Name: LP Maxa

Age: 31(I have gray hair)

Where are you from: I grew up in Waller, Tx. Which is a small town outside of Houston. I left after high school and really haven’t been back much since then. My family all moved out of Waller after I graduated as well…I miss it every once in a while.

 

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc:

I went to Texas State University in San Marcos, where I spent way more time floating the river than I did going to class. I am now married, to my badass husband, and we have a little girl.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Well, I actually do have some exciting news! My publisher just green lighted a novella between my third and fourth books! So that’s going to be a lot of fun 🙂

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I have always wanted to be a writer. Always. And I LOVE to read! One day I was sitting at home reading a romance novel and thought “I want to do that.” So I did. And I have had such a blast these past two years!

 

 


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I self published my first book, St. Leasing. I was beyond giddy and so excited to have actually written a novel. I felt very accomplished.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I’ve always been a day dreamer. And the characters and story line for St. Leasing came from a day dream I had about an amazing alpha male 😉

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I really loving reading as well as writing dialogue. It’s my favorite part, the interactions between the characters. I love sass and inside jokes. I think it makes the characters come to life in a really special way.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The series I’m currently promoting is titled The Devil’s Share. The first book in the series is Play Nice, then there is Play Dirty, and Play Fair will be released next month. I came up with The Devil’s Share, which is the name of the rock band the books are about, after watching a whiskey commercial. The talked about the devil’s cut and the angels share. I combined the two. And I love it.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

What I love about The Devil’s Share series is the closeness between my characters. Friends become family. And it’s them against the world. I love strong bonds like that, you don’t have to be blood to be unbreakable.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The characters in The Devil’s Share series are made up. But they all have elements of people I love in them. All my books contain little pieces of me and my life. I feel like with every story you tell, you leave part of yourself in it…It’s therapeutic to me. I get to share my favorite memories and the only people who know it, are the people who have lived it.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I love reading the classics; The Great Gatsby, To Kill a Mockingbird, Anne of Green Gables. I love reading rock and rock auto biographies, I’ve read some Aerosmith ones, a couple about the Stones. And of course I ready about a dozen romance novels a month. I love reading in general. I feel like every book we read, influences us. Shapes us to some extent.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My friends have been amazingly supportive. And my readers! I have the best readers. They keep me going, they make me feel like I’m way cooler than I actually am. I have several readers who I have become really good friends with as well. I am so lucky, I have a really spectacular support system.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I would love to make writing my full time career. It’s a goal of mine! That and being a guest on the Talking Dead, of course. I’m getting close…it’ll happen soon.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

In my latest book…I don’t think so. Play Fair will be released next month and it’s very different from Play Dirty. It’s more heart and soul and less dirty talk and angst. But I wouldn’t change it.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

From a young age I loved words. I loved to talk and read and write. I was always writing down quotes and lines from books I loved.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Right now I’m working on the novella I mentioned earlier. It follows the main character from Play Nice on their journey becoming parents. It’s sweet and funny, just really light hearted and fun.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Conflict! My editor will agree. I have such a hard time causing strife between my characters. I hate making them suffer.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I am just now starting to do signing and author events. I will be in Nashville in September and I am so pumped! Some of my readers turned friends will be meeting me there and I can’t wait to hang out with them in person.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The covers for the Devil’s Share series were done by my publisher Borough’s Publishing Group

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Again, conflict. It’s always conflict for me. I want people to fall in love, have mind blowing sex, and live happily ever after.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead? Hahahaha I wish! Maybe if they asked me 5 years ago…Now I’d hire some hot chick to play the lead for sure.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write. If you want to be a writer, write. Keep a journal, jot down your thoughts, do a blog. Put it all out there and don’t be ashamed.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you!! You guys are all amazing and I am so grateful for your support. Y’all keep me laughing and you keep me writing.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now

I just finished Sex Machine, which is the latest book in the Fallen Crest series. Loved it. Love Logan Kade.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

First chapter book I remember reading is Say Goodnight Gracie. It’s so good and so heart breaking. I re read it every now and then.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My daughter cracks me up. And I love her so much it brings tears to my eyes.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I want to meet Norman Reedus!!! He’s a bad ass and I have a friend crush on him. I want us to be besties.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

I have insane anxiety. This question gives my heart palpitations

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Like I said before I love to read. It’s definitely one of my favorite hobbies.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I am a TV fanatic! I love the Walking Dead, Banshee, Teen Wolf, Bitten, the Orginals, Vampire Diaries, Nashville, Southern Charm… So many!

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music:

I love all classic rock, old school country, Mexican food, and the color gray.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Maybe a teacher? Or just a really rich person who spends all their time giving away money.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.lpmaxa.wordpress.com

 

Facebook Page https://www.facebook.com/LP-Maxa-1442560722667127/

 

Amazon Authors Page http://www.amazon.com/L.P.-Maxa/e/B00T1TJ192/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1459588010&sr=1-2-ent

