Name Berti Walker

Age of Rock

Where are you from

I’m from California, but I’ve spent half of my life in the sunshine state, aka God’s waiting room, aka America’s schlong.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Zombie Lovers Anonymous will be out for publication in a couple months! But here’s a secret: If you find me selling at a con, I’ve already got copies available.

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

In elementary school, because, you know, teachers be all tryin’ to teach. But seriously, I was always an avid reader and storyteller.

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I guess officially when I got my first publication. It was for Infernal Ink Magazine, and it was actually a flash fiction piece that spawned Zombie Lovers Anonymous.

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Haha! It was… roadkill… A dead armadillo on the side of the road. But I can’t say much more without ruining the story. That book was called In Case of Emergency, Aim for the Head.

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I really don’t think that I do… I don’t even have a specific genre. I write fantasy, scifi, erotica, horror, bizarro, and most often a mashup of them. I write flash, short stories, novellas, and novels. Whatever strikes my fancy.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

It’s about a town that has a contingency plan for everything (In Case of Emergency,) and they have to put their zombie attack plan into action (Aim for the Head.)

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I’m not sure if we’re talking about the one coming out, or the first one. Let’s put the focus back on that one.

Zombie Lovers Anonymous: If it exists, someone will have sex with it.

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

There obviously aren’t actual zombies, and we aren’t in a post apocalyptic world, but the idea of a person’s downward spiral, the support group, and the emergence of fetishes/deviancies are all realistic and relatable.

 

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

 I’m sorry. What is the question? Are the experiences in the book based on someone I know or events in my own life? Haha I sure hope not! 😉

 

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Growing up, it was

Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

A Wrinkle In Time

R.L. Stine

Christopher Pike

Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

80’s-90’s Stephen King

John Saul

Piers Anthony

The Last Unicorn (most beautifully written book ever.)

Chuck Palahniuk

 

Yes, I realize some of those are authors. Because, reasons. These were the ones I would obsess over, not my “favorites,” because there’s way too many, but the ones that I fan girled over

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Chuck Wendig’s Under the Empyrean Sky

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Madeleine Swann, Betty Rocksteady, Elyse Reyes, Alia Luria

 

Fiona: What are your current projects?

Every month in 2016 I release Fucked Up Fairy Tales. It consists of three short stories. One by me, one by Alex S. Johnson, and one by a guest author. It’s super fun and 18+  as I’m sure you gathered.

 

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My writing group. No, my fans. No, my writing fans. No, my fans writing.

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Sure. I see it every day. Whether or not it’s MY career is yet to be determined, but one can always hope!

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Nah. It’s perfection.

 

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

My interest in reading fed my interest in writing. The praise I received helped.  If you have children and they have an interest in anything, encourage it!

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here is the beginning for one of my Fucked Up Fairy Tale stories called “Songbird’s Lamentation.”

Songbird’s Lamentation

Gather ’round, gentle souls, for I have a story to tell. A story about a princess. A princess, they say, who sacrificed everything for love.

Calandra was, as far as princesses go, beautiful, good-tempered, and obedient. But even princesses such as these can find themselves on the wrong side of honorable when smitten.

Calandra was in love with the handsome Prince Talfryn of Galelef. Ever since she laid eyes upon him at the tender age of seven, she swore she would become his bride. So certain was she of this that she was quite taken aback to learn that he was betrothed to Princess Madelgarde of Drauviel.

It was said by all to anyone who would listen that Princess Madelgarde was not only beautiful, good-tempered, and obedient, but could sing like no other. Her voice made angels weep and princes fall to their knees.

It was only natural, of course, that our Princess Calandra should want to compete with  Madelgarde for the hand of the dashing Talfryn. And she would have gladly accepted the challenge, only her voice was as horrid as Madelgarde’s was lovely. Calandra’s singing sounded like a bag of cats that was dunked in a bucket of ice water and then beaten against a rock.

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

 Finding time. I have a 10 month old son. It’s challenging to find time for anything but so worth it.

 

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Ack! I can never answer that! I have too many! There are some above, though. What I like about Chuck Pahlaniuk, even though I don’t like all of his work, is that he really writes what he wants, not what he thinks the audience wants. He really pushes the envelope.

 

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I do most of them. Katie Clarke does my hand-drawn artwork. Award winning animator Bill Plympton did the cover for Fucked Up Fairy Tales vol 2. Don Noble did the cover for New Kink’s Zombie Lovers Anonymous.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write, write, write. And then, after a few years, go back. Look at your old work. Cringe. Rinse. Repeat.

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Reviews, please? (insert wobbly-eyed Puss in Boots pic here)

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No, but I loved the Little Critters, Where the Wild Things Are, Dr. Seuss, Berenstain Bears, and Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your headstone and why ?

Her words live on.

 

Fiona: Other than writing, do you have any hobbies ?

I like to sculpt, play games, read, and go on adventures. And wine. Is wine a hobby? I miss wine.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Game of Thrones, The Goldbergs, Ash vs Evil Dead, Man Seeking Woman

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Mexican, Thai, all things that are spicy! Mashed potatoes with ketchup.

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Another starving artist role. Quite literally. I got my degree in Fine Art (sculpture.)

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

 www.bertiwalker.com

http://bertiwalkerauthor.wix.com/bertiwalker

 

Amazon Authors page http://www.amazon.com/Berti-Walker/e/B00LBA3WGW/ref=dp_byline_cont_book_1

 

