Name Melissa Keir

Age: 49

Where are you from:

I grew up in a small town along the Lake Erie coast in Ohio. It was a blissful childhood, playing outside with my four younger sisters. We loved to create stories at night in bed to help each other sleep. Today, I’m a wife, mother, teacher, radio movie reviewer, author and CEO of a publishing house.

My life is much like the Brady Bunch but without Alice. I have to do the laundry and shopping. I wouldn’t change anything in my life. Each event has brought me to here today!

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I have two books releasing in May. The first is To Protect and Love which releases on May 3rd. It’s a box set featuring my book “Protecting His Wolfe”, the first in the Pigg Detective Agency series.

The second box set releases on May 24th. It features the second book in the Pigg Detective Agency series, “Protecting Her Pigg”. Each story is a stand alone but is much more fun reading together!

 

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I wrote poetry and funny stories in high school. I loved playing with words and images. I didn’t start writing romances until 2012. I’d been reading and reviewing books for a blog site and a wonderful author suggested that I start writing my own stories.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

That’s a tough question. I’ve always considered myself a writer but it wasn’t until the first book was published that I considered myself an author.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

As I mentioned, an author suggested I give it a try. I wanted to share some of the characters in my head.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

My style is small town romance with sizzle. I love telling stories about characters who are flawed, real people, much like myself.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

My first book was Second Time’s the Charm and it featured a woman who found love again after a divorce. I wanted readers to understand that second chances were possible.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I always want readers to understand that love is for everyone. Hope exists in the world and love brings it to fruition.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I often use real life experiences in my stories, many from other people or things that I read. I like including them so that readers can see that life is unexpected and that love happens no matter what!

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Two authors that I read in college have stuck with me. Langston Hughes and Margaret Atwood write from a place that challenges the norm. Their stories and poetry showcase a unique world where things are different and it’s what I want to do with my stories. Life is too short not to grab it with both hands.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

The writing community as a whole has been super supportive. We all help each other and share promotions. Liz Crowe is considered my fairy godmother because she’s been my biggest cheerleader. I appreciate all the support I’ve been given and try to help others.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I do see writing as a career. It certainly takes up a lot of time. Although it’s not a big money maker, just like teaching wasn’t….Writing makes my life worthwhile.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here’s an excerpt from Protecting Her Pigg in the Summer Heat box set

The smell of stale bodies streamed into my office in the police precinct. The dreary puke-green paint and metal furniture reminded me of the setting of old Barney Miller television show. But Barney’s office was in a big city, while mine was in ‘small town Ohio’.

Pacing in my tiny office, I recalled Lucas Pigg’s dominating presence. With a scruffy beard and his piercing gaze, Lucas’s rugged good-looks shouted dangerous. Yeah, dangerous to a girl’s heart. He seemed like a guy used to getting what he wanted. However, Lucas was a suspect and therefore off limits, no matter what my hormones said. Arson had definitely caused the fire, but if he wasn’t the one who’d set it, then who? Finding out was the most important thing.

A knock sounded. My ankle boots clicked across the linoleum as I strode toward the door. I opened it and forgot to breathe. Lucas Pigg stood in front of me, alongside two other uber-sexy men. Together, they made a five-course meal of gorgeous.

“Come in, gentlemen. Please take a seat. I’m Lily O’Neill. I know Mr. Pigg,” I said, keeping my voice professional.

The tallest man with a quirky smile on his face pushed his hand into mine. “I’m Marcus Pigg, Lucas’s older brother. Lucas didn’t tell us how beautiful you are.”

A blush heated my face. Darn my fair skin.

Glaring at his brother, Lucas sat down and slouched in the metal chair across from my desk. The third man pulled on Marcus’s shoulders, forcing him to release my hand. “I’m Detective Jonah Pigg and the oldest of these ruffians. Thank you for meeting with us.”

Wow. God did something right when he made these men. Charming and professional, but with an air of danger.

Blurb:

I’ll huff and I’ll puff and I’ll burn your house down….

 

As chief arson investigator of a small town in Ohio, Lily O’Neill has always needed to be strong to survive in a man’s world.

 

Former military man, Lucas Pigg has kept his feelings buried for so long, he’s unsure of how to react when flames spark between Lily and him.

 

Arson and fire may bring them together, but their passion for one another could be more dangerous. What will cause the most damage…the arsonist bent on revenge or their own stubborn ways?

In Summer Heat:

Love this boxed set with 16 brand new short and sexy Contemporary Romance Novels from New York Times, USA Today, and international best-selling authors! This exciting romance bundle is guaranteed to make your blood run hot. Passion, steamy nights, adventure, and suspense. Cops, bad boys, special ops, fire fighters, military men. All your favorite alpha heroes and book boyfriends! Sexy romance, hot romance. The perfect beach read deal for your Kindle! Grab a cool drink (you’ll need it!), find a hammock, and curl up for an unforgettable boxed set of romance best sellers and award-winning authors.

