Name: Lorraine Nelson

Age: 58

Where are you from?

I live in Salisbury, New Brunswick, Canada. I worked in Accounting for years, but due to health problems, I had to give that up. Most recently, I worked in a call centre answering phones and filling out forms for customers.

I have three boys, all grown, and six grandchildren, four boys and two girls. When I’m not spending time with family, I can be found reading or writing. I also enjoy walking and gardening and can’t wait for spring to arrive.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news…

Daydreams and Night Scenes is my latest release (April 4th). It’s a contemporary romance where billionaire playboy meets neighbor’s foster child fully grown. I had entered it in a Kindle Scout campaign vying to get a publishing contract (and the inside scoop on their marketing). It had over 1000 page views and several hours in the Hot and Trending section. It didn’t win but it sure gave me plenty of advance publicity.

Guarding Flint, the first book in my new series, Wyoming Secrets, released in January. The second book coming soon. 😀

In December last year I was so excited to do my first Author Fair and public signing. It was held at the Moncton library and had an excellent turn out. As most of my books are now available in print, I had a real good showing, which resulted in plenty of sales. So the venue was a success all around. 😀

I have also started two other western series…Crosswinds Ranch, which is looking like it might be more for YA. And Loving in Lostwood, about the rebuilding of a ghost town and the lives and loves of its inhabitants. It’s a project that’s been on the back burner way too long.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing adult fiction as a hobby six years ago while on medical leave for hand surgery. With the aim of gaining more flexibility in my fingers, I began doing typing tests and such. Easily bored, an idea came to mind and I sat at the computer and started writing. J When I finished that first manuscript, Love on the Rocks, seven weeks later, I was thrilled! Then came the process of editing, tweaking, and polishing until I felt it was ready to send.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

In sixth grade, I won an IODE award for an essay I’d written. Although I’d always scribbled poems and short stories as they came to me, that was the first recognition I’d received outside of my family. To write romance and romantic suspense is my dream come true, although my mom says I was born with an avid imagination and pencil in hand, crafting stories from an early age.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

New Brunswick is a beautiful province and I was doing a typing test about The Rocks at Hopewell Cape. It’s an amazing sight to see. Some of it is pictured on the cover of my novel. An idea sprang to mind and I saw it so clearly that I had to write it down. Love on the Rocks – myBook.to/LoveontheRocks

 

 


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

A writing style? Me? I don’t think so. Hectic. Eclectic. Whatever comes to mind at that moment. Almost anything goes some days. A few people have told me that my writing is like Nora Robert’s. That impressed the heck out of me, as she is one of my favorite authors. 😀

 

 


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Most of the time when I start to write, the title is just there.

Like with Love on the Rocks. It fit.

Daydreams and Night Scenes is about a young girl’s fantasies concerning the billionaire’s son next door. When they meet up later in life, her daydreams get her into trouble and the night scenes…well, that speaks for itself.

Again, with Finding Baby J, Shana found a baby boy and didn’t like the John Doe tag, so from the first she thought of him as Baby J.

Zakia and the Cowboy came about when I worked at the call centre. A woman named Zakia called in and she had a bit of a western twang. It immediately conjured up a story for me.
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Family is everything. Most of my stories are about family bonds, love, caring, making that certain someone feel special and knowing they’d have your back as you have theirs.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

My stories are pure fiction, for the most part. I’ve always had a good imagination so I put it to good use. Some locations are real, but the people, never. I tend to fall in love with my heroes, so I wouldn’t dare model them after anyone I know. 😀

 

 


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life? a mentor?

Other than the Bible, I can’t say that any books have influenced my life. Some I remember, some I don’t. The closest I’ve ever had to a mentor was my 8th grade English teacher. The more praise I received, the harder I tried. I guess the same can be said for most people, especially kids.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Wow! There are way too many to name. I love a good romantic suspense, regardless of who writes it. 😀

 

 


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Only one? I would have to say my critique partners.

 

 


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, I do…my dream, my career, my life.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Nope, not a thing, except maybe to release it sooner. I wrote Daydreams and Night Scenes during NANO, 2009, and it sat all this time because I never got around to editing it. Shame on me. lol

 

 


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Not really. It’s just one way to shut up the characters clamoring to have their story told. And it keeps me sane…at least, I like to think so. lol

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I’m currently writing A Cowboy’s Dream, Book 8 in The Thunder Creek Ranch series with Evernight Publishing.

Here’s a brief excerpt:

Chapter One

 

Jack Grayson was feeling mighty proud of himself as he packed his bags to head home. The dorm room he shared with Jeremy Hutchins had been home for him these past three years while he studied agriculture in the hopes of making his family’s spread more profitable. He could barely wait to be home so he could start putting his ideas into practice.

