Name Gary Raisor

 

Age Old. So old even vampires go, “Damn son, your ass is old.”

 

Where are you from

Lots of places. Atlanta, Chicago, Louisville, the dark side of the moon. Went to lots of different colleges, worked at lots of different jobs, got bored with them all. Married for awhile. Got bored with that, too.

 

Tell us your latest news

Working on a prequel to an old vampire novel I did back in ’92. Less Than Human. It was nominated for a Stoker. The prequel will be serialized in Dark Discoveries magazine.

 

When and why did you begin writing

I started in the mid 80’s with THE HORROR SHOW and NIGHT CRY magazines. Why? Had to find something that interested me besides getting drunk every night. I’d achieved the American dream, house in the ‘burbs, wife and kid, a good job, and it was boring the shit out of me.

 

When did you first consider yourself a writer

I don’t. I just play one on TV.

 

What inspired you to write your first book

See when and why I began writing. Also I got some encouragement from a real writer, Joe. R. Lansdale, who suggested I write a novel. I gave it a shot and it was published by Berkley Books out of New York. Think there’s eight editions of the book now, including an audio book read by Bryan Reid.

 

Do you have a specific writing style

No, not really. I sort of let the story dictate the style.

 

How did you come up with the title for your first book

I wrote down about twenty titles I thought might apply. I picked the one that I found least odious.

 

Is there a message in your novel you want readers to grasp

Yeah, several, actually. Things like tolerance and fairness and atonement for one’s sins. But if they didn’t get them from the book, then I failed as a writer.

 

How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life

It’s a combination of things, people I knew, most are dead now, and a bunch of made-up bs loosely based on things I’d seen or done. My life, growing up, wasn’t like that of kids today who spend their days with their faces jammed in an electronic device. I roamed the woods, I swam in the lake, rode horseback in the snow, listened to ghost stories by the fireplace. I lived my life firsthand, not through youtube.

 

What books have influenced your life most, a mentor

As a kid, anything by Edgar Rice Burroughs, H.G. Wells. The Island of Dr. Moreau by Wells, read by me at age eleven, probably drew me to the dark side, I still like to read King and Straub, along with Karl Edward Wagner, one of the greatest short story writers of all time in my humble opinion, but I’d have to say my favorite writer is Joe Lansdale. I wouldn’t call Joe a mentor exactly. Let’s call him a good friend who’s certainly given me some sage advice over the years.

 

Do you see writing as a career

Not these days. Not unless you’re already famous. I used to see writing as a career, a calling, until the advent of the self-published. Now me and a lot of my fellow writers are just more faces in a sea of faces beating the drum of “please read my work.”

 

Amazon Authors page http://www.amazon.com/Gary-Raisor/e/B0069GGRZ6/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1459945688&sr=1-2-ent

