Name  Lorraine Britt

Where are you from  Texas

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I am a fourth generation native Texan.  I’m an only child.  I’m married and have two children, a son and a daughter.  I’m a proud graduate of the University of Oklahoma.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My next release, Strikeouts and Stolen Hearts will be coming out in May!  I’m getting ready to shoot the covers for my two releases after that in the next month or so. (I’m a photographer too!)

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always written for my own entertainment.  My original career plans were to be a sports writer and I began college as a journalism major.  Then a few years ago I discovered the world of indie fiction…and the rest is history.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer? 

In fifth grade when we were given the assignment to write a children’s book.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first novel, The Cowboy in Me, was actually inspired by actor Kellan Lutz.  Then, my friend Jennifer Greeff inspired me to actually try my hand at publishing the novel.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? 

I tend to write my books from a first person point of view, and in many cases multiple points of view.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

My titles just come to me…sometimes it takes a while for the perfect title to present itself, but usually I have the title nailed down before I start writing.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

To be strong and believe in yourself.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic? 

There is always a bit of real life in my books.  Especially with my Soldier Series, I try to make sure I accurately portray life in the military.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

There’s always a little bit of real events in my books, but for the most part they are creations of my imagination and creativity.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I wouldn’t say I’ve had a mentor, per say.  Influential books? SE Hinton, Shakespeare, Tolkien, Gilbert Morris and CS Lewis.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

My friend Sherri Crowder’s first release, Sweet Charity.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? 

I always try and make time to read new releases from my author friends.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects? 

I’m working on a new Soldier Series project, as well as a historical romance series and a rugby romance series.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My best friend Pam.  She is like family to me, but she came into my life as a reader and fan of my work.  Now she’s like my right hand.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I do.  I try to grow my writing every day.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? 

Not a thing.  I am very good, I think, at putting each project to bed once it is complete.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Not particularly.  It was just always a subject in school that I enjoyed.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

It is a baseball based romance, told from both main characters’ points of view, set over a number of years.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Just finding both time and peace and quiet to write.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? 

Gilbert Morris.  As a history buff I love how he can transport the reader to another time altogether.  I also love the spiritual element to his books.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I do.  I travel to shoot the covers and again to promote the books.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers? 

My cover designer is the brilliant Ben Moss. I’d be lost without him.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Just making time to focus on writing.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I always learn some lesson in my writing…usually a way to improve for the next book.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers? 

Just try…just jump in and try.  And keep at it.  It’s a process…and a learning curve always exists.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?   

Thank you…for every moment of your time you have invested in my writing.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read? 

Other than Pat the Bunny?  Lol  My first real novel that I remember reading and falling in love with was The Outsiders.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry? 

My friends.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Oh my goodness.  I have a list!  Troy Aikman, Eli Manning, Terry Bradshaw, C. Thomas Howell, Jared Padalecki, that’s a good list to start.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ? 

She gave her all…she loved her best.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ? 

Sports…I’m a rugby and baseball fanatic.  Traveling.  Movies and music.  Cooking.  Reading.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Supernatural, Dancing With The Stars, NCIS. NCIS New Orleans, Survivor, Ghost Adventures

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

French, sushi, Mexican, steak, Italian

Red

Anything and everything except heavy metal and hardcore rap

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done? 

Teacher or sports public relations director

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? 

www.lorrainebritt.com

Lorraine Britt
Author and Romantic at Heart

Photographer, Beauty and the Bard Photography
LorraineBritt@outlook.com
https://www.facebook.com/LorraineBrittAuthor
https://twitter.com/LBrittAuthor
https://www.goodreads.com/lbrittauthor
https://instagram.com/lbrittauthor/
amazon.com/author/lorrainebritt

 

https://www.facebook.com/beautyandthebardphotography/

 

Book links –

Amazon – http://amzn.to/1nxZHvR

Barnes & Noble – http://bit.ly/1QNtWr7

iTunes – http://apple.co/1p9nXFE

Lulu – http://bit.ly/1M7Vk0W

Kobo – http://bit.ly/1UU8ndD

 

 

 

 

