Name  BJ Scott

Where are you from:  Ontario Canada

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I was born and raised in a small town near Niagara Falls Ontario. Canada. I have two grown children, three grandchildren and currently live with my husband, three dogs and a cat in a small lakeside town on Lake Erie.  I graduated from Nursing School in 1984 and worked in the field for ten years before switching to child and youth work and developmental service work ( working with mentally challenged children and adults) I am currently a private nanny for special needs kids with a goal of  becoming a full time writer.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

BJ: I have a new book releasing on March 30th 2016.  Highland Hellion is book one in a much requested sequel series to my bestselling Fraser Brothers Trilogy. Book 2, Highland Resurrection releases this summer.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

BJ: I have always loved to jot down stories but was first published in fall of 2011

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

BJ: The day my first book was published

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

BJ: Many things but believe things happen when the time is right. I felt inspired and the need to try my had at writing a story and given my strong love of anything Scottish, Highland Legacy was born.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? 

BJ: Not really. Sometimes a plotter and often a pantser. I sometimes start at the beginning and work through chapter by chapter but in some cases I have the basic idea and write the chapters out of order as they come to me

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

BJ: Since my books are all Scottish/Highland related, I usually use the word Highland in my titles. But the titles just seem to come to me and the book evolves around them.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

BJ: I guess basically the same as in any Romance novel, that true love conquers all and in the end good defeats evil.  I have a strong romantic element in all my books and of course there is always an evil force to be reckoned with.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

BJ: My books are historically based and have nothing to do with my real life experiences. I researched the time period of interest and let the book evolve from there

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

BJ: No mentor to speak of, but I have always loved to read historical novels set in Scotland so after reading many wonderful books from some talented authors, I wanted to try my had at it too.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

BJ: There are m any talented new authors and established author who have impressed me.  I do not have a favorite author. I enjoy well written, historically based novels with  a strong hero and heroine to cheer for.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

BJ: Can’t think of any off hand. My husband has been my biggest supporter.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

BJ: I have several books published and hope to write full time in the near future. A career is up to my readers LOL

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

BJ: Not really. I am very pleased with this new book and the one to follow. There are always small things you wished you had added or left out but on the whole am pleased

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

BJ: As I said earlier, I have loved jotting down stories since I was  child and have always loved to read to I guess it has always been there, just not realized until the last five years

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

BJ: Highland Hellion is the first book in the Blades of Honor series, the sequel to the Fraser Brother’s trilogy and basically picks up where the Trilogy left off .

Ayra MacEachan was born to one clan but claimed by another. This feisty Highland lass is in need of taming but refuses to be owned by any man.

Garrett MacDougall has found his soulmate and match in Arya and wants her more than his next breath. But convincing her to marry has not been an easy task. When she accompanies the men of her clan in a raid, is captured and sentenced to death, Garrett must rely on the help of his sworn enemy, the Fraser brothers, to help him rescue the sister they never knew they had until now.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

BJ: Finding the time to write and balancing it with real life and work.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

BJ: Not really.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

BJ: My first three were designed by the cover artist for Soul Mate Publishing. My last four I have had a hand in designing the covers. I pick the pictures I want used and let the artist know what I want in the background and together we work from there.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

BJ: Again it was finding the time to write when the muse was talking. When you work n have a house and home to tend to, it is not always possible to stop to write.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

BJ:  I learn something new and exciting about history or myself as a writer each time I write a book.  I hopefully grow as a writer with each new story.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead.  I am so busy writing I seldom watch moves so am not really up on my actors.

BJ: I guess it would depend on the book being made into a movie who I would choose.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

BJ: Follow your dream, write what you know and love and never stop learning.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

BJ: Thank you for supporting my books.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

BJ: I wish I had time to read for pleasure, but can’t say I have been able to since I started writing. All my free time is spend penning my next book or doing edits.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

BJ: The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe by CS Lewis

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

BJ: Laugh: the antics of my dogs, a good comedy movie, the humor of friends

Cry: I am very sentimental and cry easily so there are too many things to pick just a few.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

BJ:  Won’t have a headstone since I wish to be cremated and my ashes released in a place I loved to go.  I don’t want my family to spend thousands of dollars on a funeral or final resting place since I like to believe they will visit the spot I loved and remember me there.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

BJ: I have either done or tried almost every craft out there. But loved doing stained glass and do make jewelry and other items that are Scottish related and sell them on my blog.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

BJ: Don’t watch a lot of TV or movies but enjoy history based shows, documentary on Scotland or American Civil war. Romantic comedies and suspenseful dramas.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Food: Italian

Color: Yellow

Music: A variety of tastes so like everything but, heavy metal, rap, and old-style country music.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Worked in the museum field

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

https://authorbjscott.wordpress.com/

https://www.facebook.com/Author-BJ-Scott-308663055834706

 

Amazon Authors Page http://www.amazon.com/B.J.-Scott/e/B006NSQR9G/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

