Name JB Morris

Age 78

Where are you from

I live in Oregon in the United States. I worked with my father in the funeral home business. I served in the Army Reserves for ten years and was a TV weatherman. I served on a city council and three terms in the Oregon Legislature. I finished my career working in state government.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I am editing a crime thriller, A Killing Among Warriors for release in the fall. I am also writing a geo-political thriller, The Beijing Memorandum.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing poetry in high school.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Four or five years ago when I wrote my first book, Grace, an Unexpected Love.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

To overcome the doubts that I lack the skill to write a novel.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I write short sentences and crisp dialogue. I use specifics in describing an object. I include descriptions of the sights, sounds and smells of a scene. My POV is omniscient.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The title was the summary of the story.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

The beauty and depth of love between races.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I based the story on my fascination with the challenges in a mixed marriage.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Any Tom Clancy, Louis L’Amour or Nora Roberts book. They taught me pacing, scene description, and expressing human emotion.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I read The English’ Girl by Daniel Silva. I enjoyed his skill in telling the story and his remarkable scene description. The pacing of the story was excellent.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I don’t believe there is one.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes. I have experienced many careers. Writing is the next one.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I retired my first book because I am a better writer today.

I pulled my second book to add new material, cover, and title. I finally found my

“voice” and writing style. I will release the book, A Killing Among Warriors in the fall.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Words exploded in my mind that would not leave me, so I wrote them down for relief.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Rape did that to President Hu Xin’s private secretary Loo Liling. Left her life on empty. Nightmares—depression—fear of being touched. All of it. And more. Obsessions. Repeated showers couldn’t wash away the stench of President Hu’s sweat. Crying and yelling failed to dissipate her devastation and humiliation. Withdrawal left her confused, frightened. Terrifying nightmares left her bathed in sweat. When would he rape her again? Tomorrow? The following day? Both days?

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Finding the perfect words for the first sentence of a new scene. They are the catalyst for the words that follow.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I have used my vacation trips to help me with my writing. The internet is also a helpful tool. It gives you most of everything except the smells.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I am currently searching for a designer

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Editing. Oh God, I hate editing. But I am a perfectionist, and that requires a ton of editing.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I am a damn good storyteller. Proud of my accomplishments

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Anyone but Tom Cruise. He was awful portraying Tom Clancy’s Jack Reacher.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Learn the craft of writing. Learn it well.

DON’T GIVE UP AND QUIT!

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

You have been very supportive and for that I am grateful.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Hidden Carmina by Adri Sinclair

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I cannot recall laughing when I am reading. I’ll cry when there is the pain of loss.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Writer, EM Kaplan. We trade comments. We both have a strange sense of humor.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

You have only one life to live. Make it count. The words reflect my philosophy.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

No

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Anything that does not require me to think. I don’t watch drama TV shows. Movies, science, nature and home shows are the mainstays for entertainment

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Red is an outstanding color for a book cover, and classical music creates a relaxing atmosphere for writing

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I dreamed of being career military and law enforcement. Now I wish I had become a serious writer when I was a young man.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

jbmorrisbooks.com

Authors Amazon Page http://www.amazon.com/JB-Morris/e/B00NVLYFEM/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

