Name JD Martins

Age     Early 40s

Where are you from.            That island off the west coast of Europe

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc            

I have a doctorate I don’t use except when being insistent I am right.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?      

My third erotic romance novella, One Night in Boston is coming out in May, to join my other two books from Tirgearr Publishing’s City Nights Series; One Night in Madrid and One Night in Pamplona

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?      

I saw Tirgearr were looking for novellas that took place over the course of one night in a city of our choosing and decided I’d have a go at erotic romance.

 

 


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?     

When I got complimented on the ending of my first novel

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?         

A challenge to turn a short story into a novella with a different angle on things.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?          

I write the story, try to figure out the motivations of the characters as I go, then go back and write the erotic scenes at the end. They are the most difficult part.

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?          

The title is half baked already. I just need to add the name of the city I’ve set the story in.

 

 


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?          

If you have a chance at happiness with someone you meet, grab it. Don’t think at first, just go with it. When you get to the thinking part, be bold and think big. Life is short, even if you are lucky enough to live a long life.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?            

Good question. I used to live in Boston, so I know the streets. I hope my characters are realistic, but I will have to wait and see what the readers think. I’ve been told the characters of my previous novellas are refreshing and realistic, but these are a little different, so we will see.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?        

No. Apart from living in the same city, experiencing the same scenes.

 

 


Fiona: What book are you reading now?              

Ghost stories, which are giving my brain room to think about work.

 

 


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Tirgearr Publishing have been great, always supportive of my work and understanding of my opinions on the story, the cover etc.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?      

As long as readers want to read, I will keep writing. Well, I’ll keep writing regardless, but as long as they read my books, it might be a career.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?                  

The book hasn’t been fully edited yet, so I might get the chance to change it still. At the moment, though, I like the story. There are one or two things about Amber, the heroine, which I might tweak to make her a little more of a person who is less doubting of herself.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?       

Since One Night in Boston is not quite set in stone, here’s an excerpt from One Night in Pamplona.

Idoia looked at her watch. “It’s nearly twelve. Time for el chupinazo.” She saw he didn’t know what that meant. “The festival is going to start now.”

Jeff waved the beer glass around them. “The party seems to have already started.”

She smiled and shook her head. “Wait until twelve o’clock.”

He remembered that the festivals officially started at noon, but didn’t see how things could really get any crazier.

“So are you going to the plaza—the town hall square? That’s where all the foreigners go.”

“Yes.” If that was the done thing, he was going to do it. “Aren’t you?”

“Wasn’t planning on it!” She laughed. “I’m not a teenager anymore.”

“Don’t you want to come with me? It’ll be fun.” He didn’t think it would be much fun without her, suddenly.

“Not really,” she replied, and his heart fell. “I’m clean, and intend to stay that way. Look at the people on that screen. That’s what will happen to your sangria.”

He looked up at the big screen transmitting the scenes from the square in front of the pretty town hall. It was bedlam. Instead of a mass of people in red and white, many wore pink and purple from the spilled drinks. Some were also yellow from throwing some kind of food colorant. It looked like a lot of fun. His face must have fallen, for Idoia laughed. “It’s hard for anyone to even get in there. I haven’t been in years.”

Just then, two very drunk guys ran by, one chasing the other with a wine skin, trying to squirt the drink at his quarry. A jet of wine splashed across the side of Idoia’s t-shirt, marking it with a quickly spreading line of purple.

Jeff smiled, biting his lip to stop from laughing. Then he shrugged and said, “I didn’t have anything to do with that. But it happened. It’s destiny; like me talking to you here—possibly the only girl from Pamplona who can speak English so well.”

Idoia smirked. “Yeah. Whatever, as they say in your country.”

“I’m sure you believe in destiny.”

She shrugged and shook her head in dismissal of the question, but gave in to the moment. “Come on, let’s go and join the craziness.” She tipped the beer back and drank deeply, then handed him the rest.

He downed it as she went over to tell her friends their plans. He added the plastic glass to the growing mountain atop the dumpsters lining the edge of the street as he and Idoia pushed their way into the throng.

Walking behind her, he took the opportunity to glance down at her ass. He couldn’t have asked for cuter. Her buttocks curved around from wide hips. She looked sexy as hell in her tight trousers, and Jeff imagined what her ass would feel like clasped in his hands. He could almost sense the smoothness, the firmness, through the nerves in his fingers. He clenched his fists and bit his lip again to prevent a silly grin.

When they reached the end of the street the crowds forced them to walk even closer together. He’d never seen such a tightly packed multitude before. He was amazed they could get farther into the throng at all. Idoia turned to him, smiling again now. “You’ll have to be my bodyguard. Hang on to me—the people will push us apart, so hold on and don’t let me go.”

Jeff didn’t need to be asked twice. He put his arms around her waist, and she went first into the mob.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?     

The erotic scenes are not easy to write. Just like it’s not the same to have kids and be a teacher, it’s not the same to have sex and to write about it. The latter is not nearly so much fun!

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?   

I don’t have a favourite author, really. I’ll ready anything that falls into my lap. I do like the 19 Century novels, though, despite their lack of sex scenes. I enjoy long slow stories that can captivate me for weeks rather than an afternoon.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?    

Not really, since I’ve lived in all three cities I’ve written about so far. Of course, moving from city to city and country to country is kinda travelling, though it’s not quite as cool in the day-to-day of it.

 

 


Fiona: Who designed the covers?               

Cora, from Cora Graphics does all the City Nights Series. She’s amazing at it. She recently re-wrote the coverart information sheet we authors fill out for her and I swear to God, she sent three samples to us and it was simply a matter of deciding which background was best – the models were perfect, exactly as I’d written them. There is literally just the colour of a shirt to change and it’s perfect.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?            

The sex.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?         

I learned that you can’t say everything you’d like to say about a city in one book. Travelling via the written word is nice, but you have to live a city to get it.

 

 

 


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?            

Write what you like, and don’t be shy of erotic romance. We need more lovemaking in books, to balance out the violence, and to make love as acceptable in society as the guns and stuff you see on the telly.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thanks for liking what I’ve written so far and I hope you continue to enjoy the stories.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?           

No. That was a looong time ago.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

As most writers will tell you, writing is something you have to do, and we writers generally laugh and cry more than most people, so lots of things set us off.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I always say I’d like to meet Hemingway to see if I could get some truth out of him.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Nothing comes to mind that’s not facetious, unfortunately… “If only we could have experienced him in life like we did in his books.” Perhaps not quite headstone material.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I wish I had time for them!

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I like “The Big Bang Theory,” and if they could go back in time and not cancel “FireFly,” that’d be great.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Blue and green, sushi and venison, Bjork, Fever Ray and London Grammar at the moment.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

A zoologist, studying Predator-Prey interactions in North America.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? I have a facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/JDMartinsauthor/

I also rent a space at the website of a fellow Tirgearr Author, David J. O’Brien… https://davidjmobrien.wordpress.com/jd-martins/

Here’s my Tirgearr Author Page

http://www.tirgearrpublishing.com/authors/Martins_JD/index.htm

Here are my amazon pages…

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00RY328RY

 

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00ZMO4226

