Name  Christine Ashworth

Age ha…over 50

Where are you from  San Diego, California

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

My dad is a novelist, and has had over 350  novels published in his lifetime. My brother was also a writer; he passed away in 1993. You can find out more about both of them on my website.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Christine: Demon Soul was republished in January of 2016, and I’m very excited that it’s once again available. Demon Hunt, book 2 in my Caine Brothers paranormal series, is getting a new cover and will be out soon. A novella called Demon Blood, a prequel to the series, is almost complete, and the last book of this arc of the series, Demon Rage, will be out this Spring.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Christine: I began writing for publication in 2001. As I said, my father is a writer, so I always knew it was a career choice I could make.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Christine: When I wrote Lord Peter Wimsey fan fiction in the 1980s.  lol.

 

 


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Christine: I was working in an internet startup company in 2000, and found there were several other artistic people in the group. Writers, musicians, actors – it was terrific. Three or four of us started meeting once a week, and voila – I started writing a romance.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Christine: Yes. But I can’t tell you what it is, because I’m not totally sure, lol.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Christine: It was 2008, Twilight had taken off, and I was trying to find something I could write about that didn’t include sparkly vampires. So I stumbled across my creation of tribreds – Demon, Human, Fae and 100% Sexy! I titled the first story Demon Soul because it mostly revolves around finding the main character’s soul.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Christine: That you have to accept ALL the parts of yourself – the good, the bad, the ugly – in order to make everything in your life work well. Love gets you much farther, much faster than hate.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

Christine: Well, as far as I know, we don’t have Demon/Human/Fae tribreds; other than that, all the locations actually exist, though the names of restaurants and bars are made up.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Christine: Nope – totally created, 100%, out of my imagination.

 

 
Fiona: What books have influenced your life most? a mentor?

Christine: I have been reading steadily, devouring books on a daily basis, since I’ve been nine. There are too many books that have influenced me.  As far as a mentor, I consider my father to be my first and best mentor. We talk writing all the time.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Christine: A biography called Secrets of the Flesh – A Life of Colette by Judith Thurman. It’s totally fascinating.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Christine: Yes…I’m dying to read Shawnee Small’s novel The Watcher (Shining Ones Book 1).  As well, Samantha Powers has a novel that she’s working on that I CANNOT WAIT for her to finish!

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

Christine: I’m working on Demon Blood, the prequel to the Caine Brothers Series, and then Demon Rage, the last book in this arc of the series. There WILL be more books here!

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Christine: Romance Writers of America. Hands down. They support the newbies, the wannabes, the learners. It’s a huge organization and I loved being President of the Los Angeles Romance Authors chapter of RWA for two years (2013 & 2014).

 

 


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Christine: Yes. My father and mother raised 3 kids on his writer’s salary.

 

 


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Christine: HA, lolol…as it happens, I’m rewriting the whole first scene because it was all out of chronological order.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Hm…here’s a bit from Demon Rage.

Justin Caine jogged, with painful slowness, from San Vicente Boulevard across Ocean Avenue to the beach side and followed the sidewalk down toward Palisades Park. The sun barely touched the east side of the buildings, but here by the ocean the chill of night still clung to the bushes and the trees.

He cursed his dragging pace. The magickal nature of the injuries he’d sustained needed more time than usual to heal. After two weeks in the torture chamber that Doc Cavanaugh called a hospital, he’d finally walked out under his own steam. Vowed to take charge of his rehab.

Doggedly, he put one foot in front of the other. He ignored knotting muscles and the deep queasiness that hadn’t left him in days, and plotted Kendall Sorbis’ death. It should be slow. Methodical. The Death Mage should be unable to talk or move. And while Justin carved parts of Kendall’s body away, he’d talk about the lives of the hundreds of people Kendall had taken to slake the thirst of his own ambition.

Hatred slicked his blood. The craving for revenge burned in his gut. He wouldn’t soon forget the winter solstice just passed.

As he plodded, a scent tickled his nose, one that drew him out of his dark thoughts. He stopped, looked around, but saw nothing unusual. No other joggers, not many cars on the roads just yet.

Justin sniffed the air again, all his senses on alert.  Blood. Not just any blood, either, but demon blood. It carried an acrid tinge, similar to a doused fire mixed with the scent of vomit and dried-up curses.

Following his nose, Justin turned toward the bushes between the sidewalk and the strip of grass. A park bench facing the ocean sat nearby, and an earthen jogging trail went past it. Justin followed the trail to another clump of bushes to his left. As he got closer, the bloodscent grew stronger, clogging in his throat. He hacked a cough, caught his breath at the pain, and searched further.

A bare foot stuck out from under a Mexican sage plant.  Justin crouched down, parted the cluster of tall plants, and took stock.

Demon, certainly, though he didn’t look it.  Short and squat, he wore surfer dude clothes, similar to those Justin himself used to prefer. He took quick mental notes about the body.

