Name Kyle M. Scott

Age 40 going on 16

Where are you from

I’m from North Lanarkshire, Scotland. I live just outside the city of Glasgow, which I consider my spiritual home.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I’m a very proud father of a 4 year old girl. I studied Music with Sound Technology at Glasgow Caledonian University, and my background is in the arts. I’ve written and directed for Theatre, and performed in numerous local bands over the years, before I turned my hand to writing.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

It’s been a busy month. There’s a lot going on at present, so I’ll try to make it short.

I have the first of a new series of Novellas coming out on Kindle on April 1st under the Umbrella ‘Razorblade Candies’, and on the 11th a re-release of one of my novels will be hitting Kindle, titled, ‘Where the Dead Ones Play’. It’s being published by the popular horror author, Matt Shaw, under his new publishing house, and I couldn’t be more happy with it.

Also, Easter Sunday will see the release of a fantastic collection of short stories, all centered round the holiday, titled, ‘Easter Eggs and Bunny Boilers’. This one is also being published by Matt, and has perhaps the finest line-up of horror authors I’ve yet seen in a single collection. It’s going to be a great read, and I’m proud to be involved.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing properly around two or three years ago. It was a very organic thing for me. I’d wrote for Theatre, but never taken on the challenge of writing fiction. I ran a horror-themed website at the time, and I gradually grew tired of reviewing the art of others, and wanted to create my own art. The ideas were overflowing, so I jumped into the deep end and here we are.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Again, it happened organically. I’d written four shorts that I thought were worth sharing, so I decided to release them as the first Volume of my ‘Consumed’ series. The book sold very few copies but the reviews were very positive. It spurred me on to tackle my first full-length novel, ‘Devil’s Day’.

That book was very successful, and I quickly came to realize that this was what I was supposed to be doing with my life. So yeah, it was in the aftermath of that book’s release that I began to consider myself a real writer, and not merely Brian from Family Guy in human form.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I don’t really think I had a choice in the matter. The ideas for ‘Consumed’ were running around my mind for a few months before I’d decided to jump in and try to write, to the point where it was becoming troublesome.

I’d taken a back seat from the art world for nearly a decade, and the pull was very strong. I figured these stories would need to be written for the sake of my sanity. As I began writing, I realized that I had an affinity for it. I also enjoyed the process immensely. I was hooked immediately.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I try to be fearless in what I write, and I often inject dark humor into my work. I like to laugh in times of darkness, and I think that’s a universal thing. I also treat the reader as an intellectual equal, and never assume that my themes or concepts will be unfathomable. I never dumb down the metaphors, or short change the reader in any way. In essence, I’m the reader, too.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

For the new novella series, I used the title ‘Razorblade Candies’ as it seemed to really sum up the style of the tales. They’re fun, bite-size slices of horror that have a sharp edge. I love the old urban legends, and as these stories are basically my versions of campfire tales, I thought the title really suited.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

There are metaphors and social commentary in much of my work, but I’m not out to preach. I just enjoy exploring the dark side of our nature. I believe that readers will imprint their own personal meaning on a story, just as they do with good music, and that’s as art should be.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

There’s a lot of me in my works – my attitude, my outlook, my cares and of course, my fears. That said, I’m glad to say that none of the situations I write about have ever happened to myself or those I love. Some of them are very much grounded in the real world, and some are fanciful, but so far, none of them are anywhere near nice.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

If I were to name a few authors who have made a huge impression on me, I’d have to go with Richard Laymon, Edward Lee and Jack Ketchum. Those guys are amazing. Their freewheeling, limitless attitude to horror is something I greatly admire.

My work is as much influenced by music as it is by literature. I tend to enjoy underground music with as much fervor as I enjoy underground literature, so the two have become almost symbiotic in my world.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

There’s a whole host of new authors who are consistently impressing me with their work. It’s a great time for horror, with so many independent authors cut free from the shackles of the large publishing houses and able to go wherever they please with their work. I don’t like to name names, as I’m doomed to miss out some people I really do admire, but off the top of my head, I’d have to say Jack Rollins, Matt Hickman, Matt Shaw, Stuart Keane, Shaun Hupp, Ian Rob Wright, Duncan Ralston, Ian Woodhead, Chantal Noordeloos, Micheal Bray, Mark Parker and Andy Lennon. All those guys are great, and each has a unique voice that is all their own.

My personal favourite author of all time, would have to be either Edward Lee or H.P. Lovecraft. Laymon is right up there, too.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

The authors I’ve worked with and befriended have all been a huge support. We all tend to work like a slightly crazed family unit, helping each other when we can, offering advice, and doing what we can to make sure our peers reach their potential. I love those guys.

