Name SH Richardson

Age– old as the hills

Where are you from– Virginia Beach

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I’m a mother of two daughters, 18 and 24. I have five fur babies, Bugsy, Nibbles, Cocoa, Shelb, and AJ. I moved to Virginia Beach in 1996 but I’m originally from Long Island, NY. I have a BS in Criminal Justice from SUNY Plattsburgh.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Well, I released my first book about three weeks ago named The Junkyard Boys. I’m very happy with its reception so far.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I was laid off from a job I held for 18 years so I had some time on my hands (sarcasm). I had a story running around in my head so I decided to put it down on paper, and the rest is history.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I didn’t consider myself a writer until after I published The Junkyard Boys and the readers asked for more!

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I would say unemployment but that’s not really true. Writing was something I did when I was younger and simply forgot that it was something I enjoyed. Now I remember! LOL

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Not really, The Junkyard Boys was written in the first person with alternating points of view but I would considering writing in any style.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The Junkyard Boys title is vital to the story itself so I didn’t have much to think about.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes, that a hero is more than just a sandwich!

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

So much if it is ridiculous, the lead female character Clover is me through different phases of my life. Her family dynamic is my own. For example, her father has a nickname that everyone calls him. My father also had a nickname, we never called him dad.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Jackie Collins was my all time favorite author! I always enjoyed her writing and it was a big influence to me.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Well, Tillie Cole is not a new author but I just adore her work. Her story contain strong alpha males which to me is the only way to write a good book!

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My friend Marci was a big supporter of my work so much so that I named one of the supporting characters after her. Too bad she’s a Ho-bag! LOL

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I see it as something I want to continue to do. I was so surprised by the reception of The Junkyard Boys that I never thought of it was a career choice just something I love doing.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Yes I would hire a proof reader! I’m told there are a couple of typos and I hope to avoid that in the future.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Much like my lead female character, I was a loner growing up and writing was something I used to occupy my time.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

The Junkyard boys was released about three weeks ago so right now I’m still marketing that. I have begun the outline to book two in the series and hope to start writing that within the next couple of weeks.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

No not really.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not yet but I hope to be invited to a book signing event soon!

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Alora Kate with SweetLush Photog

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Figuring out what to do with it when it was finished.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Yes I learned quite a few things. Never sell yourself short and believe in your work. I’m still working on it…LOL

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Ian Sommerholder would be great as Range Reardon, the male lead in The Junkyard Boys…of course he would have to grow his hair longer!

 

 


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Just do it!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Yes… thank you! The reception has been incredible and I’m so blessed that the readers enjoyed my very first book.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Nothing right now and that’s only because I’m outlining my second book.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No but I’m sure it had Charlie Brown in it.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My youngest daughter makes me laugh. She is so funny all the time. I rarely cry and if I do it probably because I hurt myself or something. I can be clumsy.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

President Obama. I think he is the best leader this world has ever had and he seems like a down to earth king of guy that likes a good meal and a good conversation.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Nothing. I plan to live forever!

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Reading mostly

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love the food network. Cooking shows make me hungry but I can’t stop watching them!

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Lobster is my favorite meal, blue is my favorite color, and I love old school music. Michael Jackson, Prince, Luther Vandros

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I studied to become a police officer but that all went out the window right around the time I had my first child…LOL

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

No blogs or websites yet but that is something on the “New Author” to do list.

Amazon Authors Page http://www.amazon.com/SH-Richardson/e/B01EG9K4RO/ref=dp_byline_cont_book_1