Eyes were opened wide, mouth too, showing rows of sharp teeth. One ear had been cut off, the hands and legs ritually spread wide. Cause of death, a big-ass throat slice from ear to non-existent ear.

Justin frowned and looked closer. The hands were palms up, fingers curled as though he’d been holding something. He leaned in, sniffed. Wax. Scented with nightshade. His lips set in a grim line. Aside from the fact the corpse was demon, this was no ordinary killing.

This was ritual murder, which meant he needed to contact Magdalena de la Cruz.

Justin rolled his shoulders in irritation. He’d spent much of the past month avoiding if not downright ignoring her. He couldn’t call her now, not about something like this. Not after the fight that almost killed them both.

But his big brother Gregor and wife-to-be Serra were still figuring out how to merge their lives in the old homestead where the Caine boys had grown up. It wouldn’t be fair to call on them, not so soon after the mess at the solstice. His younger brother Gabriel and wife Rose were back in town, but he didn’t feel right about dragging the two of them into it, either. Eventually they’d all have to know, but until then they deserved some down time.

Kellan. He’d moved into Gregor’s house near Justin for a while. Justin could tap  Kellan for help this time around, since he came through the last fight relatively unscathed.

Justin pulled out his cell phone, texted his cousin to meet him at the office, and took a couple of pictures before leaving the corpse where it was. He couldn’t do anything to hide the demon at this point; he had no strength to call down a firebolt to incinerate it. The safest thing would be to just ignore it. Let the cops try to figure it out.

He hit the sidewalk with his pathetic attempt at a jog and headed down toward the boardwalk that spanned Santa Monica and Venice Beach. So internalized was his thought process that it took him almost two blocks before he heard the rhythmic thump of feet and realized he’d been followed.

“Where’s Kellan? Should you be out here alone?” The acerbic tone in her whiskey voice was nothing new. She fell into step beside him.

“Magdalena.” Hell. He didn’t want to see the pity in her eyes. He’d avoided her since he got out of the hospital for a damn good reason. He should have known better than to jog along their usual route.

“Of course.”

He chanced a glance at her. She walked—walked! Damn it, he was going old-man slow—next to him, a black jog bra and a skimpy pair of bright yellow running shorts her only clothing. Even in Los Angeles, it got chilly in January. He scowled. She was human. A witch. A very curvy, very sexy witch. She should dress appropriate to the weather, damn it.

Maggie, interpreting his glare, sniffed. “There is nothing wrong with the way I’m dressed, which is similar, I might add, to the way you’re dressed.” She indicated his black running shorts and muscle shirt with a wave of her hand.

He cast another dark glance her way. “I’m not worried about you.”

Her eyebrows rose. “I haven’t killed you yet. You know, I almost didn’t recognize you without your dreads. Why’d you do it?”

“Because.”  Justin brushed a hand over his newly close-cropped head. Because he wasn’t the person he’d been before the winter solstice, and all that had happened. Because hate ate at him, burned inside his soul and he didn’t want to pretend otherwise. Because being nice took work and energy he didn’t have.

He heard her sigh, but he couldn’t give her any more.

 

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Christine: Yes! Finding the time to do it all. I work full time and have a family. Plus we’re about to add a puppy to the mix, so…time crunch!

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Christine: I have many favorite authors, so I can’t really answer that question without taking several hours…

 

 


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Christine: I get to travel! Yes! When I can, I go to writers and readers conferences. In April, I’ll be at The Novel Experience Event  in Atlanta, and I can’t wait to meet all the readers I’ve been interacting with on FaceBook. In July, I’ll be in San Diego, signing books at the RWA National Conference; and in October, I’ll be in Seattle at the Emerald City Writer’s Conference.

 

 

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Christine: Wolfpack Publishing, LLC is putting out the Caine Brothers series. They do the covers as well. My contemporary series, The StarTide Agency, is put out by Boroughs Publishing Group, and they handle the covers.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Christine: Yes, two pieces of advice. First, don’t stop writing, unless you can and it doesn’t bother you. Second, go the route that YOU want to go – whether self publishing, small presses, or the big New York times publishers. Follow your heart, not anyone else’s well-meaning advice.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Christine: I totally heart you all! Let’s chat! Pull up a chair, and have drink and a nosh, and let’s get to know one another.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Christine: No…that was long ago.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Christine: Everything. I am an emotional person, and a bit of an empath.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing, do you have any hobbies?

Christine: I garden, I read, and I do my best to keep up with my friendships. Oh, and I love to cook.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Christine: I was ready to be the best ballet dancer in the world. That didn’t happen, so now I write. I am very content.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Christine: I do!  http://christineashworth.com

Amazon Authors Page http://www.amazon.com/Christine-Ashworth/e/B004WXK66O/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1457429625&sr=1-2-ent

Come join the fun! And thank you so much, Fiona, for having me today.

 

