Name  Amber Scott

Age: No way, Jose.

Where are you from

I’m originally from Reno, NV and my family are third generation Nevada born – a rarity. I’ve lived in Phoenix since 1999. I fell in love with the lightening storms and sunsets here.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’m about to – finally – complete a work in progress that seriously sidetracked my muse for the last two years, putting a couple of series’ on hold. It’s called Fostering Magic and I’m debating on releasing it under a different pen name. It’s a Young Adult and not at all the steam level I usually write. It’s basically foster care for witches. Think Harry Potter…in a trailer park. LOL

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing when my son was about ten months old because as a stay home mom, I needed some sanity. I also read No Plot, No Problem by Chris Baty, founder of NanowriMo. I had wanted to write for as long as I could remember but never actually commited to doing the actual typing it all out part. After finishing my first novel, a really terrible thing that will never see the light of day, I knew one thing. I love writing.

 

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I considered myself a writer all of my life. I considered myself a novelist when I finished my first full length draft.

 

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

It’s funny, I saw a YouTube video of Stephen King talking about reading the book that makes you think, hell, I could do better than this. I also had that moment. I read a book and thought, that wasn’t complicated. Let me finally try this.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I used to. I was a plotter, a list maker and Goal Motivation Conflict outliner. I wrote each scene with a chapter in mind and a rhythm. Then along came Fostering Magic and my muse turned everything on its head. I get scenes out of order, I struggle to sense where the chapters should break. It’s unnerving but I keep handing over the wheel to the story and it’s working out.

 

 

 


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I love titles! A whole story can spring forth out of a title. They just come to me from music or funny little bits of things I learn along the way in life.

 

 

 


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

For Fostering Magic the message is that magic is in all of us. It is everywhere, in everything. We just have to learn to harness it.

 

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

One of the characters, Brenda, is based on a friend of mine. An incredibly fabulous dance instructor who leaves sparkles wherever she goes.

 

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

All of Johanna Lindsey’s titles. Love them all. The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks. I also love neuroscience and metaphysical books. My Stroke of Insight is amazing.

 

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I loved The Dead Key by DM Pulley. LOVED. I’m a big Ann Charles fan. I literally laugh out loud at some scenes. She writes characters you feel like you know, like you could gossip about to another friend.

 

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

The Romance Writers of America Dessert Rose Chapter gave me the tools and network of other authors to become the writer I am today.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

It’s great when it is a career. That means it is earning money. But I write anyways. I daydream, I jot down, I type away regardless of income. (Though possibly with less urgency.) It’s who I am. I’m always inside a story in my head, tinkering.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Every book I’ve written I look back and can see areas to improve. At a point you have to just let it be and trust you told the story you saw in the best way you could, so that others can have that experience of it, too.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I don’t. I just remember telling my mom at age four or so that I wanted to be a writer. I knew it in my bones even then.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Zacharia Bunches the IV perked his ears left and south, alert for signs of the father coming in to check on this sleeping un-angle. Theadora Milner. What had happened to the wide eyes and sweet wonderment two years ago to this day?

Just like her, it had up and left. Probably in the middle of the nighttime unlight just like her, too.

He twitched his whiskers and hopped up onto her chest. “Tsk.” His ward. His responsibility. He’d woken to the bad belly feeling, hop-toed a peek to see where she’d be and what had this rabbit found?

Goners.

“I’ve got a bad feeling ‘bout today, miss.”

No bunny should witness his first sunrise in two years time whilst pacing the lawn fretting over his ward. He should not see a sunrise at all! Not for another month be! Sixteen is what they agreed. Not a day sooner out of his warren.

Not that a hidden hole in a magical made knapsack could be deemed much of a warren. His mistress had done her best to make the canvas hole comfortable. Games, cushion, all the carrots and chocolate a rabbit could eat.

But this? This would not do. Not do at all. Not in the plan. Not at all.

The only thing she could offer to make it right would be a thick, dirt dusted carrot between his teeth.

He paused his pace and flopped down on the lawn. Today was the perfect day for a perfect day. The morning sun warmed his spot and white fur. A fall breeze ruffled his longy-long ears. Zachariah Bunches IV breathed in the earthy scent of autumn taking over the fragrant summer air making it hard to stay angry.

Maybe angry was overrated. After all, she had come back. After all, he’d not have known to even check except for the yuck in the gut. She was back now, safe and sound. No harm done. He could sneak back in the pack and await the correct day to arrive.

What was a few more minutes between a bunny and the sun, after all?

He might just stretch his legs out long and lay there all day. Yes, yes like that. A good gaze up into the thick boughs swaying above him would also do nicely, too, the leaves shivering, the shadows dappling over his paws and nose. Lovely little shadows.

Dancing.