Yesterday, the entire Manning/Grayson clan, except for Roy, had shown up at his graduation, taking up a large portion of the seating. They’d hollered, cheered, whistled, and took dozens of photos as he received his diploma. Quite the contrast to the absolute silence while he’d given the valedictorian speech. He’d finished tops in his class and he enjoyed representing the other students, most of them friends. His speech gave all his fellow students praise and direction as they move forward. Yes, he was proud, and rightly so, as his mother would say.

“Well, that’s it Jeremy. If I’ve forgotten anything and you want it, keep it. If not, trash it. Of course, you’re still welcome to come home with me for the summer.”

Jeremy had no family and worked his way through college. He would be starting his second year in the fall, and Jack thought it would be good practice for him to spend time on a working ranch.

He glanced up from the book he was reading. “If I did, I’d probably lose my job and I need it to pay for my studies. Student loans don’t cover enough.”

“I hear ya, but if you can get away for a few days, give me a call and I’ll come pick you up. It might do you good to get away for a while.”

“I’d love to visit Thunder Creek if I can get more than two days off in a row. You speak so longingly of your ranch and the people there, I just know I’d love it. Need any help?”

“No, I’m good. I hope to get your call soon. Bye, Jeremy.”

“Bye, Jack. I hope I get another roommate as nice and as neat as you.”

“Don’t worry about that, just enjoy having the space to yourself for the summer.”

Jeremy grinned. “Yeah, hadn’t thought of that. Drive careful.”

“Always do.” Jack hefted the box under his arm, then grabbed both suitcases and headed out the door. He took the stairs two at a time, feeling as if he needed to rush, only to get outside and see Loreena standing beside his truck.

She was a beautiful woman, but she’d proved to be too high-maintenance for him. Today she’d poured herself into a skintight, short yellow sundress. How she walked in those six-inch heels was beyond him.

He’d dated Loreena Wright during his senior year, until she’d become so possessive and needy that he’d found himself spending more time with her and less on his studies. So, he’d broke it off and she wasn’t happy about it.

“Hi, Loreena,” he said as he stored his belongings in the cab. “I’m just leaving.”

“I’ve missed you, Jackie. My roommate’s already gone. Can we get together once more for old times’ sake?”

He gritted his teeth at her pet name for him. She knew it annoyed him. There was no sense correcting her on it now. With a little luck, their paths would never cross again. “Sorry, Loreena. I’m looking forward to being home.” He walked around to the driver’s side and opened the door. Loreena followed and sidled up to him, preventing him from being able to get in and close the door.

She raised her arms to rest against his chest, moving slowly over his male nipples in the process. “But Jackie, darling, you know you want to.”

He removed her hands. “No, Loreena, I don’t want to. It’s over. There’s nothing between us anymore and I’m going home.”

“But I love you,” she whined.

Jack was fast losing patience. “Listen carefully. I. Don’t. Love. You. I can’t make it any plainer than that.”

“We were so good together. We can be like that again.”

“No, we can’t. Goodbye, Loreena.”

She still didn’t move, so he picked her up and set her down away from the door, then he got in his truck and started the engine. As he backed out of his assigned parking spot, she vaulted over the tailgate and sat in the back of his pick-up. Jack was so furious, he ground the gears and stalled the truck when he shifted into park and got out.

“Get out of my truck or I’m calling campus security.”

She rose on her hands and knees and crawled over close to where he stood. He couldn’t help but notice her ample breasts all but falling out of her dress. A Loreena special. She seemed to think sex cured all.

“Take me with you, Jackie. Please.”

“No.” He saw the security vehicle in the parking lot for the adjacent dorm and flagged him over.

“What’s the problem here?” the guard asked.

Loreena started crying and crumpled into a heap of yellow in the box of his truck.

“Has this man hurt you?”

“No, but he…he’s leaving and he wants to leave me and his unborn child behind,” she sobbed.

The security guard shot a disgusted look in his direction. “Is this true, young man?”

“What? No! We haven’t been together in months,” Jack exclaimed.

She cried louder. “I know you drank a lot that night, but you really don’t remember our Valentine’s date?”

“Not a chance, Loreena. Pick another fool. We broke up long before Christmas. Now, for the last time, get out of my truck.”

“Can I at least have your address so I can send you a picture of the baby?” she sobbed.

“No, because if you are with child, and I highly doubt it, it isn’t mine.” He glanced at the security guard. “Either you get her out of my truck or I’m calling the police.”

“Now, now, there’s no reason to be nasty.” He lowered the tailgate and held out his arms to Loreena.

She crawled over and he picked her up. Loreena wrapped her arms around his neck. “Thank you for being so nice to me.”

“No, problem. Where do you want to go, sweetheart?”

The guard carried her toward his vehicle and Jack couldn’t hear her answer, but he could readily imagine. Not his problem. He closed the tailgate and hopped into his truck, not wasting any time in case she changed her mind and tried to jump in the back again. He didn’t allow himself a relieved breath until he drove up the highway ramp headed for home.

