Name  Jerri Hines

            Colleen Connally- penname

Age     55

Where are you from

I’m from a small community in northeast Mississippi called Marietta. I now live outside of Boston on the South Shore with my husband. I have a degree in Medical Technology, but I love to read and write books. When my children got older, I was able to fulfil my dream and began to write.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’m in the middle of writing my second contemporary novel, the sequel to Fragmented, Boston’s Crimes of Passion series. Framed will be released later this year. I, also, have the conclusion to Winds of Betrayal coming up at the end of the year.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Writing was something I have always wanted to do. When I finally made the decision to write, I will be honest and confess I didn’t realize how hard it is to get the ideas floating around in your head down on paper. It took me years to finally find my voice.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I saw my book for sale for the first time. I can’t describe the joy.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The question would be what would you consider my first book. The first book I wrote was Whispers of the Legend. I loved Lord of the Rings. But my first effort fell short. Then, I wrote the first draft of Winds of Betrayal. But I couldn’t sell it. So I kept writing. Next, I wrote a paranormal mystery which Wild Child Publishing took.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I think every writer has their own special voice. But I don’t think I have a specific writing style.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

In the Southern Legacy serial, the first two individual book titles came to me. (Belle of Charleston, Shadows of Magnolia) Born To Be Brothers and the Sun Rises came from saying from the Civil War.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Southern Legacy is especially meaningful. It is a romance, but I believe if you read the book, you will pick up the message of survival, family, and love.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Southern Legacy is purely fictional, but I did pull from my Southern roots.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

To Kill a Mockingbird    Gone With The Wind   The Tale of Two Cities

Jane Eyre      Pride and Prejudice

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I have so many favorite authors. I couldn’t list them. I do have writer’s envy with a couple such as J.K. Rowlings and Suzanne Collins. I love their writing style and their plots- original and inventive.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Growing up as a child, I read all the time.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

My last book I published was Southern Legacy last November. It completed the serial which began with Belle of Charleston. It was a challenge to publish because I had to release each book as a cliffhanger.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I have been fortunate to have been able to travel to several locations I write about. I love to visit Charleston.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I have the best cover artist. Erin Dameron-Hill. (http://edhgraphics.blogspot.com/)


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Believe it or not, I find writing love scenes the hardest.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Never stop believing in yourself.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for your patience.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Can you believe that I haven’t read Gone Girl? I’m in the middle of it now.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

If you are talking about a romance book, it would have to be one of Victoria Holt’s.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I laugh at almost everything…except the things that make me cry…a sad book, movie or simply a sad story.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I have always been inspired by courageous acts. Irena Sendler was a woman who defied the Nazis in WWII and risked her life saving thousands of children from certain death. She inspired by book, Broken Legacy.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Reading, gardening, and playing with my grandson.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

The Blacklist, The Voice, The Big Bang Theory

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Popcorn, Red, and Country Music

Fiona: If you were not a writer, what else would you like to have done?

Not only do I write, I, also, work as a medical technologist at a major hospital in Boston.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

You can find me on a few places.

http://jerrihines.org/

http://www.jerrihines.blogspot.com/

Facebook:   https://www.facebook.com/southernlegacyseries/?fref=ts

https://www.facebook.com/Novel-Works-by-Jerri-Hines-112059205487095/?fref=ts

Twitter:   https://twitter.com/jhines340

https://twitter.com/ColleenConnally

 

Book links:

Southern Legacy Series:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01401B87I/ref=series_rw_dp_sw

Winds of Betrayal Series:

http://www.amazon.com/Winds-Betrayal-Books-Freedom-Embrace-ebook/dp/B00ICQXHX6/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

Fragmented:

http://www.amazon.com/Fragmented-Bostons-Crimes-Passion-Book-ebook/dp/B00H1BYWXM/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1459457109&sr=1-1&keywords=colleen+connally

Amazon Author Pages:

Jerri Hines:

http://www.amazon.com/Jerri-Hines/e/B0056GZUO4/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1459457225&sr=1-1

Colleen Connally:

http://www.amazon.com/Colleen-Connally/e/B008TPRBA0/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