Leave it to a filthy witch to suck his perfect away.

The terrible squeaking croak is what gave her away. What on earth had made such an awful sound? The awful sound triggered alarm. His hind legs tucked in, readying to spring. There, at the top of the front steps. A toad in two hands. The two hands because there stood the witch. Her tall boots, her tattered skirt, she looked like a storybook. But her witchy clothes weren’t what gave her away. Her smelly smell did.

She stunk. Like lies and scrambled eggs.

Yes, okay. The very violet sparks and matching smoke from the spell she cast upon Theadora Miller’s front door clued him in a bit, too. Yep.

The witch was here.

Dirty shirts! The witch was here!

Bunches pulled his body in tighter. Curses and stones. If the witch got in fast, he might not make it back to the pack. This was the one he’d been warned about. Had to be. The one that would come for Miss Thea.

Why hadn’t he heard her approach? Darn it to bits. No mortal’s shoes so softly stepped as a witch’s set upon sneaking. The patchwork bag slung over her shoulder looked like she’d mugged Mary Poppins. The mishmash of bright blue here, yellow stitched there, a confusion of color.

That kind of stitch sewed in far more than material and thread. That bag had magic stitched in it. Magic like the wretched toad that squawked in her hands.

Magic like his own burrow sewn into the very backpack Thea took each day. The one her mama made. Today it would go, too, when the witch took her away.

The desperate croaking sent a new ripple of panic right through to his rabbit tail. Not a muscle moved save his heart. What to do? Thumpity thump thump the beat knocked.

Oh, his selfish. Oh, hammering fear. Think, think, think. He cowered low into the tall grass, daring not one hop. Not a single whisker twitch. Not yet. If she spotted him, she’d know immediately, he was no ordinary rabbit.

He watched as the witch held the toad aloft, its long legs didn’t even search for a foothold. The tall, wide door sat closed and Thea and her dad, Hugo, could not be warned. Liquid trickled from the toad. The drips scalded the wood planks. Hiss!

There was one thing a rabbit on the guard could do – he would find a way to keep his vow and duty.

The day had come. He extracted his attention from the witch, from the whine of the toad and the splash-hiss on the wood. Her murmured words carried on the once lovely breeze, tainting it.

If he hip-hopped quick to the rear of the two-story house whence he came, surely, he could make it back through the doggy door, up the stairs, back to the pack. He could not fail. He could not let his miss leave without him. Surely, he would get there just in time. In the nick of it!…

 

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Fitting writing into every day. I love it, don’t get me wrong, but so many other things come first. Kids, work, cleaning, family, friends.

 

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I’ve not traveled for my writing career in a few years now. I’m not sure it’s effective as a means of promotion until you reach a certain level of fan demand.

 

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

For the most part, me. I had the awful experience of an artist giving my hero a mullet once and I vowed to never let that happen again. Sometimes I use an artist but I find it incredibly fun to create what I already see in mind while writing it.

 

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The first draft. Once I have the bones, I can really edit and mold what I see in my head, but the first draft is a bit like feeling around in a dimly lit room.

 

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned to have patience with myself.

 

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Every book has actors already cast in my head! LOL. Except for Fostering Magic. Maybe it’s because the characters are younger? Thea would likely be played by a Disney star. Her cohorts, too.

 

 

 


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Keep writing. No matter what. Write with the dream of making it big and with the true unconditional love that makes it okay if you don’t. Let yourself love it.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Yes. Thank you. No, the deepest thank you that words can’t convey. I’m continually amazed that I even have fans! But the notes asking when the next book is out, the emails that let me know what I do matters. It makes every blank page worth facing.

 

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am reading the latest Ann Charles release. The chick keeps getting better and throwing some shockers into each one.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The first book I read that knocked my socks off was A Gentle Feuding by Johanna Lindsey. But the first first book ever? Maybe Mouse and the Motorcycle.

 

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My kids crack me up. Tragedy that befalls others makes me cry. Missing my dad. Most recently, every time I hear the song Purple Rain. #ripPrince

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Prince. Purple Rain was my first cassette tape. His songs are on my life’s soundtrack, tied to so many moments. And there is so much I didn’t know about him.

 

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

I’m not sure I actually want a headstone. Maybe…. “Boo!”

 

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Nope. (Writing is not a hobby, in my opinion.)

 

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love Comedies. RomCom. Loved the Hunger Games series. It varies. Just not horror. I get scared.

 

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Coffee. Chocolate. Cake. Blue of almost any shade. A pretty eclectic mix. I use music to write so I like to find the lesser known stuff.

 

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Hairstylist. I have shaky hands, though, so there went that dream.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://amberscottbooks.com

Amazon authors page http://www.amazon.com/Amber-Scott/e/B003NI0QPA/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

 

 

 