 

And so it begins. Lol Allison Wakefield is the new vet in town and when she and Jack meet, the very air sizzles. But as always, trouble is just around the corner.

 

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I’m always afraid that one story will sound like the next, but so far, that hasn’t been a problem. It’s seems I’m just loaded with new ideas. If only I could type faster. lol

 

 


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I haven’t traveled at all, but I hope to in the future.

 

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I’ve done a lot of the self-published covers myself. Jay Aheer does the Evernight covers now. Dawn Dominique designed Suited to be a Cowboy, although I picked out the pictures. When Breathless Press went belly up, I got the rights back to four books and purchased the covers done by their cover artists.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Writing has never been difficult for me. When I sit down to write, the words are just there. That said, writing for friends and family is a lot different than writing for the public.

 

 


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

From which book? lol I’ve learned a lot since I began writing for adults in 2009. For instance…someone changed the grammar rules concerning commas since I finished college. And head-hopping? Who knew it was a no no for new authors?

 

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

Thinking of Daydreams and Night Scenes, I can see Richard Gere and Julia Roberts playing the lead roles. It has a Pretty Woman meets Cinderella kind of theme. 😀

 

 


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

If the muse is in you to write, then write. Don’t allow anyone or anything to discourage you from achieving your dream. Writing involves a continuous learning curve and plenty of research, so be prepared. Start building your platform now. Social media can be a good support system when it comes to marketing.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I love my readers! Their support and praise for my work never ceases to amaze me. 😀

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just finished Rebellion by Nora Roberts. It was an excellent read about the MacGregor elders.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I remember the first one I bought to read—The Secret Panel, Hardy Boys #25. My babysitting money was spent on books from age eleven.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

A good book can do both. J So can my kids. LOL

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would like to meet and why?

Patrick Swayze…I love his moves. 😀

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

We’re all going to die someday, but I hate to think about it. I suppose it would read: Here lies a loving mother and grandmother whose books still entertain the world. 😀

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing, do you have any hobbies ?

Well, I love to read and I enjoy gardening, crocheting, and baking.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I really don’t watch much TV. I do enjoy CSI, Criminal Minds, House, and The 100.

My all time favorite movies are Gone with the Wind and Dirty Dancing.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I love a good Chinese meal once in a while and just about anything with chicken in it. My favorite colors are pink and purple. I enjoy country music, but not when I’m writing.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I worked in accounting for many years, but I much prefer staying home to write these days. 😀

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Website – http://lorrainenelson.weebly.com

Blog – http://lorrainenelson.wordpress.com

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/LorraineNelson.Author

Twitter – https://twitter.com/LorraineNelson_

Amazon – http://amzn.to/1xTN542

 

 

Daydreams and Night

 

A night of love..Fantasy or Fateful Alliance?

Miranda Stuart is lushly built, hauntingly beautiful, career-oriented, and extremely intelligent, but thanks to a teenage crush on Alex Denning, a man who was way out of her league, she acts out of character when they meet up years later at a posh resort. When she finds out his room is adjoining hers, she determines to have her fantasy night in his arms. When the night’s magic should have begun (unbeknownst to him) our dashing, billionaire playboy enters the scene with bright lights blaring and another woman in tow. Had she just set herself up for blackmail?

 

 

Guarding Flint

Ella Delaney is a small town girl with a big heart, except when it concerns Flint Harrington. She’s working a case when her son’s long absent father winds up in the middle of her stakeout.

Flint reconnects with Ella during his working vacation in Thayne, Wyoming, hoping for a long overdue reconciliation. But shots fired at him coupled with his daughter’s kidnapping has Ella investigating him instead.

Can they work out their troubled past while surviving present dangers? Or the better question…after the way Flint left years ago without a word, can he count on Ella’s help?

 

 

Finding Baby J

One lonely woman, a doctor afraid of commitment… Will finding Baby J help them find each other?

 

Shana Davis knows what it’s like to be unloved and unwanted. Her childhood involved being shuffled from one foster home to the next. One night, as her shift at Mercy hospital comes to an end, she hears a forlorn, mewling sound and finds a newborn baby boy left in a dumpster. The abandoned baby appeals to her soft heart and her immediate attachment to the child—dubbed Baby J—leads to her spending a lot of time in the Maternity Ward in the company of the handsome Dr. Daniels.

Dr. Kagan Daniels is heart-sore and commitment-shy due to his failed marriage and past experiences with selfish, cold-hearted women. But he sees a gentle, caring soul in Shana and is drawn to her. Despite his reservations, he realizes he wants to get to know her better and finds excuses to spend time in her company.

Having always wanted to be a daddy, Kagan adopts Baby J. As he and Shana grow closer, Shana feels she’s found her own private heaven. She has Baby J and the man of her dreams. What more could a woman want?

But a conniving woman, a manipulative mother, and a man from Shana’s past threaten to come between them. Will the lies spewed by others separate them forever? Or can their love win out over all?

 

