Name: H.A.Robinson or you can just call me Heather.

Age: 31 going on 7

Where are you from? Cheshire in the UK

A little about yourself `ie your education, family life etc:

  I live in a small town in Cheshire and work as a Support Worker for adults with learning disabilities. I also do freelance editing work on the side.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

 Well I guess my latest news is that my new novel, The Rarest Rose is releasing on July 11th.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I can’t remember exactly when I started but I guess it was young. I still have somewhere a bound copy of my first ever story that my teacher made into a book for me. It was a riveting story called The Ant and the Bee Make Friends.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Honestly? Sometimes I still have days when I don’t. But I suppose the day my first novel released I really finally felt like an author.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 Well, the book is part of a series, where each book has been written by a different author. We started our writing on Twitter doing live storylines for people to follow. After a while, one of the leaders of the group came to us all and suggested writing the characters’ stories in novel form. We all went for it and the rest, as they say, is history. We have five books out between us so far, and hopefully more coming soon.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

 I honestly don’t think that I do. I love to mix things up and try my hand at writing different things. My first novel, Max Colton’s Road to Wonderland, was something of a life story, The Rarest Rose is a pure love story, and the book I’m currently plotting is more dystopian. I guess you could say I’m a genre hopper! LOL


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

 Well, for Max, the title was set by the name of the series so I didn’t have to put too much thought into that one. With The Rarest Rose, the name was originally something different, but I wasn’t happy with it. I was struggling for a title when one of my awesome betas (Another author from the Road to Wonderland Series Victoria L. James) popped up with a piece of text highlighted from the book and said I found you a title. And it stuck!


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I think Max’s book has lots of different messages inside. Lots of people I’ve spoken to have taken different things from the story. For me, though, all the books in that series are about surviving what life throws at you and remaining true to yourself no matter what. They’re about friendship, loyalty, kindness and pushing on against the odds.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I know a lot of people say “write what you know” and there’s certainly something to be said for that. Personally, though, I haven’t experienced much, if any of what my characters go through. I’m a huge fan of exploring life outside of my own experience. I write to explore things that I’m afraid of or that concern me about the world. The dystopian book I’m in the planning stages of certainly has echoes in the world and its struggles right now.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? A mentor?

 That’s a tough question. I’ve always been a reader. In my early life, the books of Enid Blyton were perhaps my biggest inspirations. Since then I’ve been proudly affected by so many books it’s hard to list them all. I’d be remiss not to mention J.K. Rowling and her Harry Potter series, though. Those books were and are still a huge inspiration for me, not just as a writer but as a human being. Rowling’s characters encompass some of the very best and worst traits of humanity and there are so many life lessons to be learned from their pages.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

In the last year or so I have discovered a whole world of authors who have inspired, encouraged and embraced me as one of their own. My favourite author would have to be J.M. Darhower. Her Sempre series is one I go back to time and time again. I’ve been immensely lucky, too, to work with the most amazing group of women as part of the Road to Wonderland series. Victoria L. James, L.J. Stock, Francesca Marlow and Charlie M. Matthews are not just insanely talented writers, but also amazing people who would drop everything to help you out if you need them.

Victoria L James’ most recent novel, Natexus, had a profound effect on me. After losing an extremely important loved one in tragic circumstances, the pages of that book became something of a comfort blanket for me. She writes characters who are relatable because they’re perfectly real. That’s a book I’ll go back to time and time again.

 

And L.J. Stock’s newest books, the Mortisalian Saga – starting with book one, Parallel – are super special to me, too. The world she built is just so amazing. The details involved with that level of world building and the strength of the characters blows my mind every time I read it. I love characters I can look up to and idolise, and Parallel has loads of them.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

 The Road to Wonderland authors. Every time.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

 At the moment it’s something I do because I love it and the voices in my head don’t let me sleep if I don’t write them down.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I don’t think I would. I wrote the story the characters wanted to tell. There were times when their decisions and actions drove me mad, but that was the way the story was meant to go.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

 Through reading, always.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

 Umm, sure! This is a short snippet from The Rarest Rose, which has never been posted anywhere before.

 

“I’d never seen a man look so relaxed, so utterly at ease, his smile wide enough to light up the entire coast as he turned back to me with an eyebrow raised in question.

“I think your dad is trying for frostbite or hypothermia,” I said dryly to Bilbo, my eyes remaining locked with Elijah’s as he chuckled.

“If a job’s worth doing…” he replied with a wink that made my stomach flip over disconcertingly as he held out a hand towards me in invitation.

I didn’t have time to think about it before my body lurched forward of its own accord, my hand already encased gently in his before my mind caught up. His skin was soft and so cold against mine. I felt a strange tingling sensation drifting from the point of contact and sending every nerve in my arm and then my body firing off unknown signals that would have felt amazing if it hadn’t been for the panic that shot through my chest at the same time. This wasn’t safe. I was allowing this man’s warm eyes and kind smile to coax me into a trap I knew all too well there might be no escape from. My entire body stiffened around those few inches of skin that were joined, every muscle beginning to ache with the tension that instantly took over as my eyes drifted up to his in alarm.” © H.A. Robinson 2016

 


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

The part I hate the most is synopsis writing. I know a lot of authors have the same issue. I’d sooner write a full-length novel than attempt to use 250 words or so to summarise it!


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?
No, I’ve never had to travel anywhere for them, though I definitely think that places I’ve been have influenced what I write.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

 The covers and all my graphics are designed by L.J. Stock of LJ Designs. She is the single most talented lady I’ve ever met!


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

 Fitting in the time to write in between work, editing and real life commitments.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

 I think I learn something new each time I write. I think my biggest learning curve with Max, aside from just learning about the process in general, was that I am actually capable of doing things I put my mind to!

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

LOL well, as a giant Tom Hiddleston fan, I would cheerfully see him play anybody in anything I ever write!


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

 I don’t know if I’m really qualified to give advice to anybody else, but the one piece of advice I can give is: If you want to be a writer, you have to sit down and write. Nobody ever got a book published by dreaming.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Just THANK YOU! I have an incredible group of people who support and help to promote my books and I will never be able to do anything amazing enough to thank them for their help!

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

 I’m currently reading A Clash of Kings, the second Game of Thrones book.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Oh gosh, no I don’t. I don’t think I remember back that far. It was probably something like The Very Hungry Caterpillar or something.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry? My friends make me laugh every single day. They are the best! Not too much makes me cry, but a weepy movie or looking back at photos of my big sister will do it.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

 Oh wow… So many! I have to choose just one? I guess I’ve always adored Jane Austen’s books, so I’d love to meet her. Though, they say you should never meet your heroes, so I don’t know!

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

She lived. Because I hope that I do and will continue to do so. Losing my sister far too young has taught me that life is short and if you want it, you have to go out and grab it.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

 I love doing lots of things. I’m a huge reader, I enjoy watching films, watching football, playing the piano and singing, hanging out with my friends and goofing about, spending time with my family and travelling to new places.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I absolutely love Game of Thrones and Supernatural. They’re my drop everything to watch them shows. I love anything by Marvel in terms of films, and also all the Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter films.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

My favourite food is cake, favourite colour is red and my favourite music would be impossible to choose. As a musician, I couldn’t live in a world with no music. I love everything from classic rock to classical and everything in between.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

When I was younger, I wanted to be a pilot. Bit random, I know!

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I don’t have a website but I do have a Facebook page where I post all my book news. You can find me here: https://www.facebook.com/HARobinsonAuthor/

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B010M4R8JY/

