Name: Ali Winters

Where are you from: Oregon

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

After high school I went to school and got a BS in photography, then later I went back for another degree in massage therapy. I currently live with my husband and two furbabies in the land of wide open space and lots of wind.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I have one novel releasing on May 1st. Star Dust. It’s the first installment in the Force Of Gravity series. (They are all interconnected but can be read as standalones.) May 15th I will have another book Army of the Winter Court up for preorder, and it publishes on June 15th – that book is part of the Skeleton Key Project. 30 authors, 30 stories. All stand alones in the same series, all connected by a skeleton key.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I used to write poetry and short stories in high school but after that for many years I focused on photography instead. Back in December 2013 I wrote the first scene of The Reapers and I’ve been writing my fingers off since then.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I don’t think I ever thought about it, but I suppose when I hit publish on my first novel.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I wanted to read something different than what was out there, and late one night as I was falling asleep the idea for The Reapers hit me.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I think I do. I try to infuse subtle humor into a lot of my stories, even during the very serious scenes.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I try to use elements of the story that tell the reader something about the book but at the same time something that doesn’t give anything away.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I think that my books could get across a lot of messages, but I think I enjoy it most when the readers decide what that message is. I’m just happy if they enjoy the strange worlds I create.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

None of it that I can think of. At least not in any direct kind of way.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Douglas Adams, Peter S. Beagle, and Piers Anthony were very influential authors I’ve grown up reading.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Douglas Adams. And it’s his humor that brings me back to his books over and over.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My friends. I would name all the people who supported me but it would be a really long list and I wouldn’t want to forget anyone.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

My goal is to ultimately become a fulltime writer.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I don’t think so. I’m really happy with it. I love the story and the world that I created and I can’t imaging it going in any other direction.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

It varies from book to book and whatever is going on in my life. But there’s a challenge in each book I’ve written. While it’s stressful, I don’t think writing would be as enjoyable if there weren’t challenges I had to overcome.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

There is no traveling required for my books, while some locations in my stories are based on places I’ve been to, I’ve never actually named a city or place because I don’t want the reader to focus on that. I want them to enjoy the story.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Amygdala Art designed the covers for The Hunted Series.

Red Umbrella Graphic Designs did the covers for the Force Of Gravity series.

JM Rising Horse Creations is doing the cover for Army of the Winter Court.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Research, everything. The publishing process, mistakes to avoid when writing, etc. There’s a lot of info out there. Find the stuff that works for you. Never stop trying to improve.

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

Douglas Adams, Peter S. Beagle. I’d love to meet them because I’ve read their books more times than I can remember and they’ve influenced me in so many ways.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Photography, knitting, photomanipulation, reading, and doing anything where I’m creating something.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I think, my favorite food might be sushi. Favorite color? Green. Music? Most music, but less of the mainstream stuff. I like music from Classical to indie, to rap, to techo, and everything inbtween.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Photography, because you can still tell amazing stories with just one photograph.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.aliwinters.com

www.facebook.com/authoraliwinters

www.amazon.com/author/aliwinters

 

 

Buy links:

 

The Reapers: http://www.amazon.com/Reapers-Hunted-Book-1-ebook/dp/B00Y7I74SW/

 

Flirting With Death: http://www.amazon.com/Flirting-Death-Hunted-short-story-ebook/dp/B017I5UHFC/

 

Star Dust: http://www.amazon.com/Star-Dust-Force-Gravity-Book-ebook/dp/B01EBZ796C/

