the when and why, both tie-in to the The Magic Gem book. Ever since then I’ve always wanted to be an author, and share my stories, and get kids and our youth to read—that’s one of my most important missions as an author.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I think in a way I’ve always considered myself a writer, maybe not the best one, or a published one at moments, but with perseverance, I eventually made it there.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first book I published was the, Bears of Glass, book in the Nightmares in the Dark series. The book was inspired by one of my very own nightmares. The beginning of the first chapter, is the actual dream/nightmare that I had.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Well, I used to do a chapter by chapter outline before I wrote. Then, I switched to Just doing full character profiles and a full plot outline, then I type away and let the story take its shape. The “outline” is not set in stone, if the story decides to turn and twist on its own, I let it.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The title was fairly easy to come up with, I just took elements from the nightmare and paired them/matched them together until I came up with was that was like, “That’s the one!”

Fiona: Is there a message in your books that you want your readers to grasp?

Yes, sometimes the “monsters” that we face in this world, may not always be physical ones. Even if it seems like we may have lost to them, in some way, we can always bring light into the situation.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Despite the books containing mostly fictional elements, quite a few aspects of the books are based on real events, even if the details have been slightly twisted/edited.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Biggest influence by far, R.L. Stine. No matter how old I get, I will always read his books. He is the author who provoked my love for reading.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

There are actually quite a few, some who are really good friends. I think I love about their work is, even though most of it is fiction, there are so many real elements to them. To me, that’s what makes a great story.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I would have to say a little girl named Twyla. She is a true delight. She is one person, out of many, who has inspired me to keep on writing. She is such a strong individual, despite all the trials of life that she goes through on a daily basis. She may think that I am an inspiration to her, but she is wrong, she is indeed an inspiration to me.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes I do, even though right now the revenue is a little slow coming in. But, that isn’t the main reason I write anyway. If it turns into a substantial income one day that is great, if not, at least I’ve encouraged our youth to expand their minds and learn to enjoy the journey that a book can take you on.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Actually, no I don’t think I would. It changed and turned along the way while writing it, and in my opinion, I think it was for the better.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Yes, it was the book I previously talked about writing in elementary school.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

This is from: The Many Adventures of Mason (WIP, children’s book)

Mason was playing in the yard with his favorite toy dragons. The one he held in his left hand was a magnificent blue, striped with long waves of silver. And, that which he held in his right was a rich, dark green, like moss located in the forest’s depths.

In his imagination, the dragons were brothers, who had once been the best of friends. That was until a war broke out amongst two kingdoms that were supposed to be allies.

The silver and blue dragon—who Mason named Rain—was the dragon who stayed on the side of justice when the war erupted.

But, the green dragon—that he named Juren—chose to follow the king and his evil army.

Rain and the other dragons who also saw the light, had formed together to form an alliance to protect what was right.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Well, I have two arachnoid cysts in my brain. Sometimes just in general comprehending thing and spelling can sometimes suffer. But, despite all that I still write, edit, and (from cover to cover) design my books—except for a stock photo, if any is even used.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not at the moment, one day though, I would love to do book signings, etc… But until that day, right now I’ve been doing web-based events.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I did all of my covers. Each was comprised of about 2-3 photos, as well as my own designs. With a lot of editing, and digital reconstruction (mainly on my cellphone) the covers have come to life.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

I would say the planning phase of the book. When I get into the book it just seems to flow out. Of course editing will be needed once the 1st draft is done, but that is inevitable.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

No matter how much detail/effort you put into planning something out to make it perfect, plans change.

Fiona: If any of your books were made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Dylan Minnette would be a great lead for the first book Bears of Glass, not entirely sure though for the second book, Let the Shadows Play, maybe Chloë Grace Moretz.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

“Write what you know, to create the world you do not.” -N.A. Shoemaker

(that is a quote I always put into my books at the end.)


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Never stop reading new things, yes we may love to thoroughly re-read the stories we adore, but never cease to thrive for the unknown, even if it is out of you “comfort genre.”

Fiona: What book(s) are you reading now?

Earlier I mentioned I was reading the Fear Street novel, Party Games. I am also reading the 1st Lockhart & Co. book The Screaming Staircase.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

It was probably a book by Dr. Seuss or one of the Berenst(E)ain Bears books.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Anything funny or sad, ha-ha-ha. Right now anything involving kids, due to losing my son in Oct. of 2015 at ten weeks (in the womb.)

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

I would have loved to have met Robin Williams. Just from his movies, talks, interviews etc; he seemed like such a wonderful guy and has always through the years through his works, made me laugh constantly.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Here lays a body, not a soul. My soul is still free and full of life, just as it has always been. And the why: It is only the body that dies, not the spirit.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I love quite a few forms of art. I love spray paint art, sketching/drawing, and color pencil & charcoal art as well. Me personally I also love creating many forms of digital art. From, just editing, to full illustrations.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love anything, comedy/action/horror related.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

My favorite color by far is green. Music I can pretty much listen to anything at least once. For me to listen to it constantly though, it has to have substance/meaning to it. Otherwise, it won’t stay on my playlist. My favorite food would be anything that contains bacon.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Probably would have wound up doing something with animation, or video game creation.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Yes I do. Below is a list of all my pages:

 

My blog/website: www.authornashoemaker.wordpress.com

 

My Facebook fan page: www.facebook.com/authornickshoemaker

 

My anti bullying/anti abuse Facebook page: www.facebook.com/survivorsrefuge

 

My Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/N-A-Shoemaker/e/B01CXA7066/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1462562936&sr=8-1

 

My Goodreads page: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/15089643.N_A_Shoemaker

 

My Twitter page: https://twitter.com/AuthorHex

