Name: Nicole Garcia

Age: 36

Where are you from?

I’m from Brooklyn, New York and a mother of four kids. Three of my children have special needs. my two boys are Autistic, and my youngest daughter has a learning disability. I also have a degree in Nursing, but have been a stay at home mom for the last 9 years. My hobbies are reading and reviewing books. I am completely addicted to audiobooks.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Well, I have recently earned the title of  New York Times Bestselling Author and I have ventured out of my comfort zone and am writing in a brand new genre.

 

 

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing three years ago. I began to write as an outlet to cope with a personal issue and since then I have not been able to stop. There are so many stories I need to tell and have been blessed with many fans who not only support my work, but have become great friends as well.

 

 


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I would say last year when I started becoming more recognized by more people. I have always been a writer, ever since I was a teenager writing poetry, but I think I felt more of an author this past year.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I was going some some personal problems and it was right before Christmas, and since I always wrote out my feelings better than speaking them, I decided to write a small book.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Yes. I am what you call a pantser. I write as I go. Of course I write down main ideas and events, but mostly I let the character do the talking.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

For Noelle’s Wish, I just wanted something Christmasy, but still have the reader an insight of what the book was about.

 

 


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Hope. I wanted to give the reader hope. I wanted show them that no matter how bad you think your life is or no matter what life throws at you, there is always a chance it will get so much better.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I always add a piece of myself or experiences in my books. Whether it be my favorite food or personal hardship.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I have quite a few authors that have helped me home my skill as a writer and it’s ways a learning process, but I have to say I’ve learned a lot from Tina Folsom and Claudy Conn. Both have different writing styles, but both are amazing writers.

 

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Wow, I have so many favorites. Claudy Conn, Tina Folsom, Michelle Mankin, and Riley Murphy are my absolute favorites. Each write a different genre of romance but all are fantastic writers. They write so descriptive and beautifully you feel as though you are part of the story.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I have a whole team of fans and friends that support me. My completely amazing street team, along with my editor Patty Hanson and my best friend Dawn Sullivan have all contributed to my writing in some way or another.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely. It’s more than just a career. It’s a way of life for me. I couldn’t live day to day without it.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I am pretty happy with how it turned out. My latest work is a paranormal romance which I love to write, and my narrators brought my story to life, so I’m very pleased in how it turned out.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Yes, reading Edgar Allan Poe’s work. I absolutely loved poetry as a teenager and wanted to write my own.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I am currently writing in a new genre for me, BDSM. Here’s a little snippet from my work in progress Burning Desire.

Allison shivered at the sound of his voice and her hands began to shake. The curiosity of what he had in store for her was exhilarating and was now overpowering the fear she’d been holding on to. But, did she trust him? Did she trust him enough to relinquish all control over to him? To give herself over to him completely without questions or trepidation? She didn’t know for sure, but with the way he was seducing her mind right now, she was more than willing to try.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, unfortunately I don’t travel at all yet. Having four kids kind of limits my travel schedule.

 

 


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I actually have two cover designers. Dawn Sullivan, who is not only my cover designer, but is also my best friend and critique partner. She is my constant support and helps me whenever I get writer’s block or need a little a something added to my stories. I would not be where I am today without her. My other cover designer is Anya Kelleye with Anya Kelleye Designs, who is not only an amazing cover artist, but a great friend as well.

 

 


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Time. Since I am a mother of four I have to fit in my writing whenever I can.

 

 


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned so much from each of the books I have written, but I have also leaneed a lot from my fans as well as other authors. Mostly I learned of hope. There is always hope for a happily ever after.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

Hmm, so many great choices. Since I am a huge Chris Hemsworth fan, I’d have to choose him to play one of the Gods in my Roman God Romance series.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Never give up your dream of writing if that’s what you really want to do. And read! Read, read, read. You can learn so much just by reading other authors books. There are also books on how to be a better writer. Learn the skill and establish your own style of writing.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Yes. I want to thank all my readers for supporting me throughout my writing process, sharing my work, and reviewing my books. I can’t convey how appreciative I am.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am in between books, but have just finished a three part series called Find Me, Remember Me, Keep Me by Michelle Mankin. I absolutely love her books.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Yes, the first book I ever read was The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats. I couldn’t wait to learn to read and constantly asked my grandmother to teach me.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I cry for everything, hurt animals, a beautiful poem, I’m very sensitive and have a big heart. I also love to laugh. My children keep me very entertained and are a big source of my happiness.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

There are so many to choose from, but I would love to meet V.C. Andrews since it was her books that have me the reading of romance bug.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Reading and listening to music. I can’t go one day without either one of them.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love horror movies! I so have two favorite shows which I watch religiously and haven’t missed an episode since they aired, The Walking Dead and Once Upon A Time. I have an eclectic taste.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

My favorite foods are pizza and macaroni and cheese. Does chocolate count as food? It should, cause I can go a day without it. My favorite color is purples and I love all kinds of music.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Well, I was a nurse for a few years, but I have always wanted to be an accountant. Weird right? Ever since I was a kid I have always loved Math and numbers. I received many awards and really enjoyed the subject.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

No, but I’m slowly working on that.

Amazon Authors Page http://www.amazon.com/Nicole-Garcia/e/B00HHWRUNY/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1461594867&sr=1-2-ent

 

 