AMAZON BUY LINK: http://amzn.com/B01C68B7W8

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I often use Shades of Rose for my ebook covers but each one is different. I love Kim Killion for my box sets. She’s amazing on the 3D covers.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest part of writing my book is sitting down and doing it. I let the characters tell the story and they like to get off target or go on a walkabout. So I have to plead, wrangle and bribe them to come back and talk to me.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Just do it! And see your edits as a learning opportunity rather than criticism. You can only get better!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you! You are the most wonderful part of being an author. I love sharing my stories with you and hearing from you. The notes and comments make my day and give me a reason to smile!

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The first book that I read was Captive Bride by Johanna Lindsay. I fell in love with the hero and wanted to find my own alpha male!

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Another tough question…there are so many people I’d love to meet. Keith Urban, hoping he’d leave Nicole for me. On that note, Tom Hiddleston…just to see him smile and hear him talk. I’d love to ask Langston Hughes about his life, because we don’t really know all the truth.

 

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

This would be a challenge. I’ve already decided to be cremated. I do visit my family cemetery when I go back to Ohio. It’s so peaceful talking to my mom and saying hello to my grandparents.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

When I had more time, I created jewelry. I also love to bake. I’m always cooking something but then I have to give it away rather than eat it.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Would you believe that I don’t watch TV shows? I go to the movies each week to do my review for the local radio station and I love the action movies. I’m a Marvel girl.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I listen to all types of music.

My favorite food is Pizza. It’s not just for breakfast and my favorite color is green. It matches my eyes.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I always tell my students that I’m not done learning yet. I’ve always wanted to be a race car driver but I was born into the wrong family. I probably would have been in the medical field if I hadn’t gone into teaching and writing.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

My website is http://www.melissakeir.com. On it you can find my blog, a list of my books including book trailers and my weekly movie reviews.

From the Box Set- Summer Heat

Love this boxed set with 16 brand new short and sexy Contemporary Romance Novels from New York Times, USA Today, and international best-selling authors! This exciting romance bundle is guaranteed to make your blood run hot. Passion, steamy nights, adventure, and suspense. Cops, bad boys, special ops, fire fighters, military men. All your favorite alpha heroes and book boyfriends! Sexy romance, hot romance. The perfect beach read deal for your Kindle! Grab a cool drink (you’ll need it!), find a hammock, and curl up for an unforgettable boxed set of romance best sellers and award-winning authors.

Featuring Protecting Her Pigg by Melissa Keir

Arson and fire bring them together, but what will cause the most damage…the arsonist bent on revenge or their own stubborn ways?

Book Trailer:

BUY LINKS:

Bitly links for Summer Heat – Love on Fire

Amazon USA: http://bit.ly/SumHt or http://bit.ly/SuHA

Google Play: http://bit.ly/1QVFyh8

Apple: http://apple.co/1TVjEcN

BN purchase: http://bit.ly/1VIZ7qJ  or http://bit.ly/SuHtBN

Kobo purchase: http://bit.ly/1XPUCvS or http://bit.ly/SuHKb

Goodreads: http://bit.ly/20CGJBa or http://bit.ly/SuHtGdR

SummerHeatAuthors.com: http://bit.ly/1oI4s7c

 

Melissa Keir – Bio

Melissa Keir has always wanted to be an author when she wasn’t hoping for a career as a race car driver.  Her love of books was instilled by her mother and grandparents who were avid readers. She’d often sneak books away from them so that she could fantasize about those strong alpha males and plucky heroines. In middle school and high school, Melissa used to write sappy love poems and shared them with her friends and still has those poems today! In college her writing changed to sarcastic musings on life as well as poems with a modern twist on fairy tales and won awards for her writing. You can find many of these musings along with her latest releases on her website and blog.

Melissa doesn’t believe in down time.  She’s always keeping busy.  Melissa is a wife and mother, an elementary school teacher, a book reviewer, owner of a publishing company as well as an author. Her home blends two families and is a lot like the Brady Bunch, without Alice- a large grocery bill, tons of dirty dishes and a mound of laundry. She loves to write stories that feature happy endings and is often seen plotting her next story.

http://www.melissakeir.com

http://www.melissakeir.com/blog.html

http://www.facebook.com/AuthorMelissaKeir

http://www.facebook.com/melissaakeir

http://www.amazon.com/Melissa-Keir/e/B0078TCJX2/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1435145881&sr=8-2-ent

 

