Name : Deena Remiel

Age: 49

Where are you from: Philadelphia, PA

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc:

I have a BA in Psychology and have been an educator for over 25 years. I’ve a sophomore in high school and college, both daughters. I’ve been married for 23 years.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I recently released a couple of paranormal novellas: Burning Sage, from Boroughs Publishing Group, and Disquieted Souls, from Decadent Publishing. I’m excited to tell everyone that Disquieted Souls’ follow-up novella, Salvaged Souls, has been contracted! Both are part of the Black Hills Wolves Multi-author Series. So, if you love stories of immortality and impossible romance or shapeshifter romances, these novellas are definitely for you!

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing novels in 2009 when I moved to Arizona, after years of dabbling in poetry and short stories. I’d spent months prior reading about a dozen books a week, losing myself in the worlds of romance.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I decided to query agents, I felt like a writer. When I was approached by Decadent Publishing to submit my finished manuscripts and got offered contracts, I felt like an author.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first goal was to create a world with a group of characters I could write lots of stories about. Angels hadn’t made a huge splash yet, and I found them intriguing. Looking out on the Superstition Mountains every day as I wrote my first novel inspired the setting. Seeing so much evil reported on the news and the constant battle with the good people of this world inspired my plot lines. Since I write romance, I have to have a happy ending, so what’s better than a forever love AND getting one over on Evil?

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I write linearly, meaning that I write in order from beginning to end. My style is realistic despite the paranormal genre. The dialogue is always grounded, the banter is always smart and sexy, and the relationships are meant to teach us all a thing or two about the importance of connection with another.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The title Burning Sage is a play on words. Sage Wilcot is a volcanologist who gets a little too close for comfort to her subject and to a charismatic man who claims to be Atlantis’ last prince.

The title Disquieted Souls speaks to the very heart of the story- souls who are unsettled and seeking peace.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

In both stories, I want my readers to dare to believe! Dare to believe in yourself, in the impossible being possible, that there is someone out there to complete you and make the whole greater than the sum of its parts.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Well, since I write PNR, that can be a tough question. I will say, the foundation of the relationships are realistic. The settings are based in real places. The emotions are grounded in reality, as well.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Overall, they are works of complete fiction, but the emotions, the motivations, the desires, the hesitations, all come from a very real place.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark Hunter Series impacted me greatly, especially ACHERON. She is a master of world-building and character development.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m reading the Firestarter Sessions, by Danielle LePorte- a nonfiction book that is a practical guide to creating your own success. This book got me started learning about the Law of Attraction.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I’d love to give a shout out to my Black Hills Wolves fellow colleagues. This series is awesome, and there are so many wonderful stories to hook you!

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

One WIP I’m working on is Sci-fi Romance, another WIP is the next book in my Brethren Series, and finally, another WIP is the next book in my Book Waitress Series.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My RWA chapter: Desert Rose. My chapter is filled with the most supportive people I’ve ever met!

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I see it first as a passion, then as a career.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Naw, it’s just the way I want it to be.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I was always a painfully shy child and would lose myself in music and piano playing. That turned to song-writing and poetry. I still write poetry occasionally.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I usually keep that under lock and key until it’s a wrap, but I can promise you that it’s loaded with suspense, romance, and a scary-as-hell sci-fi concept.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

It used to be love scenes, but not anymore! Ha ha Now, I would say that a challenge right now is having enough time to write. Period.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Sherrilyn Kenyon is my favorite author because she taught me how to “go there.” I am fearless with what I have to make my characters experience and say. No matter how much it hurts me, pains me, my characters will always be true to their arc.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

If money were no object, I’d travel to all the places I’ve set my books. I happen to live where my Brethren novels are based, so that’s no problem, but Burning Sage’s Santorini? It’s on my bucket list! Finding Lost’s Isla Mujeres? Another bucket list! Instead, I research the hell out of these places so that the reader feels as though they are right there with the characters.

 

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Disquieted Souls’ cover is designed by Fiona Jayde.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Every time I write a book, through my characters, I learn a little bit more about myself.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Find a writing groove that works for you and don’t let anyone impose their philosophy of writing on you. Writing is so personal that everyone has their own method and style.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I appreciate their continued support of my work. If my stories move them in some way, whether to tears or to laughter, that’s my reward. However, reviews are awesome, too! Ha ha

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The first romance novel I ever was The Flame and The Dove, by Katherine Woodiwiss.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I love puns, children’s laughter, dry humor, and slapstick comedy like The Three Stooges. Extreme beauty, sentimental movies, and people in pain make me cry.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

I’d love to meet Martin Lither King Jr. because I believe in his message from his “I Have a Dream” speech.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

She dared to believe…

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I love photography, capturing a moment forever.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love The Voice, Master Chef Jr., any HGTC show, The Blacklist, Grimm.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Favorite foods (which I can’t eat anymore): soft pretzels, pizza, and doughnuts
Favorite colors: orange, green
Favorite music: classic rock

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? www.deenaremiel.com

Amazon Authors Page http://www.amazon.com/Deena-Remiel/e/B004Z0OLGA/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