And of course, the readers are phenomenal. Horror fans are a loyal, dedicated and open-hearted bunch, and they constantly inspire me. Their support has been incredible and many of my readers have become cherished friends.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely. No doubts on that at all. It’s either this or sell my body, and that’s worth about fifty pence. I was late to the game, and did my share of soul-searching and experimenting to find my vocation. Now that I’ve found it, it’s become a defining factor in my world.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I wouldn’t change a thing. I tend to obsess over each book, and I never release until I’m sure it’s as it should be. Born with a full head of hair, so to speak. Once it’s out there, you move on, so you want to make sure that the art you present to the world is as focused as it can be.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

It stemmed from reading Richard Laymon’s work. There was a simplicity to his work that got me thinking that I could perhaps do it myself someday. It’s deceptively simple. The man was a genius, and understood the power of minimalism. In the same way that many bands formed in the wake of punks deceptively basic style, I viewed Laymon’s work as literary punk…a sort of rock’n’roll horror.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here’s a short excerpt from ‘Where the Dead Ones Play’…

I place my fingers on the keys. They shake a little. The delicious anticipation of old has been usurped by a deep and nagging anxiety.

The keyboard is an icy lake, thawing under the winter’s sun, delicate and dangerous. Beneath its surface…oblivion…confusion.

I fear that if I press any of the keys down, the ice will weaken, bit by bit, key by key, until the cracks spider out and the veneer shatters, leaving only the cold waters of my inability, into which my mind will tumble and fall, until the icy cold waters claim my mind and numb my thoughts.

Taking a deep, trembling breath, I recede my hands, and reach again for the almost empty can. The solidity of it affords me some strength. An anchor to reality, even as my mind wanders down dark alleyways of the past, with no luminance to light the way.

It’s true that after Mary’s death, the alcohol did claim the best part of me, but I’ve managed that now. I truly have.

I just can’t seem to find the words.

They used to flow so easily, without a thought or a concern, like a symphony plucked from the very air.

These days, those words are like birds flown south for the winter. Distant, beautiful, unreachable.

 


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I sometimes find it very hard to let go of my characters. They don’t all meet with comforting fates, and I do grow to love some of them. Even the vile ones.
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Only inside my own mind. It’s freezing in there, so I always wrap up nice and warm.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I design my own covers, for the most part. I enjoy minimalism in all art forms, so I like to keep them simple and, hopefully, effective.

For ‘Where the Dead Ones Play’, Matt Shaw employed an outside designer, and the result was wonderful. It really captures the inherent tragedy of the story.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The first paragraph of every writing session is always the hardest for me. It’s terrifying. Self-doubt likes to twist my melon any chance it gets.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned from ‘Where the Dead Ones Play’ that, given the right attitude, personal pain can be transcended through art.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

I see Emma, (one of my leads from Devil’s Day), as being played by Daisy Ridley of Star Wars. She has the look, the vulnerability and the strength to pull it off.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Read every day, and write as often as you can. It doesn’t have to be every day, and you shouldn’t ever beat yourself up when you can’t make time. Life gets in the way of itself, and that’s okay. Just stay the course, write what you love and love what you write.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I love you and I’d drink with you at the end of the world.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m currently reading ‘The Demonologist’ by Micheal Laimo. Good stuff.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The first book I read, without being forced into it by the education system, was ‘Misery’ by Stephen King. I loved it. I saw the movie afterwards and as great as it was, it just couldn’t compare to the book. It was something of a shocker as I was, and remain, obsessed with cinema. I realized right then that literature was not merely something to be endured in the classroom, but could be thrilling, terrifying and above all, fun.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

The answer to both, is my daughter. She amazes me, inspires me, delights me, and when she’s not around, my heart breaks.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Jim Morrison. I have a feeling he and I would get on like a house on fire. Or a bar on fire.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

‘Daddy’

It’s my main role in this world, and my best role.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I’m crazy about cinema, and I love to explore old derelict buildings and historical sights. I’ve been known to write songs on occasion, too.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Game of Thrones, The Walking Dead, Hannibal, Bates Motel, Penny Dreadful, Breaking Bad, Rik and Morty, Daredevil and many more.

Movie-wise, I’m drawn heavily to documentaries and horror. I love a good drama, too.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Color – Purple, Music – Psychedelia, Food – Hummus.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I’d have loved to have made it as a musician, but I have terrible stage fright. In all honesty, I’m doing the one thing I dreamed of doing above all else. I’m a lucky guy.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

My author page is over on Facebook  –

https://www.facebook.com/kylemscott123/

And you can find all my books here, at Amazon US –

http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00Q1DZ7KS

And Amazon UK –

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Kyle-M.-Scott/e/B00Q1DZ7KS/

And I’m over on Goodreads here –

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8180038.Kyle_M_Scott

 

